If a default choice is set, which desktop environment the Pyra OS should have ?

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by Linux-SWAT, Sep 12, 2016.

?

If a default choice is set, which desktop environment the Pyra should have ?

  1. Enlightenment

    6.7%
  2. GNOME2/MATE

    16.3%
  3. GNOME3

    3.7%
  4. KDE/Plasma

    8.9%
  5. LXDE

    21.5%
  6. MiniMenu

    14.8%
  7. TDE

    2.2%
  8. Unity

    3.0%
  9. Xfce

    73.3%
  10. EvilWM

    1.5%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,900
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    FWIW, you'd be better off calling gksudo ;)
     
    ible likes this.
  2. ible

    ible professional vim user

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    you learn something to be that much more dangerous every day!
     
    levi likes this.
  3. FBnil

    FBnil Ready to Champion the Pyra to the World...

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,668
    Location:
    Yurp
     
    Bokkertoff, levi and ible like this.
  4. DoodleMonger

    DoodleMonger Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    I'm looking at installing Debian and setting it up to mimic a lot of how the Pyra will be, so I have a smoother transition. Has the wm been decided yet?

    [edit] It looks like it's xfce4:

    pyra-handheld.com/boards/threads/download-pyra-debian-os-wip.75360/

    > Debian with XFCE4 (using fbturbo with Pyra-optimized settings) preinstalled
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
  5. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,344
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    The prototype I have use MATE (and fbturbo yes).
     
  6. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    i like the windowmaker dockapps a lot

    also
    [​IMG]

    xfce is really not lightweight, and it has a severe problem with firefox here - pegs the cpu somehow
     
  7. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,900
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I never had a problem with XFCE and firefox, though it's over a year since I switched to a minimal lxde/openbox on gtk3 setup. XFCE has grown somewhat since I started using it, which is one of the reasons I started looking for something less greedy. All I really wanted from XFCE when I first started using it was something more speedy than gnome 3, and it did that at the time. It's still a mark ahead of gnome 3 on that graph, but these days LXDE et al do all I really want out of a DE. I like having a systray - otherwise I would probably happy with twm or something these days to be honest, though. I guess it's possible to spawn a panel and put a systray on it even in twm, but I worry about integration, and I can't actually identify which process the systray belongs to on my system here.
     
    Swordfish II likes this.
  8. DoodleMonger

    DoodleMonger Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    I think it's more important to have a familiar interface for all kinds of users, not just linux people. Just don't have the applications bar and tray at the top and some block of launchers at the bottom. That's _incredibly_ stupid.

    Yes, we can all change our own stuff, hopefully very easily, but everyday people need to have something that's closer to .. Windows XP I guess.

    I'm not familiar enough with Mate to hate it. It appears to have two bars, so the developers should at least be flogged.
     
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,344
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    desktop.png
    Here the default desktop on the Pyra prototype.
     
    DrHAX, rygD and Haraldur like this.
  10. Caine

    Caine Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I must be missing something obvious, but what is measured on the horizontal axis?

    <edit>This is like arguing that we should use awesome because
    [​IMG]
    </edit>
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2017
    Neelix and tarator like this.
  11. ClockworkCoder

    ClockworkCoder Chaotic Neutral

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    I think three icons should at least be dark red to match the logo. Looks a bit Mint-esque
     
  12. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,589
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    tarator likes this.
  13. Caine

    Caine Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Got it. Thanks. It makes more sense now.
     
  14. DoodleMonger

    DoodleMonger Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    The tiny min/max/close buttons will be a problem. Those have been a major pain for me on the Pandora. That and scrollbars. Maybe a general customization (lxappearance-style) thing could be launched on first-setup? Pick from some themes?

    Well, this is going off topic for this thread. I'll begin looking into Mate a little.
     
  15. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,278
    Location:
    Germany
    Well, we have 4 GB of RAM.
    For me it doesn't matter much if the DE uses 35 MB or 70 MB.
    Or even 200 as long as it loads fast and is responsive.

    Of course assuming that the CPU load is about the same. Fancy effects turned off for example.
     
    rygD, tarator and Haraldur like this.
  16. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,900
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Well, I'll only have 2GB on my unit as it currently appears (who knows what will happen though). But if the DE does have whizz bang effects I have a habit of turning them off anyway, regardless of them eating any RAM.

    Well, MATE did originate from Linux Mint so that's not too surprising ;)
     
    ClockworkCoder likes this.
  17. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    sorry, measured RAM usage
     
    Caine likes this.
  18. _jr_

    _jr_ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,170
    Note that tinywm (and probably some other of the very old resp. very small ones) does not implement everything some applications expect from a window manager, so there will be problems in everyday usage (I seem to remember that firefox is among the affected applications, but I may be wrong).
     
    comradekingu likes this.
  19. spud42

    spud42 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Brisbane,Australia.
    in the Pyra News posts you posted this https://pyra-handheld.com/boards/threads/open-and-close-and-open.81191/page-5#post-1420607

    i like the dark theme and the icon set you are using. as a noob with debian/mate. i have managed to switch to a dark theme but how do i get and use an "icon pack"?
    i am running on an Acer Netbook to get used to debian and try to learn my way around linux
     
  20. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,474
    @spud42 I'm using the mate default dark setting on my Omap5 uEVM board, I like it a little better than the slick red.
     
    rygD likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...