Release VVVVVV for Pandora


ssokolow

Member
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Ontario, Canada
I just downloaded the repo version on a brand new Pandora and it was slow. Turns out, for some reason, scaling defaulted to 2.


Setting it to 1 using Mousepad fixed the problem but you'll probably want to look into why it decided to pick that default. (though it's still harder to play VVVVVV with a D-pad or Pandora WADS than with arrow keys on a desktop keyboard :p )
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ssokolow

Member
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Ontario, Canada
(though it's still harder to play VVVVVV with a D-pad or Pandora WADS than with arrow keys on a desktop keyboard :p )
Remember that you can use A/Y and Space to flip as well as up/down. ;)
That'd really help with WADS being too cramped but the problem with the D-pad is that it's too hard to press only left/right without also pressing up/down. If there was a way to turn off "pressing up flips your gravity even if you're already on the roof" then that would solve that problem.
 

Mr_Loon

Can't Remember
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
2,329
+1 for the ability to define keys / turn off flip gravity on the DPad. The issue of unwanted flipping of gravity via accidental pressing of the DPad put me off playing this on the Pandora for fear of destroying it via rage quitting :p .
 

dgame

Active Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
944
LOL! Great minds think alike . . . :D


Since VVVVVV uses Notaz's SDL you can remap they keys by using an omapsdl.cfg file in the \pandora\appdata\vvvvvv folder.


I use:



Code:
bind ev_up = sdlk_u

bind ev_down = sdlk_n

Which assigns up and down to u and n (u and n are not used in VVVVVV)


omapsdl.cfg.txt


If you want to use the attached omapsdl.cfg.txt file rename it from omapsdl.cfg.txt to just omapsdl.cfg and put it here:


\pandora\appdata\vvvvvv\omapsdl.cfg


@Picke, the VVVVVV in the repo defaults to Scaling 2 on a new install.
 

Attachments

diligentcircle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
1,594
Age
27
Location
Milky Way galaxy
Website
onpon4.github.io
Since VVVVVV uses Notaz's SDL you can remap they keys by using an omapsdl.cfg file in the \pandora\appdata\vvvvvv folder.


I use:



Code:
bind ev_up = sdlk_u

bind ev_down = sdlk_n

Which assigns up and down to u and n (u and n are not used in VVVVVV)
Hm... that works, though it makes navigating menus a little weird. It would be nicer if there was an in-game option.
 

Mr_Loon

Can't Remember
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
2,329
...


Which assigns up and down to u and n (u and n are not used in VVVVVV)
Many thanks dgame, that worked a treat, you are my geek of the week for that little tip.


Really looking forward to playing through vvvvvv on Pandora. :)
 

stophle

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 3, 2008
Messages
78
I got this today :)


Thanks for the work!


Could someone explain what the scaling thingy is? Where can I set it? It is slower than the flash demo, so I guess it's currently wrong.
 

sswam

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
1,392
hey Pickle, do you think Terry would be open to selling VVVVVV with data on our repo?


I'd like to see that, it's a favourite game of mine... these little pix are not even fake!


I'm using VVVVVV to promote / sell pandora at my new little shop on http://pandoria.org/





 
Last edited by a moderator:

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,486
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
I would suspect he wouldnt, since he already has it available on the official site and on steam. It really isnt necessary either since you only need the data from the package regardless of where it is purchased.
 

sswam

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
1,392
It's not necessary but would be convenient, and make it easier for non-geeks to play it. There's a 3DS port as you know, sold from Nintendo online shop. I'll ask, anyway.
 

dgame

Active Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
944
Hi Picke,


Though this is minor, could you update the VVVVVV.pnd in the repo to set the default scaling to 1 instead of the default 2?


Defaulting to scaling 2 gives the false impression that the game is not as fast as in the demos.


Thanks
 

sswam

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
1,392
The run.sh had:



Code:
cp -r --no-clobber default/* .


that glob misses .vvvvvv there, it should be:





Code:
cp -r --no-clobber default/.vvvvvv .

Fixing that, vvvvvv works well right away.
 

dgame

Active Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
944
So will you buy copies of Angry Birds from Rovio and sell the AngryBirds.pnd?


Do you think that would be cool?
 
Top