Release Dune Dynasty - Classic Dune 2. Modern Controls.

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is Dune Dynasty, an modern engine for playng Dune II.

    *** You need DATA from original Dune II to play. Get *.PAK from Dune2 v1.07 EU and put them in appdata/dunedynasty/data after 1st launch, or let the PND (since build 02) download it for you ***

    The GUI is newer, giving the player the ability to chain build construction, select multiple troups, zoom in/out, and so on. Herre are some screenshots, where you can see the differents zooms level.

    [​IMG]

    This build is tagged as beta because it use my still experimental port of Allegro 5.1 to run. It runs well (and fast, no slowdown at all), but there are still some little glitch (with the mouse, that refuse to hide, also, don't use Hardware Cursor, it's worse), Fullscreen 800x480 only (don't try other settings, it's worse)...

    But the game (even more with a mouse) is really enjoyable, and the new control makes Dune II a new and fresh experience again.

    You should visit the main website, here: http://dunedynasty.sourceforge.net/, as there are many info on key shortcut (I didn't customize them for now, but the "+" to zoom in is in fact "="), and to play custom campaign and many other customizable aspect.

    Also, you can use different locale, by editing the appdata/dunedynasty/dunedynasty.cfg, and changing ENG by FRE (for French), or GER (I guess, for German, but didn't try), also, depends of your data of course.

    Now with Fluidsynth. Note the default is still Adlib. You will need a soundfont (go here for example) for it, and modify the dunedynasty.cfg to point to it (and also if you want default to be midi). Note that framerate are much lower with Fluidsynth (from 45+fps to 15+fps, use F10 to Show Fremarate).

    Starting with Build 04, the stylus is 100% usable. Use either trigger to right click. And with Build 05, I added "E" to do multiple selection (and the "Shift" on the keybord is still useable of course).


    History log
    =========

    Build 08
    -----------

    • Latest sources, fresh build
    • Updates libs (allegro 5.2)
    • Mouse cursor should be fine now (don't use hardware cursor)
    Build 07
    -----------

    • In sync with 1.5.6+ version

    Build 06
    -----------

    • In sync with 1.5.5 version
    Build 05
    ----------

    • Added "E" to multiple selection (you can still use shift).
    Build 04
    ----------

    • Added {L} and {R} to right click. So you can rightclick with stylus pressing either trigger
    Build 03
    -----------

    • Updated version number to sync with software version (1.5.4
    • Compiled with Fluidsynth (limited polyphony to 32 voices so it doesn't kill too much the performances)
    Build 02
    -----------

    • Added milkshake script to download Dune2 data files if missing (thanks again to Milkshake!)
    • Added a few more tweaks to Pandora control (change size of toolbars with Comma and Fullpoint)

    Build 01
    -----------

    • Initial build.

    Have fun, and let the spice flow !
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2017
    Tags:
    rSl likes this.
  2. kirkanoss

    kirkanoss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    love this game thanks a lot for this i really need to watch the movies again it's been years
     
  3. This game plays great for me and the audio is top notch!!

    Very well done and a classic reborn on the Pandora for sure. 

    Thanks for this. ;)

    Love those .pak files  :wub:
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2013
  4. pmprog

    pmprog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,785
    Well done, and good job on the Allegro build, you made me a happy man :)
     
  5. thatgui

    thatgui Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901
    Anyone know the differences between Dune Dynasty and OpenDune ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2013
  6. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    Amzing ptitSeb, you keep finding unported games. How many have you ported now?
     
  7. thatgui

    thatgui Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901
    *facepalm*

    first paragraph on the website of Dune Dynasty:

    also forgot to express my gratitude to ptitSeb for porting such a fast amount of software
     
  8. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Hum, on my "Control Panel" on the Repo, it shows "Total: 43". But this is all my PNDs, not just games. And probably more to come ;)
     
  9. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    @ptitSeb If you have a look at my opendune pnd and have a look at the start scripts I wrote a bash script that automatically checks for the data files and can even download them if needed. you can totally steal that from the opendune pnd :) .
     
  10. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I remember this, thanks for your kind permission :) . I will repackage with that.

    I am wondering also on how to use the Pandora Controls. I have not customized the control, but I think some action mapped to (A)/(B)/(X)/(Y) could improve to port.

    I think I will try some (A) => A (attack), ( B) => G (guard), (X) => H, select construction yard, (Y) => P Place constructed struct ?
     
  11. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,986
    This is HUGE !! :eek:

    Thanks !!

    I wanted to play OpenDune so much, but the sound was soo laggy that I preferred to use dosbox... but now this is just WOW !!

    There's also an "extras" section with musics and movies !! This is so great !!
     
  12. gwaine

    gwaine Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Appreciate this ptitSeb...one of my favorites from back in the day.
     
    NoeleyC likes this.
  13. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    New build on the repo.

    Tweaked some controls, like (A) and (B ) to change Zoomlevel, and Comma and Fullstop to change size of toolbar if you find them too small.

    And also added the script to download data files if missing, from Milkshake.

    Build 02

    -----------

    • Added milkshake script to download Dune2 data files if missing (thanks again to Milkshake!)
    • Added a few more tweaks to Pandora control (change size of toolbars with Comma and Fullpoint)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2013
  14. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    New version tweaks Are excellent! Thank you ptiseb!
     
  15. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,986
    Damn !! I can't try it now !! Seems like it's becoming the Ultimate-Perfect Dune2  :wub:

    Good move using the game buttons for the zoom, I don't think them so useful if mapped with troops commands (I use the stylus with the right hand).
     
  16. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,986
    I found some issue:

    - (minor) In the statistics screen after the mission the rank name is not visible, I can see that something is appearing but then you can't see it... (anyway you can see it after inserting your name in the highscore table)

    - (minor) after winning a mission the victory window didn't appear... I was thinking that the game was in freeze, but after I clicked I have seen for half a second that window and then the house congratulations

    - After I exited the game (from the main menu) remained a black overlay... I was able to see only the mouse cursor, seems like I was in the desktop, even pandora key moved the mouse pointer to open the pandora menu, but I wasn't able to remove that overlay and I rebooted
     
  17. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I may need to playtest more, but I had none of those issues during previous sessions ? What's your Pandora model?
     
  18. dynasty

    dynasty Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks ptitSeb!  A few comments and questions:

     

    - Please make the source code available.  Besides that it is GPLv2, I might like to merge some of the changes back in.

    - milkshake: the same goes for your OpenDUNE package too.

    - Could you rename it to be 1.5.4.x?  At first I thought you had ported the 1.5.0 version, but the change log suggests it is 1.5.4.

    - Was there any reason to use Allegro 5.1, besides that you've ported it?
     
  19. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I will put the code here, no problem, was just waiting to have confirmation it's stable.

    I rename it 1.5.4 (I have to post again to the repo, not a big deal).

    I use Allegro 5.1, because I cannot used Allegro 5.0 on the Pandora. The OpenGLES support in Allegro prior to 5.1 does not works well on Pandora.

    PS: About the changes I've done, I'm sorry but I have not guarded them between #ifdef... :( I know it's bad.

    Welcome here, and congrats for Dune Dynasty, as you can see from the comments, the game is well appreciated !
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2013
  20. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    I helped milkshake with the opendune port and there was no codechange except for a try to incorporate fluidsynth midisupport afaik.
     

Share This Page

Loading...