Release PCSX ReARMed, with a new GPU

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
After months of development it finally happened, PCSX ReARMed got a new GPU emulation code! It was designed and coded by no other but our own Exophase, and it believe me, it's good.

So what what's so good about this GPU code?

  • High performance - vast majority of games are now fullspeed at default 600MHz with no frameskip.
  • High accuracy - in many cases it's pixel perfect, a feat no other open source GPU has. It's output was compared with various real hardware dumps.
  • Makes heavy use NEON SIMD engine.
On the other hand, your max overclock for this emu will slightly drop again, so if you get crashes, lower it a bit. I suggest not to overclock at all unless it's really needed, i.e. it's not 100% fullspeed without overclock, which is only true for minority of games now.
This was sort of our team project with Exophase, where he designed in implemented the code, and I assisted him with hardware tests/dumps and general testing. You might notice quality increase for some games, like smoother color gradients (skies and shadows) because dithering is implemented now. As an example of graphic improvements, try Silent Hill, it's looking much better now, also underwater effects in MGS intro. However because it aims to be pixel perfect, it's still renders in game's native resolution, not pandora's.

Other than the new GPU it's bugfixes mostly.

Edit: now updated to r13, a bugfix release.

Edit: and now r14, minor GLES plugin fixup release.

Edit: it's updated again, get the latest from the repo:

http://repo.openpand...x_rearmed.notaz
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,382
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Wooot, awesome, thanks a lot :)


Of course, a big thanks to Exophase as well :)


What a nice christmas present :)
 

Jumpman

Advanced Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Sin City
This is what I'm talking about.


Exophase/Notaz, what else is there to say...........


MERRY FUCKING CHRISTMAS! :lol: You guys are a true asset to this community! Now I might have to get a bigger SD card, but these are problems I like to have.


Chris
 

Jumpman

Advanced Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Sin City
WOW, this emu SCREAMS now!


Thank you so much for such a wonderful Christmas present guys.


Notaz, You always know how to deliver the goods during the holidays.


I don't want to sound ungrateful, but is there any chance you, Exophase, and Ari64 can pull your collective genius and deliver something like this for N64 by next Christmas? The wait would be well worth it! ;)


I'm a little broke right now due to the holidays, but after the new year expect another donation. You guys are the best, and thanks again. This is why I bought the Pandora so many years ago, full speed PSX emulation at default clock speed. AWESOME!


Chris
 

Prometheus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
9,475
You guys are fantastic. What more can I say? :)


Thanks muchly, and Merry Christmas to you both. :D
 

NeoG

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
114
Waow, thanks so much for your hard work, you guys ara totally awsome :D , first thing I will do tomorrow is play some Ps1 games in my Pandora.


Merry Christmas to all the coders and thanks again for making such kickass software. :)
 

moxie

The voice of reason, sense and exasperation
Staff member
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
2,707
Age
47
Location
South of Sweden
...and a very merry christmas (or other holiday of choice) to you, too!!!
 

Darkknight512

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
637
Age
25
Location
Canada
Thank you very much, and have a Merry Xmas!


Does this mean anything for Wiz as well? Someone I know said they would by my Wiz if and only if FF8 ran full speed.


Edit: A good 10% drop in CPU usage in Legend of Dragoon, I can only overclock to 0.95 Ghz though, not a problem though!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DaMummy

Soldier Paste
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
4,417
Age
33
Location
Ohio
any chance of exophase netplay beign implemented into pcsx rearmed as well?


i also +1 what Jumpman said about n64 and add a $50 donation if we can get n64 even 75% of what pcsx reamred is
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,462
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
Does this mean anything for Wiz as well? Someone I know said they would by my Wiz if and only if FF8 ran full speed.
Wiz/Caanoo lack neon support so no it would not help.


Might just be me but the n64 comments seem lame to me, these guys put out a real decent work and theres already requests for more? Lets enjoy this for a bit.
 

Jumpman

Advanced Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Sin City
Does this mean anything for Wiz as well? Someone I know said they would by my Wiz if and only if FF8 ran full speed.
Might just be me but the n64 comments seem lame to me, these guys put out a real decent work and theres already requests for more? Lets enjoy this for a bit.
I didn't mean any disrespect in my request, Pickle. The work you guys all do is beyond thanks.


It was kind of meant to be taken lightly, since I said it would be a good gift for "next Christmas".


Thanks again Notaz/Exophase this is really an excellent emu, and I'm enjoying it greatly.


Chris
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,462
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
Might just be me but the n64 comments seem lame to me, these guys put out a real decent work and theres already requests for more? Lets enjoy this for a bit.
I didn't mean any disrespect in my request, Pickle. The work you guys all do is beyond thanks.


It was kind of meant to be taken lightly, since I said it would be a good gift for "next Christmas".
Just though id say something before the next 5 pages become +1's ;-)
 

Jumpman

Advanced Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
3,079
Location
Sin City
Might just be me but the n64 comments seem lame to me, these guys put out a real decent work and theres already requests for more? Lets enjoy this for a bit.
I didn't mean any disrespect in my request, Pickle. The work you guys all do is beyond thanks.


It was kind of meant to be taken lightly, since I said it would be a good gift for "next Christmas".
Just though id say something before the next 5 pages become +1's ;-)
Point Well Taken! :D


Chris
 

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
- emulator crashed while playing tekken3


- when starting Gran Turismo 2 screens not showing then fails to start game


- crashed while loading Driver


doh just re-read OP, above all clocked at 800mhz, i should lower clock?


yep just clocked to 600 mhz all fine and dandy now!


edit3/


nope getting problems, when i set global clock to 600 Gran Turismo 2 loadsokay but then when starting race everything slows down and emulator crashes?


edit 4/


driver seems to run fine now but GT2 still crashing when starting a race - it loads up fine
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top