Release Albion

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by M-HT, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,008
    I like fixes :)
     
  2. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,648
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Am I the only one who gets an error message from extracting the Linux package?
    Can't remember it doing this before so maybe it's my archiver.
     
  3. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Bratislava
    I downloaded and extracted it sucessfuly, so either it's your archiver or a corrupted download.
     
  4. RedTail

    RedTail Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, i have a little problem
    i installed the newest windows version of your albion patch. When i play in window mode i see two cursers. the ingame and the window cursor. in fullscreen i only have the ingame cursor.
    is there a way to hide/remove the window curser when i play in window mode?
     
  5. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Bratislava
    No, that's the way I intended it to work.
     
  6. RedTail

    RedTail Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    oh that's sad, the second cursor is really irritating
     
  7. SagaraS

    SagaraS Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I have found bug of the port version for windows.

    - missig german keyboard layout for umlauts (ö, ä, ü, ß). This is very importend for the input-words in the game.
    Please make it so:

    Example:
    albion.cfg ->

    ...
    # use keyboard layout (german, english, french)
    lang=german
    ...

    german, english and french are the officially languages of the game. please fix it. thx.


    - i can not create a screenshot. Not key combination of the keyboard works.

    I hope you can fix it.
     
  8. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Bratislava
    I might take a look at this, but I'm not promising anything.
    You need to activate cheat mode and then Alt+F4 should take a screenshot.
    To activate cheat mode, go to the menu, select Options and type schnosm in the Options menu - your screen will flash white one time.
     
    _jr_ likes this.
  9. SagaraS

    SagaraS Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Ok, this works.
    It's possible without cheat mode? Because a screenshot is not a cheat. xD

    Please, that game is very cool. But not correct playable in german and french, because of the keyboard layout from your source port version.

    That would very cool, when this works. ^^
     
  10. vanfanel

    vanfanel Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    @M-HT: This port looks awesome, and I am a BIG fan of Amberstar/Ambermoon on the Amiga, so I'd love to play Albion, which if Im not mistaken was done my ex-Thalion members!
    Could you *please* build for Linux/Raspberry Pi? Since you already have a Linux version it shouldn't be hard...
     
  11. M[u]ddy

    M[u]ddy Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    The umlauts used to work on an older version. Can't say with which version they stopped working though, because the older version are not available anymore.
     
  12. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,648
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    I'd be willing to make a second donation to fix this.
    Got another playthrough up high on my backlog and want to play it in the original language (German) again.

    Help me M-HT, you're my last hope!
     
  13. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Bratislava
    I find this hard to believe, because I didn't implement it.

    I'm preparing a new version and this is one of the things I'm working on.
     
    Klumpen likes this.
  14. M[u]ddy

    M[u]ddy Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    I'm pretty sure, because I played through the whole game, but maybe I just never needed the umlauts.
    I also noticed, that the current Windows version doesn't detect the keyboard layout correctly. Instead of the QWERTZ layout, it uses the QWERTY layout, which has no umlauts. The Linux version uses the correct layout and the umlaut buttons just don't do anything. Maybe you could use the setup.ini to tell SDL which layout to use.
     
  15. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Hi,

    I updated Albion to version 1.6.0

    Download it here:
    Repo

    Changes:
    * rework keyboard input for ASCII characters
    * add keyboard input for language specific characters
    (works with English, French, German and Czech versions of Albion)
    (letter composing works only with standard SDL and not alternative SDL by notaz)
    * MIDI playback using ALSA sequencer
    * minor bug fixes

    I also updated the Linux and Windows versions.
    Changes:
    Windows version:
    * rework keyboard input for ASCII characters
    * fix numlock handling when Albion is started with numlock enabled
    * add keyboard input for language specific characters
    (works with English, French, German and Czech versions of Albion)
    * add option to select the shape of SDL mouse cursor in window mode
    (normal cursor, minimal cursor or no cursor)
    * minor bug fixes

    Linux version:
    * rework keyboard input for ASCII characters
    * add keyboard input for language specific characters
    (works with English, French, German and Czech versions of Albion)
    * MIDI playback using ALSA sequencer
    (ALSA sequencer can use hardware or software synth - like Fluidsynth or TiMidity++)
    * add option to select the shape of SDL mouse cursor in window mode
    (normal cursor, minimal cursor or no cursor)
    * minor bug fixes

    Note: I experienced some crashes when using ALSA sequencer for MIDI playback, so save often.

    I've put the source code of the whole project (all 4 games) on GitHub.
     
    Farox, PowerGod, M[u]ddy and 4 others like this.
  16. Lord_Kane

    Lord_Kane Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Wait, you are going to support Warcraft I eventually? HOLY. I ALWAYS WANTED A NON DOSBOX WAY TO PLAY THAT.
     
  17. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,521
  18. Lord_Kane

    Lord_Kane Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
  19. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,648
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    We've got that for years now.
    Welcome to this community.

    BTW: Warcraft 1 is awesome and the only RTS I've ever finished (even with both factions).

    @M-HT: Thank you again for still supporting Albion, it's a shame that Blue Byte got eaten by Ubisoft and we can forget about official support these days - which makes your port more than one could ask for.
     
  20. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,027
    Location:
    Italy
    First thank's a lot for releasing your work and congratulation for create such a great tools, second you should consider open a new thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...