Release DBGL + DosBox with 3Dfx


DrasticNerd

Long time lurker, Forum newbie
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
48
So the other day I finally got round to trying this out. I found it easy to use the add game wizard to add a game. I didn't like the separate window but I changed it to full screen and scaled aspect. So far so good.
  1. What is the shortcut/button you use to exit after playing the game in full screen? I tried escape key, didn't work.
  2. How do I get sound working?
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,749
What is the shortcut/button you use to exit after playing the game in full screen? I tried escape key, didn't work.
ALT + Enter <-- DOSBOX default


How do I get sound working?
It should work out of the box, but remember this is DOS, so you may need to go through a setup program, configuration menu or in rarer cases a text file to enable soundblaster or adlib compatible sound and such and the procedure could change per game.
 

DrasticNerd

Long time lurker, Forum newbie
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
48
ALT + Enter <-- DOSBOX default
Sorry for the confusion - I meant is there a button combo to "gracefully exit" the entire app while playing in fullscreen (Instead of needing to go back to the launcher first before closing). I'm currently using the PND button to kill it! :confused:
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,749
Ah was confused thought you meant a fullscreen toggle...

If ptitseb retained the standard DOSBOX key command CTRL-F9 should work...

also typing exit on the command line likely would work too.
 

Magic Sam

Forever Homebrew
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
2,260
Age
38
Location
Innsmouth, MA
Hi all :)

I just heard about Shakedown: Hawaii and its prequel Retro City Rampage (yeah, I know I've been living under a rock for quite some time now...). Retro City Rampage sells at GOG for 15 euros and includes the DOS version of that game :D Have you guys ever tried to play it with DOSBox on the Pandora ?

Cheers, Magic Sam
 

Magic Sam

Forever Homebrew
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
2,260
Age
38
Location
Innsmouth, MA
The game is running at playable speed on my Rebirth OC'ed @ 1GHz :) Now I just need to find a way to re-map the keys because at the moment WASD is not that convenient ;)

Cheers. Magic Sam
 

ElPoco

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
804
Age
36
Location
Paris, France
I played it with DOSBox, I've got some slowdowns but I don't know if they're because of the Pandora or if they're in the original 486 edition of the game.
It works better than the other ways I've tried (though I haven't tested with the dynarec Box86)
 
Top