Game Editor

Discussion in 'Game creation kits' started by TylerAW, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. TylerAW

    TylerAW Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Deleted because I don't think anybody reads this section
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 8, 2010
    Tags:
  2. bzar

    bzar A Commando

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,436
    Location:
    Finland
    Why wouldn't they? I for one follow all the dev sections.
     
  3. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,586
    I read it. I just don't have time right now.
     
  4. Yannick

    Yannick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
    I only just noticed someone posted here ;) :p
     
  5. Klaue

    Klaue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Even if nobody would read this section, why remove the link?
     
  6. FaeMinx

    FaeMinx Rainbow Liberation Instigation

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    outside looking in side looking out
    Yes, I'm interested.


    Could you put the link back please? :)
     
  7. moz

    moz load *,8,1

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,804
  8. FaeMinx

    FaeMinx Rainbow Liberation Instigation

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    outside looking in side looking out
  9. moz

    moz load *,8,1

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,804
    I'm no expert, but yeah, I think someone will need to port it.


    Also, I just noticed what sub-forum this is in, game creation kits, how long has this been here, I didn't notice it til now, lol.
     
  10. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,586
    I haven't had much luck compiling the editor for ARM, and I'm not entirely certain if it's possible to simply compile "the player" for it: when you make a game, it outputs a binary for your intended target, no extra program required. You can output DAT files which can be loaded in an iPhone app, but I'm not porting an iPhone app to the Pandora: that's just asking for trouble :p


    Can someone who has worked with this more extensively help me figure out how it's supposed to work? The editor can output Windows and Linux binaries, but what if someone only outputs a Windows binary? Is there a Linux program that can open that Windows binary and still play the game? I'm betting the binary it outputs is little more than a standard precompiled executable with the data tacked onto the end, so it should be possible, I just need to figure out how and if someone has already done half the work.
     
  11. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,433
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    The Editor can output binaries for specific systems OR Dat-Files which can be run using a runtime.


    I tried it on my linux box: Created a DAT-File and ran that using a linux runtime and that worked.


    That's how the Pandora-Version should work as well.


    The runtime is not that well coded though: If you run it without any parameters or a broken datfile, it just doesn't do anything. No errors, just sits at the cursor.


    The best is to load the sample game into the editor, export that to a generic DAT, try to run that using the runtime on your PC (Linux or Windows) to make sure the DAT is okay and then try to port the runtime to the Pandora and run it from there.
     
  12. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,586
    That's the problem I'm having though, I can't find any runtime source, not even a runtime binary. Or maybe I did find the runtime binary but can't for the life of me figure out how to use it. What am I looking for?


    I'm sure it's staring me right in the face and when I finally see it I'll think myself an idiot, but right now I just can't find it.
     
  13. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,433
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Is that probably the GameEngine subdir in the sorucecode-Trunk?


    I could also ask the author :)
     
  14. eyecreate

    eyecreate Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Game-editor is hard to figure out how to compile/use. I tried when the source was first released and failed to get a fully working version til the official one was built. Could never get it to accept dat files. I think you are going to have to contact makslane 'bout this.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2010
  15. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,433
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
  16. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,743
    Location:
    France
    That's far from complete, sadly. And I have to agree with eyecreate : it's a mess, I had a look some month ago, and well, I didnt release anything...
     
  17. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,433
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Pickle is going to contact makslane (the author), so let's hope this leads to something :)
     
  18. Wild_Duck

    Wild_Duck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Ilkeston England
    There`s always GLBasic (www.glbasic.com). This can compile an executable file for the Pandora. (or Wiz or Gp2x etc.)
     
  19. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,586
    YES!


    This is the line that I was looking for:



    Code:
    To compile the Linux engine set the GAMEEDITOR_TYPE to GAMEEDITOR_PROFESSIONAL_STAND_ALONE in the makefile
    With that, I was able to build an executable on my desktop that took pre-built GameEditor games as input and played them.


    Unfortunately, when I then cross compiled it for the Pandora, the resulting executable just hangs. I don't know what the issue is just yet, but this is very promising.


    Thanks a lot!
     
  20. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,433
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Yeah, that's as far as Pickle got :)


    I got some info from makslane (the dev):


    "The port need to be done using the provided SDL in the Game Editor source code."


    Also, if someone wants to contact the author, the mail address would be:


    makslane@game-editor.com


    I told this to Pickle already, so maybe you can contact him and work together :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...