Wikipedia Article Update

Sammi

Still Fresh
There're have been quite a lot of good updates of late, but the Wikipedia article has been severely neglected IMHO. So I took it upon me to show it some love and update it. But I'm a Wikipedia noob and a non-native English speaker, so I was hoping that other people might look it over too: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pandora_(console)

Show Wikipedia some love :wub:

The Wikipedia article is still broadly correct, and every time somebody tries to expand it, the nazipedians come and delete the additions for lack of "proper sources". They continue to insist that forum and dev blog posts are not legitimate sources, even though it is the people creating the device that are making those posts.

Once the Pandora is shipping and there are reviews on third party sites then we can add more info with references.

I just don't see how a the information is only valid if it gets carried through a "third party."

I think we should stop referring to the blog and forum posts as "posts" and instead call them press releases or simply transcribed quotes.

The links go back to a forum, and by wikipedia standards, that makes them unreliable as sources.

Call it something other than a forum. Let's rename it as an "information delivery system" or something.

If the stupid editors would just open their eyes, they would realize that their policies clearly aren't universal.

Chip said:
The links go back to a forum, and by wikipedia standards, that makes them unreliable as sources.
The community blog might work then? maybe move some of the "unofficial" of it to a less prominent place on the page ;) Small chance if links to dev posts are not good enough... But you could try though

Last edited by a moderator:
I wish. I wonder if there is some way to make the blog conform more to Wikipedia's standards. The only source of information about the Pandora that I know of that isn't a blog or forum is openpandora.ca, which only has the specs.