Update VICE 3.2 SDL1 and SDL2


ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,661
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
I had done some hack in SDL2 lately (for vcmi), so it may help here too. Also, did you try with LIBGL_STREAM=1 ? (or maybe you use it already, I haven't checked).
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

canseco

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
885
Location
Spain
I had done some hack in SDL2 lately (for vcmi), so it may help here too. Also, did you try with LIBGL_STREAM=1 ? (or maybe you use it already, I haven't checked).
Updated SDL2 and gl4es today, it seems i missed some updates.
I was already using LIBGL_BATCH, but tried the one you mention and i didn't notice any difference.

Need to do more test, but it seems more smooth than before.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,661
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
The LIBGL_STREAM=1 will only helps for RGB5 texture (created as empty texture). If VICE create its backbuffer as RGB565, then the lib will (hopefully) create the texture as Stream texture (in that case, you'll see on the console something about a "Butterfly test " something created, with the size of the texture.
 

canseco

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
885
Location
Spain
Tried something different, and changed LIBGL_FB=1 to LIBGL_FB=2, now it works 99%-100%, no more drops to 89% !!

Will upload next version as soon as possible, ;)
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,661
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
Really? that's strange. What LIBGL_FB=2 is create an FBO as main context, then, when glXSwapBuffer(...) occurs, blit the texture binded to the FBO to the main framebuffer (the same as with LIBGL_FB=1). Surprising that it's faster despite the additionnal blit of FBO->FB (unless there are some glReadPixels(...) involved, where then the FBO may be a bit faster).
 

rSl

i'm not tired. you're tired.
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
942
Location
homecomputer
thanks again, canseco and ptitseb!

latest sdl1 version runs nice as always, but when starting 3.2.0.1 sdl2 i get an stretched, orangeish colored screen. i had the same when trying 3.1.0.1 sdl2 and fixed it by updating the sgx driver to 4.03.00.02/1.6.16.3977 i think.
im on an 1ghz-rebirth, what sgx driver is the right one for me?
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,661
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
On gigahertz, the 4.10 is very good, but lack X11 support (not important for most PND now). 4.03 is the second best I think (and is the default driver for gigahertz model for some time now).
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

canseco

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
885
Location
Spain
Forget to say that i did the test with 4.10 SGX drivers.

On a side note, just arrived from Explora Commodore 4 event, too tired but very happy, ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

rSl

i'm not tired. you're tired.
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
942
Location
homecomputer
Forget to say that i did the test with 4.10 SGX drivers.

On a side note, just arrived from Explora Commodore 4 event, too tired but very happy, ;)
thanks a lot!
c64 oldskool happiness all over the planet!
 

Eight Bit

Hardcore Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2008
Messages
1,809
Age
45
Location
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Website
Visit site
Vice 3.2 SDL2 starts a black screen for me, I'm using a GHz Pandora and 4.10 driver.
SDL1 works great though :)

Here's part of the .out file I thought can be relevant.

LIBGL: FPE Fragment shader compile failed: Compile failed.
ERROR: 0:7: 'samplerStream' : undeclared identifier
ERROR: 0:7: '_gl4es_TexSampler_0' : syntax error;
ERROR: 0:10: 'textureStream' : no matching overloaded function found
ERROR: 0:10: 'assign' : cannot convert from 'float' to '4-component vector of float'
ERROR: 4 compilation errors. No code generated.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,661
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
Looks like Texture streaming support on GLES2 backend is not functionnal. I'll fix that.
[doublepost=1527428293,1527424953][/doublepost]
Vice 3.2 SDL2 starts a black screen for me, I'm using a GHz Pandora and 4.10 driver.
SDL1 works great though :)

Here's part of the .out file I thought can be relevant.

LIBGL: FPE Fragment shader compile failed: Compile failed.
ERROR: 0:7: 'samplerStream' : undeclared identifier
ERROR: 0:7: '_gl4es_TexSampler_0' : syntax error;
ERROR: 0:10: 'textureStream' : no matching overloaded function found
ERROR: 0:10: 'assign' : cannot convert from 'float' to '4-component vector of float'
ERROR: 4 compilation errors. No code generated.
I don't reproduce your issue. I guess you have some custom settings somewhere, because I have no Streaming Texture with default one (so I cannot reliably test a fix)

Nevermind: I can reproduce using SDLPoP and LIBGL_STREAM=2 to force using Streaming Texture.
 
Last edited:

rSl

i'm not tired. you're tired.
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
942
Location
homecomputer
i think i had to nuke my appdata folder too to get it going here.
vice 3.2.0.1-sdl2 runs supersmooth, even the last now and then occuring "wandering line from button to top" is gone. so perfect sync now, woohoo! :)
when i switch to fastsid, even the uncensored demo i used to test, runs buttersmooth. awesome!

the only thing still a bit off: i get a single, static, "staircase line" from left to right in the middle of the screen when lots of gfx scrolls around horizontally, but with more static images its not noticeable at all.
 

canseco

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
885
Location
Spain
Changelog

3.2.0.2
- Changed LIBGL_STREAM=1 to LIBGL_STREAM=2.
- Updated lib gl4es to 1.0.8.

Can't reproduce the bug, but hope this helps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

gunrock

Very Active Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
549
Hi Canseco,

I have used this yesterday, got my Jiffy dos setup but I can't get the ':' key to work. Obviously I checked that it works in a terminal window...

Thanks for your efforts on this BTW.
 
Top