Release Firefox 31.0 in repo

hdonk

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
561
So far, it looks better than 29 in my (very limited testing)

Still no audio though. Weird.

Also, no NEON in libyuv, as it's for a different arm core than we've got (Boo, hiss Mozilla)
 

hdonk

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
561
Also, no NEON in libyuv, as it's for a different arm core than we've got (Boo, hiss Mozilla)
You mean ARM64? If it's 32bit, it should be compatible.
I would have thought so, but gcc refused to compile it. Don't know why, maybe when I have some time I'll look deeper in to it.
It's the asm interface to NEON code that's not compiling. Dunno what it's been targeted at.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,523
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
I forget what Ekianjo's issues were, but I've just tried upgrading from 28 and this seems fine to me. Could be faster I guess, but not especially slower than 28 was IME.
 

edgex004

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,166
I forget what Ekianjo's issues were, but I've just tried upgrading from 28 and this seems fine to me. Could be faster I guess, but not especially slower than 28 was IME.
Same here. I have been enjoying the update.
 

ekianjo

Hardcore Member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
8,261
Location
神戸市、日本 (Japan)
I forget what Ekianjo's issues were, but I've just tried upgrading from 28 and this seems fine to me. Could be faster I guess, but not especially slower than 28 was IME.
Same here. I have been enjoying the update.
Maybe it's just me, then ? Firefox still takes ages to start, and to load any webpage for me. If I compare with Qupzilla, it's a world of differences now in terms of performances, while they used to be pretty similar. 
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
Try to delete the appdata folder.


I had some problems with sdcard usage where firefox won't react for some minutes. After cleaning appdata it worked again.
 

ekianjo

Hardcore Member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
8,261
Location
神戸市、日本 (Japan)
Try to delete the appdata folder.


I had some problems with sdcard usage where firefox won't react for some minutes. After cleaning appdata it worked again.
I did that for the previous FIrefox release but there was no effect on performance. I'll try that again then.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

edgex004

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,166
I forget what Ekianjo's issues were, but I've just tried upgrading from 28 and this seems fine to me. Could be faster I guess, but not especially slower than 28 was IME.
Same here. I have been enjoying the update.
Maybe it's just me, then ? Firefox still takes ages to start, and to load any webpage for me. If I compare with Qupzilla, it's a world of differences now in terms of performances, while they used to be pretty similar.
I have gotten in the habit of running at 1200 MHz at all times. Could clock speed be coming into it?
 

Galaxis

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
313
It seems that Mozilla will start disabling SSLv3 support in upcoming Firefox releases after a new attack on Session Cookies in SSLv3-encrypted connections has emerged: https://blog.mozilla.org/security/2014/10/14/the-poodle-attack-and-the-end-of-ssl-3-0/

As far as I know, the workaround for "TLS doesn't work in Firefox on SuperZaxxon" is still to switch back to SSLv3? If yes, I think it's time for a serious attempt at actually solving the problem.

I don't see anything obvious in the Firefox build dependencies that could affect crypto except maybe libIDL - and if it's not that, we may have a bug in our libc or libstdc++?

Does the Firefox PND run on, for example, Slackware for Pandora? Does the TLS problem exist there, too?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,469
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
Latest code::blocks also include a nightly build of firefox. You can try this version and see if TLS works from there (ok, that a 1.6Go of download for a small test...)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,240
Slackware ARM's Firefox is an old version.

The main distro will be patched, but it may be a good idea to upgrade qupzilla or whatever affected browser.
 
Top