Update Retrobattle

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by Magic Sam, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    @Wally : thanks for your help :)

    Actually, I just had to add the following lines to my run script:

    Code:
    if [ ! -d /mnt/utmp/retrobattle-magicsam/.config/retrobattle ] ; then
    mkdir .config/retrobattle
    fi
    
    And it worked ! I'd rather leave the GID untouched btw ;)

    Cheers, Magic Sam
    --- Double Post Merged, May 16, 2016, Original Post Date: May 16, 2016 ---
    Hi again !

    Hi-score @ ~23k points (level 7, skill 2) :) What about you guys ?

    EDIT: new hi-score @ ~34k !

    Some freezes here and there though, I'll have to investigate...

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
  2. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,028
    Location:
    Italy
    Oh NO! now i must find some other game to port :p;)
    Congrats for the new pnd...i must try this new release...definately one the most fun game available on Pandora (IMHO).
     
  3. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Ciao @Farox !
    Go back to your demo porting effort, pigro ;) :p
    Please let me know what you think about that new PND, OK ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  4. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    New hi-score @ ~45k points :D

    EDIT: the game freezes sometimes, often at the very beginning of a new level... I still need to find out why (I'll recompile it with the -g flag).

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2016
  5. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    New known bug: a white blinking dot may appear in the level sometimes. It'll stay on screen, even after a "game over". You'll have to exit the application in order to get rid of it.

    @Farox : did you have some time to test that new version ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  6. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    I have just pushed build #3 to the repo.

    Grab it there while it's still hot !

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  7. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,028
    Location:
    Italy
    Sorry Sam i didn't have time to test it...until now :)
    Played a bit with it..and all is working good (at least until at level 6).
     
  8. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    @Farox : thanks for giving it a try ! Please report here any bug you may find. Also, could you reproduce the bugs I have on my end (freezes + blinking white dot) ?

    Finally, what should we do about the older version on the Repo ? At the moment it is disabled. Should it be re-enabled, remain disabled, or deleted ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  9. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,028
    Location:
    Italy
    no freezes or white dot (at least i have not noted ) on my part.
    Since your last version is better delete the older one i think.
     
  10. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    @Farox : thanks for your input, it's really appreciated :) Please note that these issues happen randomly and are quite rare, at least on my end. It could take some time for you to notice them...

    New hi-score btw @ ~54k points, stage 11, skill 3 :D

    What about you ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  11. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    I have found a new "bug" (it's more a glitch): some pieces of the level seem to be drawn in places where they shouldn't be. I noticed it twice, every time in the upper left corner.

    I'm starting to think the way I use @notaz ' improved SDL to get the game into fullscreen mode could be wrong...

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  12. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    A new build is on the Repo here !
    @Farox : I also removed the older (2012) version (3 out of 5 stars based on 4 votes, 239 downloads) from the Repo. The comments are below, for historical purposes:


    EDIT: new hiscore @ 57820 points :D

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2016
  13. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,028
    Location:
    Italy
    It's ok that you removed my old package...but this new version is no more fullscreen...and all is tiny.
     
  14. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi @Farox :)
    It's actually a kind of test to see if SDL_OMAP_LAYER_SIZE = "fullscreen" was responsible for the bugs I experienced on my end. If this new version still freezes / glitches, then the culprit has to be found somewhere else, and I'll revert to the previous settings.

    The author (Andreas Remar) is aware of those bugs, and I'm waiting for his reply.

    EDIT: @Farox : I'm really sorry for the inconvenience, I'll try to find a better solution ASAP !

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2016
    Farox likes this.
  15. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    This new version still glitches, so I think it's safe to assume SDL_OMAP_LAYER_SIZE is not responsible for those bugs.

    I'll revert to the previous settings ASAP.

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  16. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    I've uploaded a new version to the Repo !
    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2016
  17. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all !

    New hi-score: 59480 points :D

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  18. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    Build #6 is now on the Repo !
    Hiscores are there !

    Many thanks to @Ziz and @skeezix for their help :)

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    levi likes this.
  19. atari_afternoon

    atari_afternoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks for porting this to Pandora :) played it last night a bit, no problems here (Classic Pandora, all latest software).
    I wanted to post here that i was unabvle to see my C4A "achievement" but haha it is there, all went fine :)
     
  20. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all !

    @atari_afternoon : thanks for the kind words, it's REALLY appreciated :D

    A new release (build #7) is available on the Repo.
    EDIT: this game doesn't need caching as hiscores are stored locally in .config/retrobattle/topscore. In order to prevent the same hiscore to be submitted again and again, I'm now using --test-me instead.

    EDIT 2: many thanks to @skeezix who removed all the double entries from the hiscores table, and to @milkshake who added some Retrobattle artwork to the C4A website :)

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2016
    atari_afternoon and edgex004 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...