Gngeo2x 0.6.9 *update*

Discussion in 'News Zone [GPH]' started by pepone, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. DaveC

    DaveC Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,208
    How about adding game specific parameters insetad of global ones in Rage 2x?

    So for example have clock speed settings, region, arcade/console etc that change with each game. Some games like metal slug need overclocking but others do not really need it. So instead of going in the menu to change it everytime (plus you need to remember what game works best with what setting) it would automatically set it when the rom is loaded.
     
  2. JyCet

    JyCet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    France
    @PSyMastR
    perhaps tomorrow ... i dont know ;)

    @DaveC
    Yes it's planed to generate a dedicated RC file for the game you want.
    I've already spoke with pepone about all possibilities.
     
  3. JyCet

    JyCet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    France
    @pepone
    I've coded a rom.cf generator but these files have the priority on the command line option :(
    When I generate a *.cf file I cant use the general options.
     
  4. JyCet

    JyCet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    France
    What's up for me ?
    Code:
    v0.7.7
    -add polish language (thanks to kardasan)
    -add spanish language (thanks to iignotus)
    -add dutch language (thanks to Inopia)
    -add turkish language (thanks to techFreak)
    -add portuguese language (thanks to Paulo Becker)
    -add --no-screen320 option (and saved) (not translated yet)
    -add finnish language (thanks to Jarska333)
    -add swedish language (thanks to Megamannen)
    -fix bug to diplay NO PREVIEW picture
    -fix bug with arcade/console system option
    -add option to generate dedicated CF file for each roms (very beta phase)
    -add view if config file exist or not
    -add B button to use CF file to launch a rom instead of A for general config (very beta phase)
    	(problem know : cf file have always the priority on cmd line)
    -add --no-raster --no-sound --no-showfps for genreral options cmd line
    
    [​IMG]

    This version can generate a CF file for your rom if you want ... i hope to upgrade it to use CF file OR general config but today when you generate CF file you cant used general options ;)

    I've updated gp2x archive but you can download rage2x v0.7.7 here

    Regards
    JYCET
     
  5. PSyMastR

    PSyMastR \m/O__O\m/

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,968
    Thanks for this JyCet!
     
  6. Megamannen

    Megamannen Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  7. Artemio

    Artemio Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Mexico
    I also noticed a small bug. If I set the option to only display the available roms (I have 10 in my SD) and scroll all the way down, apparently teh counter isn't updated correctly.. from that point on, the current selection mark is all over the place and never on top of what could be expected (it goes on and cycles to the first titles in the full list which I don't have).

    Not a big deal.

    Thanks for the great work!
     
  8. Finn

    Finn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Pefkohori Chalkidiki / Greece
    I can help you with Greek language support.If you are interested let me know :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  9. subin

    subin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    hey, i hate to dredge this topic up from the 2nd page or wherever it was, but i was wondering if anyone could help me? in metal slug 3, text overlays aren't displayed (press start, ammo, lives and such). i've tried replacing 256-s1.rom with ones from different rom files, and with different roms, but to no avail. i also tried it in neoragex, where it worked! very strange.

    also: does anyone know of how i can decrypt the graphics for metal slug 5? most emulators don't support it..
     
  10. Shikaku

    Shikaku ROFL THE WORD PENIS IS HILARIOUS!

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,839
    Location:
    USA... I feel lonely, not that many people from US
    Use winkawaks, and check save decrypted roms...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  11. Azure

    Azure Trust the recursion...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    California, USA
    Is anybody else here getting choppy performance with most of the games with sound? I have sound activated at the lowest frequency and I have the emulator clocked at 279 mhz and no game I have tried is playable (They are all really choppy). Games I've tried so far:

    Blazing Star
    Fatal Fury Special
    Garou: Mark of the Wolves
    Pulstar
    Twinkle Star Sprites
    Zed Blade

    I'll post some videos later to show you what I'm talking about.

    :(
     
  12. DaveC

    DaveC Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,208

    Those games have to spool data from the SD card because they are too big to fit into RAM. There are pauses as it loads from the card and it gets a bit framey as it is shuffling memory around. Sometimes if you have to re-start at the beginning of the level it seems to get a bit smoother as data is already in RAM.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  13. Shikaku

    Shikaku ROFL THE WORD PENIS IS HILARIOUS!

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,839
    Location:
    USA... I feel lonely, not that many people from US
    Garou is way too big for the GP2X. Don't even bother trying to get that to work even without sound...
     
  14. jbrodack

    jbrodack gp2x fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Location:
    new jersey, USA
    besides an occasional stutter garou pretty well even with sound for me and quite smooth without sound.
     
  15. Shikaku

    Shikaku ROFL THE WORD PENIS IS HILARIOUS!

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,839
    Location:
    USA... I feel lonely, not that many people from US
    That's the prototype... Play the real version ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  16. Azure

    Azure Trust the recursion...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    California, USA
    So, am I the only person getting a choppy frame rate with the listed games with sound? Do I have to get a faster SD card to make them run smoothly like everybody was saying they ran?

    My SD card
     
  17. slaanesh

    slaanesh Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Sandisk are apparently quite slowish (though reliable).
    RiData make great SD cards and are rated at 150x - highly recommended!
    I have 2x 2GB cards - one for my Zodiac and on for my GP2X and they perform fast and flawlessly on both devices.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  18. Azure

    Azure Trust the recursion...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    California, USA
    What I want to know is if getting a 150x SD card will GUARANTEE that i get smooth gameplay and full speed Neo-Geo emulation (with sound of course) like everybody else is supposedly getting.
     
  19. PSyMastR

    PSyMastR \m/O__O\m/

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,968
    Ive got the Transcend 4GB 150x and I never notice any pauses in emulation.
     
  20. Azure

    Azure Trust the recursion...

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    California, USA
    Before I plop down the dough, I just want to clarify that they don't look ANYTHING like pauses in emulation. It looks identical to just having the frameskip on something like 6 or 7 (Kind of like how DKC1 runs on SquidgeSNES in game).
     

Share This Page

Loading...