1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Rogue For Gp32

Discussion in 'Beta Testing [GPH]' started by Lizardos, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    New version of Rogueclone IV (if it runs ok, it should be the last):

    All the comands are now implemented, and there's a new 53 cols text mode:
    [​IMG]

    Everybody who tested the game wanted better fonts, so here you have :).
    Read readme.txt to see control changes. And please report any bugs, as usual.

    CHANGELOG
    ·Version 041201:
    -Scroll for menu items
    -Scores are now saved succesfully.
    -53 columns mode. You can select mode in startup screen.
    -All commands are now implemented.
    -Virtual Keyboard.
    -Now it shows the lost ending tombstone.
    -In virtual keyboard, B now deletes
     
  2. Mosch

    Mosch Reeks of fish

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Germany
    You know, I played your last version and I never posted again because I really found no bugs or problems. I didn' think it was possible to improve this.

    You proved me wrong.
     
  3. Errabes

    Errabes Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Amazing :blink:
    Keep up the good work :D
     
  4. perishabl

    perishabl Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    53-column mode is sweet! Thanks a bunch!

    (The new startup screen is pretty cool, too...)

    Any plans to allow for a user-specified character name, or will it just always be GPPlayer?
     
  5. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks for the support, I take note on your suggest. By the way, you can change player's name in options.

    Greetings.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  6. Hanz™

    Hanz™ FIGHT THE POWER! :D

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    fan
    Awesome...
    Very good work, haven't found any bugs yet myself.
     
  7. TelcoLou

    TelcoLou Guest

    You. ROCK!

    Warm, fuzzy memories playing this one ... :D

    Thank you for a great port !!

    BTW:

    How?
     
  8. Hanz™

    Hanz™ FIGHT THE POWER! :D

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    fan
    I also want ot know how....??

    Do you think in the next version you could make the instructions in the game specific to the GP32 (so it does not ask you to press 'z etc...' but asks you to press the correct GP32 keys) as this would make it much easier for idiots like me ot play it....

    Thanks...

    edit: CRAP! is this really your last?
    Anyway if it is thanks for all of the good work you have put into it, it is a shame that someone else couldnot add some of the changes I wrote above into it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  9. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    No, it won't be the last. I'll add most of the changes that you're telling me and some that I want to do, but I'll release it when the differences will be significant. I want to make other projects, so I'll dedicate less time to Rogue.
    Also need feedback - Rogue port is not complete until someone goes back to surface with the amulet of Yendor in his hands without software problems.

    The help to all commands are in "Original Docs\guide.html". I wanted the commands menu to be self-descriptive, please tell me if a command is not clear.

    About the options (it's not clear which option is selected, will be changed in the next release) the first five options are only TRUE or FALSE (select 't' or 'f' in the virtual keyboard, button A enter character). The sixth option, the name, you start to write over the old name (clared with the first character), when finished select ENTER. The dish option is similar to the name.

    Greetings.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  10. loki666

    loki666 rtems gp32 bsp maintainer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Belgium
    this port rocks man!
    i really enjoy playing rogue on my gp32! still i didnt play this game before.
    keep up the good work man!
     
  11. TelcoLou

    TelcoLou Guest

    One of my favorite games for the Game Gear was Dragon Crystal ... obviously 'inspired' by Rouge.

    For some reason, I like this version better :)

    Edit: Please don't take this as negative, but ... why does the screen jump back to 80-col mode when choosing a command from the menu (like to read a scroll, for example) ... Just curious, it's no big deal ....

    :lol: I'm playing Rouge every chance I get!! I love this port man!! Thank you so much :)
     
  12. TelcoLou

    TelcoLou Guest

    This also happens when pressing select to view your inventory.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  13. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    To print correctly the inventory (I did it intentionally). It also display at 80 cols the tombstone and scores, the help and the options.
    Annoying? Let's see what i can do.
     
  14. TelcoLou

    TelcoLou Guest

    wow. I didn't mean to offend (if I did), it's not annoying so much (but my eyes are getting old, and I have to squint a bit to see it)

    I was just wondering if it was something you may have missed.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  15. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Sorry, no offense, it's a misunderstood. I'm rewriting the inventory list to overlay on the screen, and there will be no need to change resolution.

    Greetings.
     
  16. TelcoLou

    TelcoLou Guest

    Thanks Lizardos! You rock man! :D
     
  17. Hanz™

    Hanz™ FIGHT THE POWER! :D

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    fan
    Awesome...
    This is the only game I am playing on my GP32 right now....

    P.S. Could you make it so I don't have to change my name from GPPlayer every time I die and restart, as it would be good if it could just remember your old name, so you don't have to keep typing it out over and over again....
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  18. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Yep, implemented :D It's a very nice idea, much better than asking new name each time the game starts, which must be really boring without a real keyboard. I also fixed the rez changes displaying inventory and options.

    Thanks so much to all you people who are playing this Rogue port, and giving me -real- feedback. Here's the new, fixed version for you 'big guys' ;)

    PS: To EvilDragon: PLEASE DON'T POST THIS RELEASE ON NEWS!! It has few enhancements, it's unworthy to be distributed. I expect the next version to be a step ahead.

    PS2: Anyone who plays on 80 cols textmode? I'm thinking on deleting it on next release

    PS3: Sorry I goofed again. Changed the attached file (minor fix showing inventory).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  19. Hanz™

    Hanz™ FIGHT THE POWER! :D

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    fan
    thanks!
    I don't play on 80 cols by the way.
     
  20. TelcoLou

    TelcoLou Guest

    Many thanks man!

    Can't wait to get home and try it out :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...