A physical Dummy, Power Usage and MIPI

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. PokeParadox

    PokeParadox Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,512
    Location:
    UK
    If the battery is swollen - should we throw them into recycling? Send them back to you? and then buy a new battery?

    Just want to know what the thing to do in this case is.
     
  2. moxie

    moxie The voice of reason, sense and exasperation Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    South of Sweden
    Yep. But it has been like that for the last 2 years or something.
     
  3. Galaxis

    Galaxis Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Peak power usage seems to be a general problem of the ARM Cortex-A15 design, and has been named as the main reason why it's not been very successful in the mobile market. Don't think a whole lot can be done about it when staying with the OMAP5 (besides maybe throttling the CPU while on battery bower).
     
  4. British

    British Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    France
    On the subject of batteries, for people that are *not* much mobile, will it be possible to operate the Pyra with the line plugged and the battery removed ?

    I've read somewhere that some notebook/ultrabook/whatever batteries do warp or expand a bit when being constantly plugged on an oulet. It also possibly wears them faster...
     
  5. GizmoTheGreen

    GizmoTheGreen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    I don't think that's it, both my batteries have done that since I got my unit, only 1mm or two. but it's bulging when I put the back cover on alright.
     
  6. Wrath Of Khan

    Wrath Of Khan Soul soother...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,146
    Location:
    Ireland
    Yeah the battery covers are not perfectly formed but it does not always mean that there is a problem with the battery.
     
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Right, if it's the battery cover, you can bend it to make it fit :)
     
  8. ashcloud

    ashcloud Lactose Intolerant Volcano

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    guru.awakes.dormant
    Sometimes when I'm running to catch the train my 1GHz Pandora resets in my pocket. I don't think this issue is gone.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2014
  9. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,719
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Same here.
     
  10. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,711
    He had already shipped several 1Ghz before looking into it. I'm pretty sure the more recent ones are the ones he is talking about being fine.

    At least, neither my Rebirth nor 1Ghz have any padding, so if it exists I have to assume it happened later.
     
  11. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,296
    Location:
    Germany
    I solved it with more pads.

    You need one each on the small sides as well (left and right of the Pandora)

    and maybe two (on top of each other) on every large side.

    Simply take any rubber padding and test it.

    My Pandora can even drop onto the ground without rebooting now.
     
    FBnil likes this.
  12. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,216
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I hope that we'll be able to use the Pyra without a battery in too personally. I do that with my house-bound laptops although with laptops it's more of an issue as stuck there next to the electronics they get rather hot, which is bad for them.

    Thankfully, the Pandora these days has some rather spiffy coding controlling the battery charging to do some clever stuff when charging for long periods to try to preserve the battery life, but I would prefer just to be able to remove it and keep it somewhere cool.
     
  13. Amon_Re

    Amon_Re Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    428
    You know, you could just color code the plugs......
     
  14. moxie

    moxie The voice of reason, sense and exasperation Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    South of Sweden
    Eh. It is not a question of "color coding the plugs". The problem is when you want to use a speedy USB thingie like an USB3.0 external drive, say for movie streaming. The only port able to connect that is the microUSB port (the fullsize ones are USB2.0 only),  yet the only way to connect the pandora to the mains is through the microUSB. Means you cannot connect the charger when you connect something that pulls a lot of current from the pandora.

    Of course, a solution to that dilemma would be if it was possible to get one or the other of the fullsize USB ports to be 3.0.
     
  15. bzar

    bzar A Commando

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    Finland
    What kind of movie is higher bitrate than USB 2.0 allows :blink:
     
  16. moxie

    moxie The voice of reason, sense and exasperation Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    South of Sweden
    Ah, well, I don't know, I was just making a quick ref to Neelix original description. Main point: It is not about confusing connectors, it's about not being able to charge in a heavy-use situation.
     
  17. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,216
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    USB2 runs at 480Mbps, which by my reckoning is 60MBps. 4k movies apparently require a bitrate of 600MBps, so even if USB2 were completely transparent it wouldn't be able to handle those - not that I'm sure the Pyra will have a chance of rendering such a beast.
     
  18. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    I would be already happy if Pyra could handle ordinary h264 stuff, none of my h264 encoded videos work on the Pandora :( .
     
  19. slaeshjag

    slaeshjag ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,687
    Location:
    ~Stockholm, Sweden
    30 MB/s is a more realistic estimate of real transfer speed though.
     
  20. bzar

    bzar A Commando

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah, I think uncompressed 4k video may be a bit out of scope for Pyra :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...