It's the keyboard layout.

Silent-Hunter

Hardcore Member
Edit: This is split from the News Post thread "It's the keyboard layout" - Moderation team

Where is the Compose key? I use that all the time. Also, isn't ' an essential key?

Last edited by a moderator:
Personally, I think it might be a bit weird to have the space bar on the right, instead of centered. I've never used an original Pandora before though, and I'm sure it wouldn't be too bad to get used to.

The ' is already there.  EvilDragon - I also think the one you've posted is damn near perfect and although debate is helpful, the design you post has resolves the given criteria the best. 

Agree about the +, - and =.  Switch with the o umlout, a umlout and double ess keys?

If the keymap can be changed in software, maybe we can produce our own keymats with the screen printing we want on it ;-)

Looking forward to an impassioned debate!

Fight! :)

Well, I don't want to be irrational, but I LOVE the compose key. And the compose key needs a lot of this «^» key. For such things as x² for example. Maybe I phrase it as a question: what would be the cheapest solution to let people individually print the labels on the keys (like WASD keyboards does)? I think, I would prefer each "function" to be represented by exactly one key... and I'm pretty sure that you can make a lot of labels redundant if you print a reference card for common compositions, like: compose, s, s -> ß etc. Maybe a good solution would be to print what you had in mind: US, German and French keymappings but then also include sth like a nerd/efficiency mapping, where things are a bit different from those just for programming and composing. I'd adore a dedicated compose key.

Where is the Compose key? I use that all the time. Also, isn't ' an essential key?
Compose key = Left Shift + Right Shift

I do agree ' is an essential key (for developers at least!)