Public Announcement From The Official Web

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by codeninja, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. LordDavon

    LordDavon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    More information:

    The 11/28 Firmware update does not have LCD corrections, but the 11/12 Firmware did (for some issues). 11/28 Firmware has other corrections that will help speed the repair process. The 11/28 firmware should include the fixes the 11/12 firmware holds, so there is no need to apply the 11/12 firmware before applying the 11/28 firmware. GPH does request that the 11/28 firmware is applied before sending the unit back in.

    Dynamism customers should not have preorder units, but if you are a Dynamism customer and your unit has these issues, please contact Dynamism to get a free FedEx mailer to ship the unit to Dynamism and they will handle the repair process for their customers. If you are unsure of the firmware update process, they will handle that at the US location before shipping overseas. Please let them know if you have applied the firmware when requesting the mailer.


    David
     
  2. Lazrhog

    Lazrhog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Awwww man :huh: , how does this recall affect the orders currently being delivered by GBAX (Craig). Am I going to get a delivery only for it to have to be sent back again or are all the newish ones with a replaced screen ?
     
  3. LordDavon

    LordDavon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    I am sure Craig is testing the units before shipping like Dynamism is doing. I think it is safer to order a unit now since resellers know what to test for. I would think your order is safe, but I suggest calling or emailing your reseller if you have questions.

    David
     
  4. Metal-Geo

    Metal-Geo Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Dutchland. :D
    So the scanlines are updatable by firmware. That's good. Cause that's the only problem I'm having.
     
  5. Series-8

    Series-8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    299
    Was the GP32 release this shaky?

    recalls, lots of hardware glitches, crud for firmware?

    It would be a shame to see this promising system crash and burn before it ever had the chance to really take off.
     
  6. Drak

    Drak fff

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Canada!
    Damn Greedy...
     
  7. aQwaBlaz3

    aQwaBlaz3 The Future is Open.™

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    United States
    I just got my mine today and thankfully have no problems with the screen.
     
  8. LordDavon

    LordDavon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    108

    Not really anything I haven't seen before. The Sharp Zaurus C700 was a mess (processor features disabled, crashing OS, bad screens, dust issues, etc...). With Sharp, they were able to fix some things with OS updates. Others were fixed by fixing by correcting fabrication problems with their vendors. Other were fixed by user hacks. All-in-all, the C700 was a success. They sold thousands (it was the hottest selling PDA in Japan) and there are still many in use today. Newer models of the Zaurus still have issues, but not nearly the number as the C700.

    It is good to see that GPH is allowing these preorder models to be recalled considering this is going to cost them quite a bit to do. At least they aren't ignoring the issues and are being resposible. Since they are saying that these issue exist mostly in the preorder models, it seems they have already corrected the issues in the retail models. The GP2X has only been out for 2 weeks and I am sure there aren't that many of these out on the market. They could ignore the issue like many companies and since they aren't, I am glad I help support their system.

    David
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  9. martin_F

    martin_F Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Not quite sure I get this, is not everything before the official release in January a "Preorder" ?

    I just ordered from gbax yesterday. I live in Australia. If I end up having to send the unit back, that will be a bummer, although I am sure the guys and gals at gbax are doing everything they can to prevent such circumstances from arrising.

    Until it arrives, I shall stay positive though.

    Martin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  10. LordDavon

    LordDavon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    It is my understanding that these are units used to fill the preorders. The GP2X was released to the public in the middle of November.

    As for your GBAX order, they are most likely testing the units before shipping. It is not like they are new at this and I have only heard good things about them. I would feel confident that your order is OK.

    David
     
  11. TJFBryant

    TJFBryant Island Man with Pandora in my pocket

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    535
    Remember everyone this is ONLY the pre-release shipments people are receiveing it is not the official release. Understand that if you order one NOW... you have a chance of receiving the Gp2x with at least 1 small bug.

    I received my first edition with only 2 problems...flicking of the screen in the Menu section (Without using high cap rechargable batteries) AND a small white vertical bar on the left side of the screen. I enjoy my gp2x, the flicking is just a battery issue for me, and the white line I will fix with a more stable updated version of the firmware.

    And for those who asked...the Gp32...did indeed have bugs during the official launch.
    Again though, The official launch for the gp2x is Jan 2006. Please be aware of this when ordering.

    On the other hand, I have full confidence in GPH and this system. SO... if you don't mind a little tinkering before you play... by all means...buy it!
     
  12. Iorgy77

    Iorgy77 emu parasite kid

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,068
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    A fair point... but this wasn't explained at the beginning of September when the first orders were made... My 21st of September ordered gp2x isn’t here yet, I chose airmail so it is taking a little longer to arrive. I really hope there are no issues with it because postage back to the UK is going to be a hassle and expense I could do without.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  13. elecdrum

    elecdrum Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Finally got the new firmware on only to find that mp3 flicker is if anything worse ! it seems to shake the whole picture then crashes. Only OK at low volumes (very low).
    Same thing seems to happen in games if there are any loud bangs.
    I'll maybe have to blow kisses at the monsters in quake and hope they don't fire back.
     
  14. bmilleker

    bmilleker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Regina, Sask, Canada!
    Any report of the orders from GP32z.com having these problems? I mean they will have problems, but the LCD problems that will need to be recalled?
     
  15. supaimposter

    supaimposter Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    I got one of the first batch GP2X's ,there were a few bugs to start off with but now with the firmware upgrade EVERYTHING seems to be just about spot on.
    White line has gone , no screen flicker , movies play well and games seem good all in all i very very happy with my GP2X.
    As for upgrading firmware very easy indeed i used my gizmondo demo sd card just deleted evrything that was on it then drag and droped the firmware files on the gizmondo sd card stuck it in my GP2X switched the power on FIRMWARE upgraded EASY
     
  16. Skitzo

    Skitzo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I'm still waiting too. Keep in mind that our postal system really, really sucks.. a few weeks ago, it took me 9 days to receive a letter sent from Brisbane to here (Adelaide). Oh well, I just hope I have it by the start of next week when I go away.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  17. nubie

    nubie Recovering Jerk-A-Holic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    USA California
    I got mine and moved right to the v1.0.1 firmware, I guess November, 28.

    I didn't notice any screen problems, but I updated to get my SD card working(it still doesn't btw)

    Now in the menu I see flickering, not that much, but it gets worse when I go to select a movie or music, only when I am on the select NAND or SD screen.

    And in the MP3 player, is it possible the TV-out is still going?


    But I do see scanlines on all programs, if I hold the unit perfectly still they go away.
     
  18. TripHamer

    TripHamer Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    That's about how mine filckers too. That don't bother me too much. It the not working with batteries thing that I don't like. I got to use an ac adapter all the time.

    I troubleshooted the problem as best as I could without opening it up and I've come to the conclusion that I would need batteries that are greater that 3V combined (or better then just what alkaline batteries can put out -- can't use NiMH recharagables at all). I have another thread where I documented this so I won't go into detail again here.

    So one way or another I may need to return it for exchange or repair. But I'm probably going to buy another one later when the silver model comes out! :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  19. error1

    error1 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Yeah, GPH seriously needs to revamp the battery design on the next hardware revision.. IMO they should add a third battery to bump the voltage to 4.5V and use a regulator to keep it at 3.3V ..that way you wouldn't get the crashing once the voltage starts to drop :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  20. TripHamer

    TripHamer Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    People with recharagables are running at 2.4V so and recharagables keep a constant voltage until the end. I just think that mine has a problem.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...