Release Yabause

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ari64, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. cddiede

    cddiede Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Just a quick THANK YOU to Ari64 from those of us on the Maemo based Nokia N900 device who are all benefiting from his hard work and are happily able to run this Saturn emulator on our phones!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 29, 2011
  2. lifning

    lifning Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    I can confirm that NiGHTS gets in-game with this version (at slideshow-speed, of course) without a BIOS dump. :) Excellent work!
     
  3. onthebridge

    onthebridge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    After 2 years a new version of Yabause has emerged. It has a dinarec, a cocoa port, a new build system and lots of other cool stuff.


    You can download it from here
     
  4. TheGrandPubaa

    TheGrandPubaa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Ooh, intriguing. I wonder if it's too much to hope that this could mean some better playability on the Pandora?
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,255
    Location:
    Workington, Cumbria, UK
    Anyone tell me where the bios have to go, there is only one: .wh..wh.orph folder within the yabause folder..?


    Thanks.


    EDIT:


    I also have the same issue as Klaus mentions, namely a white box in the upper left hand corner of the screen that can't be removed without rebooting.. any help (with both issues) would be appreciated
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2011
  6. sukhi2011

    sukhi2011 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Birmingham
    I just tried resident evil and it works,cut scene are slow and gameplay too.
     
  7. sukhi2011

    sukhi2011 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Birmingham
    I can't get Nights into dreams to work without bios emulator,i'm using but it still the same as bios emulator.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2011
  8. scorpio16v

    scorpio16v Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    The two posted versions in this thread are deleted on the filehoster's website.


    Is it possible to reupload the latest one ?
     
  9. Mygames19

    Mygames19 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Here's r2660!


    Just a slight warning... This is on my Dropbox, which means bandwidth is low, so if someone else could find a better place to host, that'd be great. :)
     
  10. schrotflinte56

    schrotflinte56 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Germany
  11. kamui_kun

    kamui_kun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    France
    Sorry to bump this old thread, but I've just checked the sources of the new Yabause (0.9.11.1) : http://sourceforge.net/projects/yabause/files/yabause/0.9.11/yabause-0.9.11.1.tar.gz/download


    And found that it has now a dynarec, and it's arm optimised ! I'm pretty sure this should give a major speed boost compared to the old version...


    And with the upcoming new 1 GHZ + Pandoras, Saturn emulation might become possible, at least for the 2D games ;)


    So, I hope someone will try to compile this new version, I would have done it myself if there was a virtual box image ready SDK (I'm on windows...), but it doesnt seems to exist -.-
     
  12. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,913
    Location:
    Lithuania
    The first post of this very thread is introducing that "new" dynarec you are talking about..
     
  13. kamui_kun

    kamui_kun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    France
    Oops :p


    Well I saw in the changelog in the sources this :


    0.9.10 -> 0.9.11


    - Added a dynamic recompiling SH2 core for x86 and ARM


    The first post was posted the 23 July 2011, and the latest version of Yabause is from 12/2011, so I though it was newer... Strange -.-


    Sorry about that T.T
     
  14. Foxgod

    Foxgod Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    971
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Tnx for the hard work, i will give this a try, saturn got so many awesome rpg's.


    Too bad that saturn is so hard to emulate compared to psx, but Yabause looks very promising.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2012
  15. crosspoint

    crosspoint Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Where can i find the pnd? All links are dead...


    Perhaps someone can upload it to the repo...?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2012
  16. kamui_kun

    kamui_kun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    France
    That would be great if someone could try to compile the latest SVN from here : http://sourceforge.net/projects/yabause/develop


    The project seems to be very active, I don't know if there are any major changes from the old build though.
     
  17. mamemaniac

    mamemaniac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Yabause mantainer is Ari64 but he seems no longer visit Openpandora boards, imho there are few chances of a Yabause PND update at the moment.
     
  18. kamui_kun

    kamui_kun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    France
    Then I hope someone else will pick up the project, I suppose the old PND was a simple port (judging by the low FPS, I don't suppose any optimisation was made specifically for the Pandora), so anyone can make a new port from the latest SVN now...
     
  19. Exophase

    Exophase Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,308
    Location:
    Cleveland OH
    Ari64 did the SH2 to ARM dynarec for this version, making it far more than a simple port. I know you didn't mean anything bad by your comment, but I figured you should know you're giving him way too little credit. Without anything to compare it with, you can't use something's performance to try to determine how well it has been optimized. Some things are just never going to be fast enough..


    This is unfortunately a common misunderstanding people make.. that leads them to look at quick ports and believe that some good optimization will make it fast enough. When it comes to emulators decent performance can depend on the design of the entire thing, not just applying some optimizations after the fact. Just the same, Ari64 did only target the CPU performance and not the GPU performance, so it's possible you could still make it a lot faster with some carefully thought out NEON optimized VDP1 and VDP2 renderers.. but good luck getting someone to do that..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2012
  20. PokeParadox

    PokeParadox Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,512
    Location:
    UK
    Go on Exo, you know you want to! ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...