N00b Questions

nickspoon

vultum stultum habes
Website
Visit site
OK, first things first, hi people, I'm Nick from England.

Now, I'm completely new on the GP2X/GP32 scene, so I have a few questions to ask.

The first is about what to get. I'm thinking on three choices here. A GP32 from eBay, GP2X from GBAX.com or a PSP.
What I'm looking for firstly is a handheld that I can make games for easily. I'm just a hobby developer, and would love to put something of mine on a handheld. I've already got a few thoughts. Anyway.
Secondly, something that will play my media. MP3s, videos and whatever else would come under 'media'.
Thirdly, I'd like a nice little games machine that can play some overall good games in a good way. Emulators would be nice too.
Fourthly, I'd like something multi-purpose. Something that will let me play games, watch videos and, say, write text all in one handheld.
And finally, something expandable. Flexible. Something that will build. Do new things. With WiFi :D. And so on.

And price is a factor, too.

So, which handheld do you nice people reckon would fit that description best? Feel free to suggest others, so long as they are cheaper than £150.

And I'm -this- close to buying a GP2X.

With 'write text', it sounds like you would want a PDA more.. GP32/GP2X does not support Wifi out of the box nor do we know whether the GP2X ever will. It's just a possibility at this point but it does have the ability to play media and games/emulators (when they get developed).

Basically the GP2X will become as big as the community wants it to get.

Hello and welcome to the forum.

1. Make games for easily: That would be the GP2X. Linux means easy development.
2. Media: Definately the GP2X. It supports just about any format available. The screen is 4:3 though so maybe not optimal for movie play back. PSP is better for that.