Beautiful landscapes are prettier than portraits

What are your feelings about that development?

  • I want the FullHD display, no matter what! It'll look so much better! I don't care about the perform

    Votes: 14 4.0%
  • FullHD would've been nice, but with those issues, HalfHD is better. I still would've preferred FullH

    Votes: 72 20.8%
  • FullHD is overkill anyways in my opinion. HalfHD is way better suited for a screen that size.

    Votes: 139 40.2%
  • CPU performance and easy development are more important than the higher resolution. I'm fine with th

    Votes: 208 60.1%
  • I don't really care about the difference between FullHD or HalfHD - it's more important that the gam

    Votes: 116 33.5%

  • Total voters
    346

mclien

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
454
Location
Hannover
(hope I didn't overread something)

What I still don't understand is: Will all the resolution issues apply to the external Screen(s) over HDMI, too?

When using the Pyra as Desktop rplacement, I'd like to have a better resolution. 1280x1024 at least, better some higher and best with 2 Monitors. Will we have 2 HDMI out with the docking station?
 

FaeMinx

Rainbow Liberation Instigation
Joined
Dec 11, 2010
Messages
3,124
Age
39
Location
outside looking in side looking out
As far as I understood, I believe we can still go full HD with an external monitor... with a performance hit... but I don't think we'll be able to support 2 external monitors??
 

Jey123456

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
228
From what i understand, the chips would only be for the internal display (it happen transparently/can be controlled from software to enable/disable it and essentially "transform" the display the machine see for the main lcd from 720x1280 to 1280x720 transparently (and handle scaling lower resolution in a similar fashion computer lcd display do when you set it to a lower resolution than the display really is).

It shouldnt affect hdmi output whatsoever since its a different output (not passing by the chip as the hdmi monitor is already the right orientation). Altho i do not think we could have 2 hdmi output, offcourse i could be wrong. 

On the other hand, there are some pretty decent usb3 to hdmi which could be used for a second screen. 
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
Will all the resolution issues apply to the external Screen(s) over HDMI, too?
No, the HDMI output is different from the DSI output. There's no restriction there, go full 1080p if you want. There is only one HDMI port though. Any talk of docking stations has been about passthrough of that port, adding a hub to the USB, etc...There is one HDMI port and two DSI ports, hypothetically I guess the second DSI port could be exposed somewhere and a MIPI->HDMI adapter used to give you a second HDMI output but I don't know if ED wants to go through the trouble or if gta04 could even make it happen: that's an extra 11 data lines that need to go somewhere.
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
3,925
If you connect a TV to the HDMI, does:

1. The internal display get disabled?

2. Internal display renders the same as the TV?

3. Internal display gets a seperate desktop to the TV?

Just wondering
 

mclien

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
454
Location
Hannover
Ah thanks for the clarification, Stan.

I also like to have the DSI port patched through somehow to the docking station.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

God Ginrai

Godmaster
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
5,416
Website
Visit site
In some ways this situation reminds me of how it currently is on the Pandora: by default, you get only 16 bit color so if you don't explicitly use something like notaz' SDL, you have a limited color depth with possibly visible artifacts (e.g. on gradients). For the vast majority of games and apps it does not matter much.
Except Notaz's SDL doesn't require a piece of hardware (the GPU) with closed source drivers (ogles drivers) to get around said issue.

-God Ginrai
 

_wb_

Microbe
Staff member
Joined
Apr 5, 2012
Messages
5,387
Age
38
Location
Brussels, Belgium
In some ways this situation reminds me of how it currently is on the Pandora: by default, you get only 16 bit color so if you don't explicitly use something like notaz' SDL, you have a limited color depth with possibly visible artifacts (e.g. on gradients). For the vast majority of games and apps it does not matter much.
Except Notaz's SDL doesn't require a piece of hardware (the GPU) with closed source drivers (ogles drivers) to get around said issue.
Using the GPU to do the rotation manually is just one of the options to get an uncompressed framebuffer. You can just as well do the rotation on the CPU, or maybe on the 2D accelerator or on the DSP or on one of those M4 cores. Or you can render everything so that it is already rotated (but that could be quite a bit of work in many cases).

It should also in principle be possible to make a version of SDL that does the rotation transparently as long as you don't use the screen surface directly but only through calls to SDL's blit and draw functions. Lots of games and applications satisfy that requirement. There would probably be a bit of overhead (because rotated blits are less efficient than normal blits), but it could be good enough.
 

Rockthesmurf

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2003
Messages
1,106
Age
36
Location
Manchester, UK
Website
Visit site
Wasn't it the same as this on the GP32, I seem to recall writing all my ASM blitting routines for vertical scanlines? Only this time around there are trivial fixes for rotation.
 

Exophase

Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
10,308
Age
36
Location
Cleveland OH
Wasn't it the same as this on the GP32, I seem to recall writing all my ASM blitting routines for vertical scanlines? Only this time around there are trivial fixes for rotation.
Yes, GP32 and Wiz both had this problem. Although Wiz had a mode where the display was rotated it caused unavoidable diagonal tearing. GPH switched to having SDL do the rotation in software and there was a pretty big performance loss.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

God Ginrai

Godmaster
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
5,416
Website
Visit site
GPH switched to having SDL do the rotation in software and there was a pretty big performance loss.
And that would be no different here if we did the same thing, right? We have much more power now, but it still would be costly for a much larger screen.

-God Ginrai
 

Exophase

Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
10,308
Age
36
Location
Cleveland OH
And that would be no different here if we did the same thing, right? We have much more power now, but it still would be costly for a much larger screen.
It's not the same if there's a solution that works that doesn't use the CPU.

Even then I don't think GPH did a great job with their software routine.
 

God Ginrai

Godmaster
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
5,416
Website
Visit site
It's not the same if there's a solution that works that doesn't use the CPU.
Which would be...? We're talking about a method that does not use OpenGLES. You know how long it took for us to get the DSP working on the Pandora. As pointed out before, if we use the 2D chip, then it takes up time we could be using it for our own purposes. And I highly doubt the M4's would be useful for this purpose.

-God Ginrai
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Exophase

Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
10,308
Age
36
Location
Cleveland OH
What about this screen?

http://www.adafruit.com/product/1695

You could ask adafruit if they can supply it without the driverboard.

Has 1280x800 resolution and seems to be landscape.
The power consumption is around 3.3W. Not sure how much of that is due to the driver board but unless it's the majority that looks really bad..

Here's the display they use (or equivalent): http://www.panelook.com/LTD056EV7F_TOSHIBA_5.6_LCM_overview_15331.html It says discontinued, not a great sign. Also don't like that it's 18bpp.
 

God Ginrai

Godmaster
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
5,416
Website
Visit site
Top