More Pandoras soon at the shop!


RuneIV

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
88
Location
Qc, Canada
Would a "new" classic (if they're available in stock again) have the faulty LCD cable issue?

Also, how good of a buy is it at this point?

I'm not meaning compared to the upcoming Pyra but more, apart from the obvious emulators (PSP), is it powerful enough to run the latest apps coming out on the repo?
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,106
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
Would a "new" classic (if they're available in stock again) have the faulty LCD cable issue?

Also, how good of a buy is it at this point?

I'm not meaning compared to the upcoming Pyra but more, apart from the obvious emulators (PSP), is it powerful enough to run the latest apps coming out on the repo?
For most PND yes, but the most graphicaly (or optimised) intensive PND will work better on a Gigahertz.

PPSSPP, Mupen64 works (much) better on a Gigahertz than a CC.

Eldritch or Tasty Static don't run at all on a CC (they crash or don't render properly).

But most other PND will run well on CC.
 

Daviot

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3
Age
35
Location
Oklahoma, US
So tempting...

I put in for an update when a 1Ghz is available.

How different in performance is the Rebirth vs. the 1 Ghz?
 

Loonie

Active Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2003
Messages
753
I'm happy. Parts have been delivered and fitted -- new case, new nub, new LCD cable, new LCD digitizer... It's good as new, with the added bonus that the touchscreen can now be used without requiring 900 giganewtons of pressure. One word of caution regarding the cases: the new one did not have the pen housing bit that clips over the SD card ports so make sure to keep the one from the previous case.

The new LCD cables look highly improved over the iteration that was in my 1GHz unit. Instead of that thick, conductive screening foil tape that was stuck onto the back of the original cable, the new one has a very thin conductive layer as part of the cable, making for a much thinner and noticeably more flexible cable. They should (hopefully) fare considerably better.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,137
How different in performance is the Rebirth vs. the 1 Ghz?
In real live... i see no difference.
Really? It has a faster memory and system bus speed. The GPU is a tad faster as well. Many 1GHz units can be overclocked to close to 1.3GHz. The better performance is mostly only noticeable on CPU and 3D heavy applications.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

zonova

Member
Joined
May 8, 2012
Messages
165
Just a question, will there be any more Pandoras for sale, or have they all been sold out? I was really hoping to grab a Rebirth with my next pay check :(
 

FelixNemis

Very Active Member
Joined
May 15, 2012
Messages
306
Just a question, will there be any more Pandoras for sale, or have they all been sold out? I was really hoping to grab a Rebirth with my next pay check :(
I don't know if they've got anymore, but have you checked the trading section of the forum, I believe there are a few for sale there right now.
 

bluedeer

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
158
Is there a chance there will be some fully populated (With nubs) 1Ghz PCB's available soon? Or are they all gone?
 

Alperoot

Welcome! Welcome to Airstrip 17.
Joined
Apr 11, 2015
Messages
640
Is there a chance there will be some 1 GHz Pandora's at the shop? Or they are all sold? :)
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,846
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
We should still be able to get a few GHz ones (not too many though), but right now, we're working on the Rebirths :)
 

cafealpha

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
15
Location
Japan
No pandora available on Dragonshop :(

Are there plans to produce additional 1GHz units ?
 

Askarus

Forum Addict!
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
4,681
Location
Germany
No pandora available on Dragonshop :(

Are there plans to produce additional 1GHz units ?

There should be some left.

I haven't refurbished the Gamescom Pandoras yet (and I don't think anyone else did)

They are completely working, only need a new housing and maybe screen. Board is new and fully working.

Some little chance is left.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,846
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
You can subscribe to the notification list on the product page... though usually, when I put GHz Pandoras back in stock, they sell within minutes, so you need to be fast.
 

cafealpha

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
15
Location
Japan
I already subscribed. I also manually check "in case of".

I have limited access to internet, so I suppose it will be a matter of luck and time zone (I live in Japan) to get one ...
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
Wait for someone else to get a Pyra and then buy their second-hand Pandora? :D
 
Top