Release Yabause

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Jun 15, 2015.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,342
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is Yabause, a Saturn emulator.

    [​IMG]




    https://www.youtube.com/embed/O4N1vI72dZA?feature=oembed
    And here a video of a game from ingoreis

    There is 2 version here.

    The Qt version feature a nice GUI, with many things configurable.

    The SDL version is an experiment featuring a very limited GUI with mostly nothing configurable.

    Better use the Qt version to start with. The SDL version should be a bit faster.

    Both version use Software rendering only (for now, I may try a GLES|2 version, but not sure).

    Yabause can use a Saturn BIOS, or use HLE to emulate bios. On Qt, BIOS is easily configurable, but for the SDL version, the BIOS must be named "sega_101.bin" and be put on appdata/yabause folder.

    History log

    ==========

    Build 01

    -----------

    • Initial Build
    • Qt & experimental SDL version
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 20, 2015
    Tags:
  2. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Yay!  At last a Saturn emulator for the Pandora!  Thank you!
     
  3. asimov-solensan

    asimov-solensan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    It can really move any games at playable speed?

    Man, I still have a saturn. Has been many years since i turned it on but it had great exclusives, including the best bomberman version ever made.
     
    Nintendo likes this.
  4. rohezal

    rohezal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,657
    I don't want to sound impolite, but since the Saturn had strange hardware, would it possible to emulate a bit via DSP?
     
  5. edgex004

    edgex004 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,162
    Notaz might be the best person to comment on this.
     
  6. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,645
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Sure was!! SATURN BOMBERMAN :wub:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 16, 2015
  7. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Does this support .mdf/.mds file type?
     
  8. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    I have some issues to report regarding it:

    1. I cannot get it to load .cue/.mds files (with no bios configured, it tells me that it cannot initalize itself and with a bios configured, it just gets stuck at the startup menu/black screen0.

    2. Lunar: Magic School (aka Magic School Lunar)'s audio in cutscenes is being played twice most of the time.

    3. The mouse is being displayed while in full-screen mode.

    4. There is no way to use the nub as a joystick.
     
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,342
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    .cue should be somehow supported. Not sure at all about mds. For .cue, check that you don't have any error with case of the files...

    Probably a speed issue. Nothing I can do except try to speed it up.

    Yes. On the SDL port, I will mask (I had forgot to do it).

    Mmmm, technicaly, it is possible to configure one of the nub as joystick, but, are you sure you want that ?


    What would be your setup (which version of yabause, qt or sdl, and which nub).
     
  10. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    1. They still don't work even with the proper casing for the image name in them. Its log is stating "Unsupported cd image".

    3. I'm using the QT port.

    4. I would like to use the left nub as the joystick.

    Also, its .out contains the following errors:

    Code:
    Setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH to /mnt/utmp/yabause/lib:/lib:/usr/lib
    WSEGL_InitialiseDisplay: DRI2OpenConnection failed
    Qt: Session management error: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    Cant find EGLConfig, returning null config
    Unable to find an X11 visual which matches EGL config 0
    Could not initialize OpenGL for RasterGLSurface, reverting to RasterSurface.
    Cant find EGLConfig, returning null config
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 16, 2015
  11. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,342
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    That will be more tricky to hide the mouse. I have to think of something...

    Instead (or along with) of D-Pad?
     
  12. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    4. Instead of the D-Pad.
     
  13. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,342
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ok, but in that case, you will not be able to use the Left Nub to click.

    I can put in place the leftnub / righnub files mecanism in the launch script. After that, Joystick should be assignable in the Qt version (I'll check later).
     
  14. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    2. Using the SH2 Dynamic Recompiler option in the Advanced tab of its settings seems to fix this issue.
     
  15. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
  16. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    Is anyone able to play a game via a cue file?
     
  17. ElPoco

    ElPoco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Wasn't Saturn one of those "too complex to get running at a decent speed on Pandora" console along with the 3DS? 

    Ah yes, it was: 

     


    :D  Congrats ptitSeb!
     
  18. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
    when you have a Cue,then you have a Bin...just start the Bin not the Cue File.

    That worked here,but not all Games are Combatible to start ;)
     
  19. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    But what about the in-game music?
     
  20. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    so you see two 2d games running at like 10 fps and with heavy frameskip and thats good enough fot you? enjoy your 5 fps 3d saturn games then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...