Some Good Prices On 16gb Sdhc Cards For Your Pandora

Thanks prometheus :D I was worried about their reliability.

Judging by this http://www.hjreggel.net/cardspeed/speed-by-cards-sdc.html
it seems that the read speed is around 20mbs for both class 4 and 6 cards, is that right?
Will certain application on the pandora be using sd cards as ram? You know, like how xp uses hard drives for page files? Or is the extra write speed only going to be worth shelling out for if you're impatient when transferring files as wizardstan says?
It's almost twice the price for a slight jump in write speed that I'm not sure if I'm ever going to need.

clippa said:
Which is your preferred brand? I'm totally new to SD cards :D
In my limited experience, pretty much any "name" brand is fine but you should avoid buying on eBay as fakes are rife.

Last edited by a moderator:
craigix said:
Isn't SDHC good for 2TB?
Looks like we're both right.

From Wikipedia:
Similarly to the above, as of version 2.00 of the specification,[13] the capacity of an SDHC card is limited to 32 GB. However, while not strictly adhering to that standard, it is in principle possible to create SDHC-like cards of up to 2048 GB capacity. SDHC cards have fixed sector size of 512 bytes.

You get what you pay for. Cheap cards are slow no matter what "class" they claim to be. I have three 16GB cards (one Transcend and two Adata) that all claim to be class 6, but none of them read or write more than 4.5MB/s.

@clippa - No problem. :) For what it's worth, I've never measured the read or write speeds on the Play.com cards (I've not had any reason to), but they always appear to perform as well as my Kingston ones (7DayShop, carries Class 4 Kingston cards also, but whilst they were about the same price as Play.com's cards a few weeks ago, now they're £25 or so).

I don't know if any Pandora software will be using SD Cards as swap space, though. :p

Chip said: