Beta Mame4All Beta

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by cosam, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. cosam

    cosam Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Not quite there yet, but I'm a fan of releasing early and often, so here's the result of a couple of evening's hacking at everyone's favourite arcade machine emulator:

    Updated PND: http://apps.open-pandora.org/cgi-bin/viewapp.pl?/Emulator/mame4all-beta4.inf

    Run once to create the necessary directories in appdata, them copy your zipped ROMs to the "roms" subdirectory.

    Controls are described in the PND documentation.

    Known issues:
    • Auto frame skip does not work and results in an artificially low frame rate.
    • Sound is way off.
    • Scaling is fixed at 4:3, not sure what happens with rotation.
    • Sync options other than V-sync may have unexpected results.
    • 8-bpp rendering is messed up (use 16-bit). Update: 8pp is now disabled by default.
    • Some residual GP2X-ed-ness that needs removing/replacing.
    • XFCE desktop still visible in the background.
    • Hard-coded ROM path needs to be configurable.
    • No doubt some other stuff I forgot about, but that's why it's beta ;-)

    Released under the MAME license.
    Source code: http://sources.cosam.org/svn/mame4all/
     
    Tags:
  2. Hitnrun

    Hitnrun Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Good one steve! Was this one using the minilib too?
     
  3. cosam

    cosam Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yep. Slightly different to the version used in PocketSNES, but I was able to reuse quite a bit of code.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  4. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    dumb question: romsets matter to mame4all?
     
  5. cosam

    cosam Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Unfortunately the correct set is required for any MAME, this being no exception. It's based on MAME build 0.37b5 but I hear there's also a specific MAME4ALL set.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  6. Hitnrun

    Hitnrun Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    This is based on the gp2x port, so the same games that worked on the gp2x version should work here, I just copied the roms from my gp2x card.
     
  7. Hitnrun

    Hitnrun Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Really nice, I think that when we have a fully working minilib port, there will be no need for Ginge on the Pandora except for closed-source software.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  8. Hitnrun

    Hitnrun Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    I tested some games, and everything runs fullspeed, including Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter II. It doesn't even look like there is frameskip, everything seems smooth.

    Of course with this squeaky sound it is not possible to play it yet, but the sound is on the "right path", I can detect the voice sounds from MK, and the throwing sounds of Gouls'n'Goblinbs.
     
  9. naples39

    naples39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Great to see a start on this.

    I do hope that some of the scaling options from SDLMame eventually make it in too. I would like to be able to properly scale vertical-screen games without having to hold the pandora sideways.
     
  10. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    how do we quit the emu?

    tried ghosts n goblins and final fight, great and smooth graphics
     
  11. skeezix

    skeezix Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,060
    I just have to say..

    I love seeing the #define PADNORA.

    jeff
     
  12. skeezix

    skeezix Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,060
    Just took a quick look; when theres piles of buffers like that, always makes it hard to 'just see' and need to think it through :)

    Right off though .. I see the sound-rate being defined as 22khz, but the frontend is passing 44khz; switching it to 44khz in sound.cpp seems to help a little bit. <- nah, that makes no sense; just luck probably; I'm sick as a dog, don't listen to me.

    Need to check some of the basics .. is it passing the right sound format, and enough of it, and at the right bit depth, etc? Hmm..

    jeff

    Stereo looks off, but the 44khz blit (memcpy) .. is it receiving stereo or mono audio? perhaps you need to copy every other 16bit to mono-ify it (and halve the stream length when buffering it.)

    Or perhaps its just goofy timings to the /dev/dsp; should just wrap that sucker in SDL-audio and see if it works :)
     
  13. DaveC

    DaveC Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,208
    Decent start.

    Some suggestions for future versions:

    Rotate mode works but needs keyboard config so that you can re-define any key to a fire button in this mode. On the Wiz it mapped to the MENU button automatically on rotate, and on GP2X it mapped to VOLUME buttons. Actually in every mode it should be possible so that games with more than 4 buttons can be played. The d-pad autorotates as it should in rotate mode so that is good.

    Needs a straight non fractional integer scale mode(2x would be normal mode, and rotate mode, rotate scale would be fractional). Yes I know it is early but just for future reference, as I knew what these modes did on Wiz. Rotate mode just fraction scales up to the edges now, that is how that is working. Anything that says TATE mode was a mode on the Wiz to fix screen tearing, could be eliminated but not the same as ROTATE which rotates screen for 3:4 games, need that.

    Vector games (ex:Asteroids) now render to a target resolution of 320 x 240 giving a tiny screen. Could be rendered to a target resolution of 640 x 480.

    Have an option to turn off that goddamn headache inducing blurry filter (you knew this was comming :p ). Great as an option, just not the only option. Just curious but why the hell is everyone using this now?

    Analog nubs could be used for analog type games (Missile command, Centipede, Tempest, etc). This is probably difficult though?

    Can nix the multi-key combo for returning to menu now and could use a single key (start, select, Pandora etc). You probably planned that but just in case.

    When running through Minimenu it is fine no problem, only game graphics show which is good there.

    This scratchy sound happened when running MAME4all (Wiz) in Ginge too, but did work fine when set to 15 KHz (doesn't here though). Don't know if that helps.

    Nice to see a native Pandora version.
     
  14. Mjlink

    Mjlink ithic.com

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Bernie Sanders' Land
    SteveM,

    Thanks man, as soon as I get done editing some video. I'm all over this.

    Do you have a donation page? All of your work on MAME, I need to buy your a beer, and/or a joint since your dutch.

    Peace & Pandora,

    Link
     
  15. gruso

    gruso thunderbox

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,461
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Great work Steve. How handy that thanks to Ginge, I've got a fully loaded GP2X card in my Pandora at work. MAME ROMs and all. :) Just played some NBA Jam, woo!

    GP2X styles, Start+L+R quits back to MAME menu, same combo again quits MAME.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  16. cosam

    cosam Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You know, I have half a mind to back-port the audio stuff from SDLMAME into this...

    I also have my doubts about the input system as used right now, which takes events straight from the kernel. A side-effect of having XFCE visible in the background is that you can see what your keystrokes are doing to the desktop! Cursor keys, home, end, etc are innocent enough, but if someone maps the wrong key to something, who knows what consequences this might have. Does the libpnd input handling stuff take care of any of this or do I need to get my events elsewhere (like from X, maybe)?

    This should already work, albeit suboptimally due to GP2X vol +/- being mapped to 1 and 2 at the moment. I'm open to suggestions as to which keys would work well as default action buttons (I'm guessing something in the bottom left, which becomes bottom right when rotated).

    This is all on the cards already. What it does now is write to a frame buffer at the game's native resolution. All that's really required is to set what size this gets scaled to, taking rotation into account. I know where the resolution for vector games can be changed so that's easily done too.

    Everyone is using it because that's all there is at the moment, if you're doing hardware scaling.

    Analogue is probably quite easy. If the nub is in joystick mode it may even work already as the code used for USB joysticks might detect it. The key combos are just what came with the GP2X version so there's indeed work to be done there now we have all these lovely buttons to play with.

    And how about the touchscreen for Missile Command, or would that be cheating? ;-)

    I don't have one as yet and I wouldn't feel right accepting donations for the few hacks it took to get this running. If I start putting some serious work into it I might set something up, but it's more about getting the software out there for me at the moment.

    Oh, and I'm not Dutch, I just live here ;-)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  17. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    wasn't slaneesh already porting Mame4All? What about joining forces?
     
  18. Jumpman

    Jumpman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,060
    Location:
    Sin City
    Thanks SteveM!

    I'm glad to see a dedicated Pandora version. I just started running the GP2X edition last week thru Ginge, but when you exit the game, it bumps you back out to Ginge(instead of the rom select), so I think I will switch over to this one ASAP.

    Chris
     
  19. jonlad1

    jonlad1 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    595
    Good god Steve!

    You dont stop (and we dont want you to!)!!

    Donation link please, beers are on us ;)
     
  20. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    It's fast. It's free. It significantly reduces effort needed to port GP2X/Wiz software, since you can just use 320x240 framebuffer, which means no need for changes in logic.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...