Release Albion

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by M-HT, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,556
    Sorry I assumed since this IS the Open Pandora forums you owned a Pandora.
     
  2. Lord_Kane

    Lord_Kane Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    no need to apologize as I am the dirty windows peasant here.
     
  3. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Bratislava
    All four games can be compiled using the released code, but I'm not planning on doing binary (Windows or Linux) releases.
    I only released Albion that way, because of the enhanced 3D graphics - something you can't get by emulating the original game.

    Not even Dune 2 ? That's not a difficult game. Warcraft 1 and Dune 2 are the only RTS games I finished (I'm not counting Dune 1).
    I'm currently struggling with Dune 2000 (I recently managed to finish 7th mission for Harkonnens). It's much more difficult than Dune 2 and I'm sure there are even more difficult RTS games (which I'm not planning to play).

    Do you think you would get official support (for Albion) from Blue Byte if they still existed ?

    Why a new thread ?
     
  4. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029
    Location:
    Italy
    Because i think this tools could apply to some other games ?
     
  5. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,039
    I'm a Dune addicted, but Dune 2000 sucked for me, seemed like just a re-skin of Red-Alert (also Atreides sonic tanks destroys the other sonic thanks around them -_-)

    Don't miss "Emperor: Battle for Dune", that's really a master piece. Near the end seems a bit incompleted, but just because it's full of things while you proceed, and it's also dynamic during the campaign, not only for where/who to attack but also to find new alliances... and you can also use worms to attack !! ...and many other cool things but i'll stop here :D
     
  6. Lord_Kane

    Lord_Kane Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    I am not a coder, but damn I was hoping for a dosbox alternative for Warcraft, but thats okay, its your project, but thank you for the Albion port as well :)
     
  7. vanfanel

    vanfanel Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    M-HT: So, if I understood well, resulting ARM executables will run on a Pi with SDL 1.x installed? No X11 deps?
    Any chance to update to SDL 2.0? SDL 1.x is legacy by now, time ago...
     
  8. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Bratislava
    There are no X11 dependencies.
    If you are using armhf, then that's currently not supported - I'll add support when I'll get my Pyra. (I think Warcraft doesn't use fpu at all, so that might work.)
    You need to add some code for input/output (see directories audio, display, input in games/???/SR-???/) and change the compilation script (games/???/SConstruct) - currently there's code for Pandora, PC and GP2X (hopefully still working).
    I added support for SDL2 to Albion some time ago (hopefully I didn't break it in the meantime) to see if it's better for something, but SDL1 is currently better. If you need SDL2, it shouldn't be difficult for you to add support for it to other games.
     
    _jr_ likes this.
  9. SagaraS

    SagaraS Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    That is fantastic. Very good job. :happy:

    Thanks
     
  10. IllidanS4

    IllidanS4 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Assuming I doubled the dimensions of every image in the game, could high-res 2D rendering too be made, like the 3D?
     
    Klumpen likes this.
  11. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Purely theoretically speaking yes, but practically not in this project as it is now. The hi-res 3D rendering is a kind of hack (99.99% working hack, but still a hack) - the game is working with the original resolution and displaying the hi-res rendering is done outside of game code.

    (Don't get your hopes up, but I'm planning on doing some more reverse engineering of Albion so such thing might be possible, but that's a long time from now and there's no guarantee of success.)
     
    _jr_ likes this.
  12. IllidanS4

    IllidanS4 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2017
    Klumpen likes this.
  13. AeonicB

    AeonicB Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    So, I'm running into a couple issues when trying to set up the game, on Windows, using the latest release.

    1) I can't use the provided SR-Main file to skip the intro. When I do, checking the stderr logs tells me I need to start the game from the ALBION directory. I'm starting it from the ALBION directory. The ALBION.CMD file works just fine, though.

    2) I can't seem to change the settings in Albion.cfg. I asked it to do 1440x960 at full screen, but it still boots up at 720x480 in windowed mode.
     
  14. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,556
    @AeonicB , this Forum thread is specifically for the Open Pandora Linux Handheld port done by MH-T are you using his github sources on Windows? If not, I'd suggest contacting the person who did the Windows port. If so, it may be hard coded to a specific resolution as 800x480 is the screen resolution of the Pandora.
     
  15. IllidanS4

    IllidanS4 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    7
  16. AeonicB

    AeonicB Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Yeah, I'm using SagaraS's binaries, which are posted to the same thread. Sorry about that.
     
  17. shaddim

    shaddim Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    196
  18. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Bratislava
    I also released binaries for Windows and Linux (links to them are also in this thread - post #115), but I'm confused whether @AeonicB is using my binaries or not.
     
  19. AeonicB

    AeonicB Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry, they were yours, @MH-T. I was in a rush earlier, and picked the wrong name off the sidebar.

    Look, it's fine. I'll just go with the straight GOG version. Sorry I posted in the wrong spot.
     
  20. SagaraS

    SagaraS Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I have made for it a separate 7z file which includes the SourcePort from M-HT and a launcher written by me + some SoundFonts and Bassmidi.
    And it also includes FFPlay. This allows the videos to be played in full-screen and does not need to use the SDL player.

    The Lauchner makes configuring the CFG file easier.

    Also you can choose the language so freely and still have all versions on it.

    And also the demo can be activated as a feature.

    It therefore supports M-HT's source port for during configuration.

    So:
    SourcePort was created by M-HT
    Launcher was created by me for the version of windows.

    The two things complement each other. ^^
     

Share This Page

Loading...