1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Rogue For Gp32

Discussion in 'Beta Testing [GPH]' started by Lizardos, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Hello to all. First of all, excuse my bad english.
    I'm posting here my port of Rogue, based on Rogueclone by Timothy Stoehr. I finally advanced enough to get an almost full playable beta (but not so tested yet, sorry). The game is based on text mode at 80 cols like the original, so don't expect marvellous graphics. Read "Readme.txt" for full details.

    CONTROLS:
    #########
    Pad - Move
    A - Fight until kill or be half dead
    B - Search traps and secret doors
    START - Press when the game asks it
    SELECT - Inventory
    L + pad - Move until crash
    L + A / B - Climb up/down stairs
    R - Open Command menu

    INSIDE COMMAND MENU:
    Pad - Move between options
    A / B - Select
    R - Cancel

    If you get stucked in a command chain, press R twice (= Escape)

    KNOWN BUGS:
    ###############
    Commands not implemented yet: Name object, what is, remove ring.
    Cannot move in diagonal.

    Since this is my first post and release, I expect you will be soft with me.

    Greetings, Lizardos.
     
    Tags:
  2. BobBorakovitz

    BobBorakovitz Hardcore Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Florida
    wow, I really love Rogue, I can remember playing that in typing class in the 6th grade :)
    thanx for a port to the GP32, keep it up!

    -BobBorakovitz
     
  3. cozmic

    cozmic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Holland
  4. Hooka

    Hooka That Guy!

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,737
    Location:
    Canada
    Excellent Rogue is one of my childhood favorites, I'll have to try this out!

    Thank you Lizardos!
     
  5. toxibunny

    toxibunny Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    787
    nice one Lizardos :) welcome to the forum.
     
  6. TelcoLou

    TelcoLou Guest

    Very cool :D

    I can't wait to try this out man! I'm sure many of us 'old-timers' will love it!!
     
  7. diablo2

    diablo2 Virtual Boy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    The A
    looks like gba got rouge also today
    gbadev
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  8. skeezix

    skeezix Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,044
    OKay, this is just *so* rad :)

    jeff
     
  9. Tobriand

    Tobriand Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Croydon (UK)
    At last a version of rogue that has a decent interface :D

    I've been waiting for something like this for nigh on 2 years lol
     
  10. Errabes

    Errabes Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    That's great ! I'll try it ASAP :D
     
  11. Mosch

    Mosch Reeks of fish

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Germany
    http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?showtopic=7529

    Lizardos, you are my personal hero :D

    However, ever so often the game crashes and sends me to the Bios Monitor; I use Pacrom and haven't yet tried it on another file launcher. It seems to be randomly. Also it is quite annoying that the GP32 always resets after a death.... maybe you could change that?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  12. Thanks!!!

    I was hoping that some one would make this for us as it is such a classic game and there aren't any other decent copies working on the GP32....

    :D
     
  13. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Yes, I know it randomly crashes (I have BLU official firmware), but I haven't caught that bug yet (it seems not to be in my code). On Geepee32 it doesn't crash, and I don't want to flash my GP. It's a Heisenbug :(

    If you have a bios monitor firmware, please tell me what kind of bug does it have (I'm almost sure it's a rogue pointer...) otherwise i'd need to spare a lot of time

    Greetings Lizardos
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  14. Mosch

    Mosch Reeks of fish

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Germany
    OK, got it to crash again... here's what it says, photographed right from my GP32. Quality is not the best, but it's readable ;)

    Again, thank you for this great port and the time you are prepared to spend to make it better!

    EDIT: Thinking about it, why did I zip JPGs? Stupid. And I feel like I have to change that :D
     
  15. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks to you for your complete betatesting, and captures too :) I found that bug an hour after the release, but you're the first one reporting it.
    Greetings, Lizardos.
     
  16. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    NEW VERSION
    My first goal is to eliminate the alignment exception and improve stability, but there are more minor enhancements:
    CHANGELOG:
    ##########
    ·Version 041125:
    -Improved stability (compiled with alignment flags)
    -Screen double buffer
    -Removed annoying debug text on bottom.
    -Some control enhancements.

    KNOWN BUGS:
    ###########
    Commands not implemented yet: Name object, what is.
    There could be alignment exceptions (pending on compiling with latest GCC).
    Items menu without scroll yet.

    I'm waiting for your reports.

    Greetings, Lizardos.
     
  17. Mosch

    Mosch Reeks of fish

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Germany
    Woohoo! Will test it tomorrow on my way to and back from university, but don't count on hearing from me before sunday (my girlfriend demands that I fulfill my duty).
     
  18. Gruntfuggly

    Gruntfuggly Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Tried this for the first time tonight - and I must say it is excellent.

    One thing is missing though which prevents it being played - how do I search for secret doors?

    Also - can any of the options be changed?

    Great work - I hope you finish it off.

    And just out of interest, why is the display so small? Could it not be scaled up a bit and the menu overlaid on top of the display?

    Thanks for doing this - what this this and Nazcadreams, I'm suddenly trying to find time to play my GP32 again... :D
     
  19. Lizardos

    Lizardos Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Push B many times (Your character often fails its first attempts of searching).

    I take note of your suggests ;) maybe in next release...

    Greetings, Lizardos.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  20. Gruntfuggly

    Gruntfuggly Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Doh! :huh: I didn't read the information properly at the start of this thread... Sorry!
     

Share This Page

Loading...