Common Desktop Environment?

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by Silent-Hunter, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    I absolutely adore CDE, and would LOVE to be able to use it on the Pyra. With the MicroSD slot, I may experiment with getting it to work, and if I do, I will post instructions. :D
     
    Tags:
    sswam likes this.
  2. dopefish

    dopefish Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Most definitely keep us posted! I'd be interested in tinkering with CDE. It has a Motif like look and feel... and sorta reminds me of SGI IRIX or the older Sun Solaris desktops I played with.
     
  3. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    That is because it uses the Motif widget toolkit. And that is also because SGI Irix used CDE as its desktop, and so did Solaris.

    I won't have any information for you until the Pyra comes out, and I can mess with it. But it works on my desktop alright, I'm using it as my main desktop environment on my laptop right now, and it's great! You can get it here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/cdesktopenv/

    There is instructions for setting it up, but those are for a regular computer.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2014
  4. Glyph Reader

    Glyph Reader Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    How fast is it compared to, say, XFCE, LXDE or KDE?

    -Glyph Reader
     
  5. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    Very. I find it quite responsive, and it starts up faster too. It's somewhat similar to Windows 3.1's interface though, so some people may not like it.
     
  6. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,342
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Oh, I wanna relive my Solaris days!  Please share your findings.  Maybe we can get an update this time next year?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2014
  7. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,457
    ^ I guess I relive my solaris days every day at work.. use CDE not only on solaris boxes we have at work, but on every AIX box too.
     
  8. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,745
    Location:
    France
    running a desktop on these servers sound odd to me
     
  9. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,457
    For Solaris they are Sparc workstations that run the test equipment I work on when out on the test floor.. AIX yes for the most part I don't use a desktop, but occasionally I start up an XDMCP CDE desktop because I find it easier to handle multiple things up at once when dealing with multiple screens..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 8, 2014
  10. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    I will, but I'm not even going to try this on the Pandora. I'm afraid of messing something up. With the Pyra, it will have a regular Debian package manager, and I should be able to follow the exact instructions on the CDE website.
     
  11. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,342
    Location:
    Everywhere
    My year update request is me trying not to seem too eager to get a Pyra, and allowing the proper amount of time before they can be produced and shipped.  

    Really, I wonder why I don't already have a Pyra in my pocket. 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 12, 2014
  12. myNewUsername

    myNewUsername Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Norway
    I have only just heard of CDE, but it looks interesting at least if its lightweight. Can you give me other pros and cons compared to gnome or xfce? Does it play nice with network manager and typical x11 programs?
     
  13. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,342
    Location:
    Everywhere
    CDE use proves you are a bad ass.
     
  14. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,847
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Network manager requires an implementation of the System Tray. Last time I used CDE, the System Tray protocol didn't exist, and I've not heard of an implementation of it for CDE since (not that I've been looking).
     
  15. myNewUsername

    myNewUsername Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Norway
    Well... I dont have to prove it so thats nothing =)

    Okay! I am not bad-ass enough to live without NM. will have a look at Window Maker instead
     
  16. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    NetworkManager will work fine. You just use sessionetc to start xfce-panel. That's what I do on my laptop!
     
  17. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,342
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Hmmm...I have a lot of doubt. :p  
     
  18. CFWhitman

    CFWhitman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Xfce was originally developed as a clone of CDE.  I've run CDE briefly on an experimental Solaris install (and it seems perhaps some other x86 Unix as well).  However, most of my familiarity with the interface comes from my early Xfce use (well, back then they wanted it written XFce if I recall correctly) along with a bit of OS/2, which was also reminiscent of CDE.  Of course now Xfce is not really much like CDE by default.  You might still be able to coax CDE like behavior with configuration settings, but I'm not sure.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2014
  19. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    I just prefer to use actual CDE, I've gotten so used to it.
     
  20. LEOXD

    LEOXD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just replace CDE by <whatever DE you're used to> and you have created a universal true argument. 


    GNOME 3 in my case.
     

Share This Page

Loading...