Release Ginge


Reo

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
201
Wiz support? Holy fuck. I don't even own a Pandora, but that sounds so kick-ass anyway.
 

ndbsolar

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
230
Age
40
Location
Wiltshire, UK
Website
Visit site
zx-81 said:
all my homebrew/ports are working fine using Ginge ! (chess, mancala, go game and all emulators ...)
With the fact that they are working on Ginge, as a developer would that discourage you from making native ports of your software?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

craigix

Mega GP Mania
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
11,010
Location
England
Website
twitter.com
ndbsolar said:
zx-81 said:
all my homebrew/ports are working fine using Ginge ! (chess, mancala, go game and all emulators ...)
With the fact that they are working on Ginge, as a developer would that discourage you from making native ports of your software?
It's a tricky question isn't it. If it works fine and does not need high resolution, why should they not just wrap their game/emu/app in Ginge?

It's a pretty awesome way to get a huge library of software fast and easily.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
Spirit said:
(How) Can I pass commandline arguments to .gpe applications?
There is 'ginge_prep' in the .pnd, you call it like this:
Code:
cd /gp2x_game
/path/to/ginge_prep ./some_game.gpe --some_argument
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Wolfsclaw

can't be longer than 2 months right?
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
1,747
Age
30
Location
Germany/France
Website
Visit site
craigix said:
ndbsolar said:
zx-81 said:
all my homebrew/ports are working fine using Ginge ! (chess, mancala, go game and all emulators ...)
With the fact that they are working on Ginge, as a developer would that discourage you from making native ports of your software?
It's a tricky question isn't it. If it works fine and does not need high resolution, why should they not just wrap their game/emu/app in Ginge?

It's a pretty awesome way to get a huge library of software fast and easily.
Though not everyone's a fan of black borders :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TJFBryant

Island Man with Pandora in my pocket
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Messages
535
Age
41
trying to get W and W puzzle battles to work .... Is there any particular place I need to place these files for it to work. I get knocked back to the Mini Menu whenever I start up a GPE file.

For some reason I can't get any GPE files or games working. I know I am doing something very wrong.
 

Michoko

Member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
458
Location
France
I'm really impressed. I would have never suspected the Pandora could be such a wonderful emulation platform...
 

cosam

Active Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
703
Location
Netherlands
Website
www.cosam.org
Very impressive stuff. I'd never have expected Wiz support so early on. Now just a few tweaks and we'll be playing Caanoo games too, right? ;-)

craigix said:
ndbsolar said:
With the fact that they are working on Ginge, as a developer would that discourage you from making native ports of your software?
It's a tricky question isn't it. If it works fine and does not need high resolution, why should they not just wrap their game/emu/app in Ginge?
Because your other dev mates will laugh at you? ;-) Seriously though, if the original really pushed the hardware, or there were compromises made to get thing running adequately, a native port is of course always going to be better. But if it's a simple enough app the benefits of a native port may be outweighed by the time required to alter the code. I mean, does anyone really care about a bit of emulation overhead when you're only using 10% of the system's resources anyway? That said, there's usually something to add when porting to a new platform, like making use of different types of controls, etc.

Personally I think the real value is being able to play titles for which the source code is no longer available (or never was in the first place).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

zx-81

Certified Guru
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
679
Age
50
Location
Earth
Website
zx81.zx81.free.fr
ndbsolar said:
zx-81 said:
all my homebrew/ports are working fine using Ginge ! (chess, mancala, go game and all emulators ...)
With the fact that they are working on Ginge, as a developer would that discourage you from making native ports of your software?
I will have more time to focus on ports that haven't been made for gp2x :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

zx-81

Certified Guru
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
679
Age
50
Location
Earth
Website
zx81.zx81.free.fr
Wolfsclaw said:
....
Though not everyone's a fan of black borders :p
In the menu -> settings you can set the video fullscreen mode, and there is no black borders ...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TJFBryant

Island Man with Pandora in my pocket
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Messages
535
Age
41
Is there any particular place the GPE files need to go for this to work. I get bumbed back to the MMenu screen when I try to execute a GPE file. In particular the W and W puzzle Battles.
I am desperately trying to figure out a resolution for this. THanks
 

Exophase

Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
10,308
Age
37
Location
Cleveland OH
craigix said:
It's a tricky question isn't it. If it works fine and does not need high resolution, why should they not just wrap their game/emu/app in Ginge?

It's a pretty awesome way to get a huge library of software fast and easily.
I encourage all Pandora software, especially emulators, to make at least some use of the non-game keys, as alternate shortcuts for things like entering the menu or saving/loading.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
43
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
@TJFBryant, all I can tell you is how mine is set up. I have an existing 8GB card still set up for GP2X. It has the usual folders:

\game
\emus
\ebook
\movies

etc etc.

I created a new \gp2x folder in the root, and dumped all the existing GP2X content into that. (So now the only folder in the root is \gp2x). Then I made a \pandora folder in the root, and set it up as per a regular Pandora SD. I dropped GINGE into \pandora\desktop, and barring any compatibility issues, everything runs fine. :)

[edit] In short, the trick may be to ensure all GPEs are in their respective subfolders under a 'game' folder.
 

TJFBryant

Island Man with Pandora in my pocket
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Messages
535
Age
41
Gruso said:
@TJFBryant, all I can tell you is how mine is set up. I have an existing 8GB card still set up for GP2X. It has the usual folders:

\game
\emus
\ebook
\movies

etc etc.

I created a new \gp2x folder in the root, and dumped all the existing GP2X content into that. (So now the only folder in the root is \gp2x). Then I made a \pandora folder in the root, and set it up as per a regular Pandora SD. I dropped GINGE into \pandora\desktop, and barring any compatibility issues, everything runs fine. :)

[edit] In short, the trick may be to ensure all GPEs are in their respective subfolders under a 'game' folder.
Thank you so much Gruso.
I appreciate the help very much. I remember now what I;ve done wrong. Thanks for the refresher.. Truth be told I sold my GP2X F100 and F200 a few years ago and kept its programs but lost all organization of all files.
Thanks again. I owe you a Coke.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

craigix

Mega GP Mania
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
11,010
Location
England
Website
twitter.com
TJFBryant said:
Gruso said:
@TJFBryant, all I can tell you is how mine is set up. I have an existing 8GB card still set up for GP2X. It has the usual folders:

\game
\emus
\ebook
\movies

etc etc.

I created a new \gp2x folder in the root, and dumped all the existing GP2X content into that. (So now the only folder in the root is \gp2x). Then I made a \pandora folder in the root, and set it up as per a regular Pandora SD. I dropped GINGE into \pandora\desktop, and barring any compatibility issues, everything runs fine. :)

[edit] In short, the trick may be to ensure all GPEs are in their respective subfolders under a 'game' folder.
Thank you so much Gruso.
I appreciate the help very much. I remember now what I;ve done wrong. Thanks for the refresher.. Truth be told I sold my GP2X F100 and F200 a few years ago and kept its programs but lost all organization of all files.
Thanks again. I owe you a Coke.
This is really agitating me, TJB did you steal the Shakespeare folio from the University of Durham?

http://www.google.co.uk/images?hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&hs=kMK&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:eek:fficial&q=raymond%20scott%20durham&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&biw=1280&bih=671

It's uncanny! I thought you were in prison.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top