The Cradle

Godmil

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
578
Website
www.godmil.com
I got my Cradle the other day, and so far I've been unable to get it to do anything.
Power goes to the cradle (a red LED appear on it when the gp2x (mk2) is turned on.
I dont have an external power source for either.
I've tried a mini keyboard, mouse, joypad, and usb stick, without any success. They all have LED's on them (except for the mouse which I've just been looking at the laser) which fail to light up at any time.
I did actually get the lights on for the keyboard when I partially removed the usb connector from the cradle then put it back again. however the LED's dont respond to their keys (when I hit Caps Lock the light doesn't go out). Should Keyboards be able to do this on their own, or do they need software to control the LEDs.
Even with some power getting to the Keyboard I was unable to get it to do any inputs (tried it in Quake).

So my question for everyone out their with working Cradles is... how do you test that something is working... will the mouse laser only light up when the correct program is loaded (scummVM doesn't do it). Which programs have people used to test things?
Advice would be appreciated. - in the mean time I'm going to try to find an external power supply to see if that makes a difference.
 

Nickmon

Member
Joined
May 8, 2003
Messages
465
Age
51
Location
BexleyHeath, Kent. UK
Website
Visit site
Godmil said:
I got my Cradle the other day, and so far I've been unable to get it to do anything.
Power goes to the cradle (a red LED appear on it when the gp2x (mk2) is turned on.
I dont have an external power source for either.
I've tried a mini keyboard, mouse, joypad, and usb stick, without any success. They all have LED's on them (except for the mouse which I've just been looking at the laser) which fail to light up at any time.
I did actually get the lights on for the keyboard when I partially removed the usb connector from the cradle then put it back again. however the LED's dont respond to their keys (when I hit Caps Lock the light doesn't go out). Should Keyboards be able to do this on their own, or do they need software to control the LEDs.
Even with some power getting to the Keyboard I was unable to get it to do any inputs (tried it in Quake).

So my question for everyone out their with working Cradles is... how do you test that something is working... will the mouse laser only light up when the correct program is loaded (scummVM doesn't do it). Which programs have people used to test things?
Advice would be appreciated. - in the mean time I'm going to try to find an external power supply to see if that makes a difference.
I have Hard disk, usb pen and Game pad all working (not tried Keyboard and mouse yet).

I had to power my cradle for this to work.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DBH

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
538
Age
35
Location
London, England
Website
nicholas.piresonline.com
I just got my keysonic nano keyboard and mini usb hub (its the size of the battery cover!!! that small) and my dinky mouse ... this is looking so bloody cool now. I just need to get an adapter to convert my DC adapters jack to the 3.5mm the cradle uses and then I will have my mini gp2x computer with full keyboard and mouse working. This keyboard is so cool!! google Keysonic 3400U if you haven't seen it. It is perfect for the GP2X! My next step once I get my host cable is to make my GP2X wifi enabled and mobile theres a nice 45g 2200mAh Li-ion battery stick on ebay that is perfect for this.
 

Miika

Only Amiga makes it possible
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
664
Age
30
Website
Visit site
DBH said:
I just got my keysonic nano keyboard and mini usb hub (its the size of the battery cover!!! that small) and my dinky mouse ... this is looking so bloody cool now. I just need to get an adapter to convert my DC adapters jack to the 3.5mm the cradle uses and then I will have my mini gp2x computer with full keyboard and mouse working. This keyboard is so cool!! google Keysonic 3400U if you haven't seen it. It is perfect for the GP2X! My next step once I get my host cable is to make my GP2X wifi enabled and mobile theres a nice 45g 2200mAh Li-ion battery stick on ebay that is perfect for this.
Umm yeah it's small but hell not as small as the battery cover... Where did you buy it?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mater79

Still Fresh
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
8
Hello !
I'm new on this board, and i'm french ; so please excuse my mistakes !!
It seems that i'm the only on french board to have bought a cradle, so i've a question i don't find answer on the web : i've to put a power supply on the cradle to plug my 2 HDD (160G and 200G) because my GP2X MK2 don't recognize them yet. I've an universal adaptator but i don't know where's the positive on the jack : is it on the center ?
Thank you to be clear !
 

