Starting OS/Firmware Dev?

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
I wasn't sure whether to post this, because my spare time is sparse - more-so at the minute than usual - but I'm interested in helping if and when I can so...

Primarily, I'm a Windows developer. My main desktop runs Windows; however, since the Pandora, I've dabbled with Linux a bit more. To a point now, where I have a Debian VM set up to develop desktop apps with CodeBlocks, MonoDevelop and QtCreator, and Android with Necessatias (Qt). But that's all still user software.

I would like to get more into the firmware/os side, but as my limitations of Linux end there, I don't even know where to begin.

So, a question for people like Notaz and aTc, where do I start?

Working on the OS will be a long list of task. I for one believe we should make a thread listing every job/tasks to be done. Everyone will be free to pick his task.

For me each task once taken should see a thread here where specific help/status report should be done.

Here is my list of task to be done : that should grow over time, as many will have other ideas :

1°) Create the .deb files for libpnd/pnd system.

That doesnt need to be done on ARM. It should work on x86 too. The produced deb files should conform to the debian standard and provide the good dependency informations.

2°) Create a hacked superzaxon rootfs to allow backward compat

3°) Pyra system setting (aka let's get ride of these bash scripts :)

4°) Improved PND-like system (with the pyra and distribution/server sides)

5°) Define the list of the standard libraries we all want in the root FS

6°) Create the official cross-compiling toolchain

7°) Create a pyra-dev.deb depending on all the -dev from the supported libs

8°) Create a minimenu-like system supporting the new res (or improve mmenu)

9°) Kernel work

10°) SDL patches to get free support to the hardware accel