Finally, a touchscreen!

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. zonova

    zonova Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    I'm loving the weekly updates, thank you!!
     
    kiney, error and levi like this.
  2. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,696
    I can't see any physical reason it shouldn't, dual-touch gestures is basically just a specialized application of pressure sensitivity, which the Pandora definitely supported. If someone had written the driver for it, the Pandora should've been able to support dual-touch gestures as well. We're fortunate that that work is already being done for us in the controller.
     
    Link likes this.
  3. joachim

    joachim Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Caution for ironic content :

    Heal, heal, touch the screen !

    Genesis, Jesus he knows me
     
    Kev2442, xnopasaranx and comradekingu like this.
  4. cosmoset

    cosmoset Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    help its cold up here
    When you say it's the same screen as the pandora, you mean like the resistive film, right? The resolution is still 720p i presume? :p
     
  5. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,527
    Yes, the Touchscreen is a seperate layer that gets attached to the LCD screen.
     
    Link likes this.
  6. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,195
    That's exactly why it's called a touchscreen, because it touches the screen.
     
    Creature XL likes this.
  7. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,527
    Well I don't think that is exactly why they call it the touchscreen. Maybe because it's designed for people to touch it with fingers, styluses and such.
     
  8. cosmoset

    cosmoset Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    help its cold up here
     
  9. rSl

    rSl i'm not tired. you're tired.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    homecomputer
    yummy, i love how it sounds... mass production...
     
    FBnil likes this.
  10. Splintercat

    Splintercat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    United States
    I'm on my third touchscreen with one of my pandoras. The first one was great, then I got the purple screen of death and ordered a new screen and cables. The second touch screen took considerably more pressure, and I think I ended up deforming the screen slightly at some point because it had an area that was brighter than the surrounding area. So the third one I ordered just a month or two ago and swapped out my case, buttons, screen, etc, and I have to say that the latest screen and touch screen are amazing. The touch screen is back to the originals sensitivity (So really good), and the screen is really clear. I feel like it refreshes a bit better and has more colors than any of the previous ones. Though that could be psychosomatic.

    TLDR version: I recently got a new screen/touch screen for my pandora and it's appropriately sensitive, I don't need much pressure for it to work, and it seems to not interfere with the screen's colors.
     
    FBnil, Eight Bit and Silent-Hunter like this.
  11. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    So we'll have a screen with the same PPI and colour as the Pandora, but none of the tearing or ghosting?
     
    AnimatedFreak likes this.
  12. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,751
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Higher PPI. But yes, no ghosting. Pandoras screen didn't have any tearing.
     
  13. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,994
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Also the new screen is a bit bigger than the Pandora screen
    So it's the same touchscreen foil, but a different screen..
     
  14. FBnil

    FBnil Ready to Champion the Pyra to the World...

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,728
    Location:
    Yurp
    People say I'm crazy, just a little touched
    But maybe iControlPads remind me of he-who-must-not-be-named too much.


    Chorus:
    I always feel like, somebody touched the screen.
    And I have to wipe it clean.
    oh oh oh.


    @joachim: Wasn't it:

    She seems to have a invisible multitouch, yeah
    It takes iControl and slowly tears you a pad.

    .... And though she will mess up your life,
    You'll want her just the same, and now I know
    She has a built in ability
    To run everything she gcc's
    And now it seems I've fallen, fallen for her.

    Read more: Genesis - Invisible Touch Lyrics


    See also: watch?v=PxKtm4bxvhg
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2016
  15. kuru

    kuru Laptop und Trachtenjanker

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,770
    Location:
    the mockracy
    By "jitter" do you mean the zigzag lines that come from applying slightly too little pressure while e.g. drawing a line? This has messed up my attempts at hatching multiple times. If that's a thing of the past, cool!
     
  16. cosmos123

    cosmos123 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Will the speed of the touch screen be fast when it comes to drawing and writing? I do not have a pandora so I do not have a reference point so I am not sure if there is a delay in the response from pen to screen. Thank you.
     
  17. AnimatedFreak

    AnimatedFreak Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    300
    When I had a Pandora I used it for drawing all the time. It was fast and responsive just as you would expect.
     
    Link and cosmos123 like this.
  18. cosmos123

    cosmos123 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    thanks for your reply!
     
  19. FlapJack

    FlapJack Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    222
    I'm wondering that as well. You already had those touch screens in stock. WHY wouldn't you test them? If you did, then what was the problem with using them? Why eliminate them from the process of testing? Seems like a big oversight to me.

    I really do appreciate ED's transparency in all instances, as do I now. It's just that I don't get the (non)decision. Time (and hence money) has been lost. Oh well? +o(
     
  20. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    An important factor is that the new touch is not exactly the same as the Pandora one. It is only the same material and type, but different dimensions. So it is not a "just take it from stock". It has to be (re)designed to fit and minimum order quantities apply.

    There are three options to get an LCD with touch screen:
    a) look for complete touch LCD modules, test them and choose the best one.
    b) look for an LCD and ask the vendor to glue a good touch on it, test it and ask for improvements if needed.
    c) buy LCDs here and Touch there and have a third partner to glue them together. Test and think about improvements yourself and manage the communication and shipment of parts.

    a) would be the most hassle-free approach, but did not give any results.
    c) is complex and risky for fingerpointing (who is responsible if the production lot is not as good as in the samples?).

    Therefore b) was chosen.

    But the best touch the vendor could finally provide from his subcontractors was still not good enough. Hence we finally suggested to test the panel from the Pandora which was new to them.

    So the only oversight can be the hidden assumption that the LCD vendor can easily provide an equally good touch panel because they are doing that every day.

    IMHO time and money has not been lost (at least no ED's) since the last component that is available determines production start.
     
    Lightkey, Neelix, FBnil and 2 others like this.

Share This Page

Loading...