Godmil

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
578
Website
www.godmil.com
^^ I need to know the exact same thing. I hope someone can answer, it's too tempting having the cradle and powersupply right here and not knowing how to plug them in.
 

Series-8

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
299
I just got the cradle. It sucks.

Flawed, Flawed, Flawed. :( :eek:

The EXT (bottom one) cover Blocks the connector from actually working. So out of the box, it does not work.

The power requirements, don't list polarity of the MISSING adapter.

So pretty much on par for GPH. Goodness forbid these jokers ever get their act together.

IMHO, Unless you love MAME on TV or something, and need extra USB Joypad/HD/Ect... get a cable or something.

This is NOT worth $49. Mabey $4.9

Really there are $5 Hubs made better than this.
 
T

TelcoLou

Guest
Series-8 said:
I just got the cradle. It sucks.

Flawed, Flawed, Flawed. :( :eek:

The EXT (bottom one) cover Blocks the connector from actually working. So out of the box, it does not work.

The power requirements, don't list polarity of the MISSING adapter.

So pretty much on par for GPH. Goodness forbid these jokers ever get their act together.

IMHO, Unless you love MAME on TV or something, and need extra USB Joypad/HD/Ect... get a cable or something.

This is NOT worth $49. Mabey $4.9

Really there are $5 Hubs made better than this.
My Dev BOB/Crucible combo works just fine ... isn't it a shame; we STILL haven't gotten a straight answer about the AC adapter requirements .. I genuinely wanted to get one of these to keep in my desk drawer at work.

:(/10
 
Last edited by a moderator:

retro-haven

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
27
mater79 said:
Hello !
I'm new on this board, and i'm french ; so please excuse my mistakes !!
It seems that i'm the only on french board to have bought a cradle, so i've a question i don't find answer on the web : i've to put a power supply on the cradle to plug my 2 HDD (160G and 200G) because my GP2X MK2 don't recognize them yet. I've an universal adaptator but i don't know where's the positive on the jack : is it on the center ?
Thank you to be clear !
Re: The HD's. Make sure they are formatted to FAT32 as the GP2x does not recognise NTFS.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mater79

Still Fresh
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
8
I'm sure they're formatted to FAT32 since i use Linux on my laptop. The cradle's notice says that i "MUST use ... AC adapter ... in order to use external hard disk devices". That's why i want to know the polarity i have to use.
 

Godmil

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
578
Website
www.godmil.com
This is getting painful. I keep checking the boards every 30 mins... someone *must* know what polarity the powersupply must be :(

Or have I got it wrong, is it simply a case of trying it out and seeing what works? I'm just paranoid I'm going to fry the circuits.
 

mater79

Still Fresh
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
8
I've fried my first GP2X testing an adapter polarity, that's why i won't test on the cradle !!
 

Godmil

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
578
Website
www.godmil.com
On another thread Neil wrote this: "I can confirm that the bare circuit board BOB uses a centre negative connection, but it is rated 1A @ 3.3V"
I'll give it a go tonight and post if it works.
 

Series-8

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
299
Someome will have to dismantle the cradle, and trace the connection from the adaptor plug TO a USB port...

Thats the more reliable method than waiting for GPH to do anything.

It is a complete mystery to me why they could botch the cradle like this, considering how much time they had to perfect it.

Frankly I don't see why a simple cable + modified HUB + A/V was not made in a few months...
 

Godmil

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
578
Website
www.godmil.com
Ha! In a weird twist of fate, I accidently just plugged a powersupply into my gp2x with the wrong polarity and fried it!

:.(

oh well, guess I'll just have to buy another one, and the cradle will have to wait.
 

Squidge

Certified Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
8,495
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
Godmil said:
Ha! In a weird twist of fate, I accidently just plugged a powersupply into my gp2x with the wrong polarity and fried it!

:.(

oh well, guess I'll just have to buy another one, and the cradle will have to wait.
A reverse polarity fried GP2X is easy enough to fix - check the Wiki and buy yourself a soldering iron if you don't have one already.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mater79

Still Fresh
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
8
Where exactly can i find it ?? Because i've fried my first GP2X some month ago.
Godmil > Have you tried the adapter on the cradle ?
I'm sorry for your GP2X !!
 
Top