If a default choice is set, which desktop environment the Pyra OS should have ?

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by Linux-SWAT, Sep 12, 2016.

?

If a default choice is set, which desktop environment the Pyra should have ?

  1. Enlightenment

    6.6%
  2. GNOME2/MATE

    16.2%
  3. GNOME3

    3.7%
  4. KDE/Plasma

    9.6%
  5. LXDE

    21.3%
  6. MiniMenu

    14.7%
  7. TDE

    2.2%
  8. Unity

    2.9%
  9. Xfce

    72.8%
  10. EvilWM

    1.5%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,556
    That's ban worthy...
     
  2. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,202
    3.11 should run "well" in Qemu and it's basically the same.
     
  3. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,720
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    I guess it's easier to just install win3.11 in DosBox.
     
  4. Kippykip

    Kippykip BFG 9000

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    'STRAYA
    Just install Calmira 2 on 3.1 and enjoy your start menu! ;)
     
  5. Murakami

    Murakami Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Are there screenshots of what the Pyras OS looks like now and wouldn't it be best to have an Interface that is less complicated to look at since most of the time the users would be using a pretty small screen? Something with bigger symbols and big fonts that's easy to read?

    And, how customizable is the interface in case I would like to push the layout in that direction myself?

    Sorry, I'm a linux noob and don't have any experience worth mentioning using linux. But I'm really interested in this device from a user point of view, who is new to linux but excited about the device's features. :)
     
  6. spud42

    spud42 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    597
    Location:
    Brisbane,Australia.
    i just downloaded debian and installed it to a VM using oracle VM box. and selected XFCE when it asked for the DM. set my Vm to a 720P screen size (1280x720) . then you can have a play with linux... and see what the PYRA can look like. you could also try different DM's to find what you like and what suits you.
     
  7. Murakami

    Murakami Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Well, I really only understand half of what you say. What's "DM"? Would it also be possible to try this using a Virtual Machine? https://pyra-handheld.com/boards/threads/download-pyra-debian-os-wip.75360/

    Do you have a first impression at hand? I am curious but I would like to see more "examples" before I gather new tools that I am absolutely unfamiliar with until now. :$
     
  8. Kippykip

    Kippykip BFG 9000

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    'STRAYA
    Ah righto mate, DM is basically a Desktop Manager/Enviroment which imagine "Windows Explorer" except with linux you can pick several different ones.
    Also no, you can't use the Pyra OS on a typical Virtual Machine as the pyra uses an ARM processor, so you'll need a devboard to run it.
     
    Murakami likes this.
  9. ashcloud

    ashcloud Lactose Intolerant Volcano

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    guru.awakes.dormant
    I'm just fine with the console login prompt :D
     
    rygD likes this.
  10. 0x14f

    0x14f Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    What a nifty idea! Screen Shot 2016-12-23 at 10.45.55 pm.png
     
    levi likes this.
  11. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    797
    Don't worry, if you have used a cellphone and a current computer, I could hand you my Pandora and you would be just fine. There is a visual repo so it is kind of like an app store, and the desktop environment looks like a normal windows desktop environment, just with slight different symbols.

    It is only when you get into complexities that you will need to compile/use the command line.
     
    ClockworkCoder and Murakami like this.
  12. Murakami

    Murakami Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks!

    I fiddled around a little bit with this vm box and a "standard" debian. What was really annoying was, that it had ton of programs already installed - which I would like to avoid on a handheld/mini pc.

    Need to get more familiar with the terms of Linux, too.

    But I get what you mean, and anyway, a MiniMenu will probably be in there as well, right? Just like with Pandora.
     
  13. spud42

    spud42 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    597
    Location:
    Brisbane,Australia.
    Murakami and ClockworkCoder like this.
  14. Murakami

    Murakami Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Anyone know if a MiniMenu will be included with the Pyra OS?
     
  15. AnimatedFreak

    AnimatedFreak Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    303
    Someone would have to port it first, which will probably happened as it is pretty popular, or a new simplified menu will be made for the Pyra.
     
  16. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,556
    suppose it's possible, I guess it's up to the maintainer if the want to port it over and adapt it to the DBP system.
     
  17. Murakami

    Murakami Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    You mean "maintainer" as owner of a device or as ED and his development dudes? Of course I know it "can" be done, but are there plans yet or is it already in place?
     
  18. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,556
    No I mean the maintainer of the Minimenu code, as in @skeezix.

    There really isn't any dedicated Developers, just people stepping up in the community.
     
  19. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,223
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    No, IIRC minimenu was developed and maintained by a long-standing member of this community. He may or may not have got a free prototype Pandora from he who must not be named here originally, but I don't think he's ever received any payments from anyone officially involved in the Pandora project.
     
  20. GizmoTheGreen

    GizmoTheGreen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    the PIXEL desktop thats now used on Raspbian might be worth a look
     
    ClockworkCoder likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...