How Easy It Is To Type On?

Chewi

Still Fresh
Hi guys. New here. Have had to talk myself out of shelling out for a Pandora several times already. Then my wife asks me what I want for Christmas. Argh! She thinks an Xbox 360 would be better but what does she know? :D

So I'm trying to convince myself that it might be useful for some occasional work. I'm a coder who usually works from home but I travel down to the office in London every few weeks. I don't like lugging a laptop around but something like this would be perfect, at least on the train and in the hotel. I'm just wondering how easy it is to type on. Obviously it's not going to feel as comfortable as a regular keyboard but I do have a couple of other things to compare against. First, there's my wife's Nokia E71. That's only good for thumb typing and not much fun. Second, I still have an old Toshiba Libretto 70CT. I was thinking that this is about the same size but if the Pandora is 140mm wide then that's only 2/3 the width! That REALLY is small. That's not just the screen width right? Am I kidding myself here? :(

Comfort (or lack of) aside, I do my coding in Emacs. I notice there is no Ctrl key but I'm sure I could find a way around that. And no, that wouldn't be by using Vi instead. :p

There is a Ctrl key, so you can use Nano.
I don't know how easy it is to type on, since only the developers (like 5 to 10 people) own prototypes at the moment.
It's easier to type on than a cellphone and harder to type on than a laptop, I'd guess.

You wanna code on the panda? Bring a soft keyboard. One of those you can roll up. Or the pocket size folded one. Both should work, and are regular size keyboards, with a full set of keys.