Thought of the day...

ClockworkCoder

Chaotic Neutral
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
1,370
Location
Menzoberranzan
Sometimes I feel I have something random to say / rant about that doesn't necessarily fit in any of the other current threads, so I thought I would start one. Anything goes as long as it's positive in some way (educational, informative, interesting, funny, etc)

Today is a Japanese word I learnt today, 専門バカ (sen-mon-ba-ka). Sometimes translated as "professional idiot", and it's when someone is a specialist in a particular field, but is simultaneously ignorant of other things.

There are quite a few people I work with with whom this may fit. Extremely intelligent, yet lacking any common sense.

Not one of them, but one example: a father of a colleague at work who bought an "expensive" and fancy lock for his grandson, thinking it was a good present for him. One minor problem, it was a combination lock and he didn't know the number to unlock it (he got it cheap from a friend). "He's a clever lad, he'll work it out". My colleague pointed out that it was a 5 digit combination lock, and that the permutations might take him forever to work out. "It'll be fun" he replied.

One of my colleagues - and this was the prompt for the previous story - our respected CEO, and an extremely talented specialist, left work. We also have a combination lock with a spare key for the office. Apparently he didn't think to rotate the numbers after putting the keys back in it when leaving one day...
 

FBnil

Waiting to Champion the Pyra to the World...
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
2,965
Location
Yurp
might take him forever to work out
Nah man, 5 days at most, if he does 2x 1000 combinations a day (around 40 minutes a day, for 5 days). Except for the first day, when you are very slow to move the digits, after a while you get better and chances are he did not choose 99999 as the combination...

Apparently he didn't think to rotate the numbers after putting the keys back in it when leaving one day
And that is why we have digital locks now with a small lipo in case of blackout (granted, the keys start fading so you know which numbers are used; so it's not perfect either)

Dutch Term: Vakidioot
 

ClockworkCoder

Chaotic Neutral
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
1,370
Location
Menzoberranzan
I hate it when browsers let websites hijack keyboard shortcuts. The worst one I found recently was the Manjaro Forums, which not only rebound / (which I usually use), but also Ctrl-F, so to search the page, I had to resort to the mouse. This is "accessibility" gone mad.
 

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,498
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Seems like i have to get used to this new Cherry Keyboard, i now have at work, its a bit thougher to write as the Keys are pretty new..
But its not bad at all, the Keyboard is also a bit more heavy than my old..

And i ditnt made any bad experience whit the new Windows 10 whe have since yesterday, but i also ditnt made much work whit this PC..
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,202
I hate it when browsers let websites hijack keyboard shortcuts. The worst one I found recently was the Manjaro Forums, which not only rebound / (which I usually use), but also Ctrl-F, so to search the page, I had to resort to the mouse. This is "accessibility" gone mad.
You could focus something outside the document, e.g the address bar via CTRL+L, and then do your combo. Still not as it should be, but you wouldn't have to touch your filthy(?) mouse.
Or better yet, stop visiting that site. ;P Not only do they sport SYSTEM-deeeh TOTALITARIAN OVERLORD MIDDLEWARE, they also switched to this dispicable forum software - don't remember what it's called, starts with a D I think. Discourse?
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,935
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
That was very nearly a very handy tip. My main gripe is text areas that grab my arrow keys stopping me scrolling the screen, but unfortunately going to the address bar or my search bar, the arrow keys have different uses again. Oh well, I'll just have to continue trying to find a non-active area of the page to click on, which is easier said than done on certain sites.
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,202
@levi Don't pageUp/Down get you outa there? Or you could get a Keyboardio Model 01, which doubles as a mouse. With fn+(w|a|s|d) you move the cursor with acceleration. With fn+(g|b|tab|esc) (yes, in the layout they sit in a tight square) you make the cursor jump diagonally, each jump being shorter then the last. fn+t reset that jump Length. And, fn+(f|v|r) are your clicks from left to rigjt.
Or since it's got an Arduino inside, you could change all that. I guess you could program it to be a midi instrument, too, or a Mic, that synthesizes sounds on keypresses or whatever. :)
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,935
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Nope, seems not, in firefox at least tested with this here text area. I'm using my laptop which doesn't have dedicated pgup/down keys anyway, but even if I hold down fn to access them it doesn't help.
 

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,498
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
This whole Calories thing is pretty strange: This Morning, i load my Car whit 16 x 12,5 kg Beefeed, and load this also out on our Store, this was lot of work, but the Activity App on my Watch only shows i have 98 kilocalories used, which is pretty low..,

I mean i dotnt need to get thinner, as i have 62 kg by 168 cm, but if this lots of work only means that tiny bit of energie, this isnt that motivating...
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,202
That watch can only see how much your moving around. It can not see, how you move, and not, what you carry around. I just hope, it asked your weight at some point, since someone twice your weight for instance should burn way more calories doing the same moving around.
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,202
This whole Calories thing is pretty strange: This Morning, i load my Car whit 16 x 12,5 kg Beefeed, and load this also out on our Store, this was lot of work, but the Activity App on my Watch only shows i have 98 kilocalories used, which is pretty low..,

I mean i dotnt need to get thinner, as i have 62 kg by 168 cm, but if this lots of work only means that tiny bit of energie, this isnt that motivating...
I'm curious, what do you feed them?
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,202
@matzesu I was wondering, if it's only sugar. I'd think, the bees would need something more than pure sugar, like enzymes, fat, etc.?
 
Top