Release Battle for Wesnoth dev release

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ivanovic, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. ivanovic

    ivanovic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Hi folks!

    After ages a new development release is now available for the Pandora. The latest release is 1.11.8 and available from the repo (the previous one available was 1.11.4!) and features significant changes for pandora players. This is why I am asking for some feedback in here. The most important changes:

    1) New UI theme specifically created for the pandora usecase. The theme can be changed in the preferences->graphics area if you are not satisfied with the pandora theme.

    2) Changed input methods (right clicks now initiate moves). This can be changed in the preferences->advanced preferences.

    Please post some comments in here stating what you like or dislike as well as issues you found. I attached an image to show you how the new UI looks while you are waiting for the download to finish:

    twobrothers.png
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 5, 2014
    Tags:
  2. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Awesome!!! 
    Thanks.
     
  3. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,435
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
  4. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,202
    Location:
    Germany
    If only it was more similar to the Fire Emblem series.

    At least more options to make it more like FE would be great.

    (No hexagons but squares. Real Healers. Only 1-2 attacks per unit. Units can pass near enemy units)

    Fire Emblem is my all time favorite video game.

    If only Wesnoth would be more similar to it.
     
  5. ivanovic

    ivanovic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    Then it would be Fire Emblem, not Wesnoth.
     
  6. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,202
    Location:
    Germany
    I know :) .
     
  7. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,779
    Oooh !! So that's why I wasn't able to move anyone... I'll try again tonight
     
  8. Monkfish

    Monkfish Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    England
    I'm liking the new interface a lot - it's a definite improvement, but it does reduce the amount of map visible on screen although the zoom feature goes some way to solving this problem. I'm having real issue with right click initiating moves though, this is difficult for me and i think perhaps this should be reverted back to its old state by default rather than having to change it in preferences.
     
  9. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,779
    I assigned the move/attack command to "ALT+LeftClick" cause it's the same way I use the Right Click in the OS

    And I found an issue that stops the playsession:

    - Start for example the campaign "Heir to the throne"

    - activate planning mode

    - select Konrad and plan to move him in the north west where it must go, same for the wizard

    - confirm all actions and end turn until someone attacks Konrad or the wizard

    then you'll see, the enemy just attack one time and then stops the sequence, and you can't do nothing to proceed
     
  10. Gandi

    Gandi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Ivanovic!

    The new GUI is really a progress - fantastic!

    Everything is so much more readable. :)

    I found a small issue:

    In the first scenario of the campaign "Ein Einmarsch der Orks" the map shows just graphical glitches in the lower third.
     
  11. ivanovic

    ivanovic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    381
    New month, new Dev release of Wesnoth. 1.11.9 is available in the Repo. The input scheme should be back to the "old" default (unless you changed your mapping manually!). Sadly the minimap glitch is not fixed yet. We are currently still investigating the root reason. On the PC it should probably happen, too, there we seem to be just lucky that it does not occur...
     
  12. JDTAY

    JDTAY Half Pepperoni, All Cheese

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hey, just wondering, the current Wesnoth in the Pandy repo is 1.12, but there's a 1.14 out now. Anyone plan on updating it?
     
  13. second exodous

    second exodous Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    To save screen space maybe the mini map and other window could be toggled as a transparent overlay? I haven't played Wesnoth in a while and can't remember if it it used for quick moving, like clicking an area on the minimap and skipping to that point. If so I guess that wouldn't work. I bet the aspect ratio of the Pyra screen will help also.
     

Share This Page

Loading...