GPD WIN MAX ANNOUNCED

Discussion in 'Everything else' started by crazyhorse, Apr 4, 2019.

  1. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    How easy is it to get Linux running on Win 2?
     
  2. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,575
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Well, I did the same, installed ArchLinux on my GPD Win 2 and found it awesome... but since then, I haven't switched it on, since I have no real idea what to do with it.
    I'm not into Windows games, I'm more into console games, and for ease of use, I still use the Pandora for that.
    I also find the gaming controls of the GPD Win 2 not that good... yeah, it's nice for Windows games which mostly use analog controls, but if you want to play mostly DPad games, then they're not that comfortable (because of position and the DPad itself).

    Then my touchscreen died (which also happens frequently, as I had to reply quite a few for my customers as well), and then I stopped using it.

    However, there is one big problem with the battery you forgot:
    Yes, they're easy to change, but if you can't get them, that won't help.

    The GPD Win battery wasn't available anymore one month after they stopped producing the GPD Win, and I had to take back at least 10 units for full price because I couldn't replace the battery anymore (and it was within warranty period).
    I don't want to know how many REALLY died - when I was selling batteries, 20 sold off within a couple of days.

    That's the main concern, and the reason why many of my customers didn't want to buy the GPD Win 2: Because they feared the battery would die again, shortly after the warranty period, and they couldn't get a replacement.

    The GPD Win 2 is a neat device, but if you can't use it longer then 1.5 years because you can't buy batteries anymore... bleh.
    --- Double Post Merged, Apr 8, 2019, Original Post Date: Apr 8, 2019 ---
    I didn't have any issues installing ArchLinux dualboot.
    --- Double Post Merged, Apr 8, 2019 ---
    Probably, I have a bit of various broken GPD parts lying around herer, but I'm not sure it works :/
     
    ElPoco and kuru like this.
  3. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,563
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Install mednafen, and plug in your favourite USB joystick.
     
  4. kuru

    kuru Laptop und Trachtenjanker

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Location:
    the mockracy
    Availablity of replacement parts is a huge deal.
     
  5. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,575
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Errrmm.... that defeats the purpose of using it on the go.
    I am playing with Launchbox, RetroArch and an SN30 Pro at home :)
     
    rSl, levi and JDTAY like this.
  6. AireTamStorm

    AireTamStorm Unix Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    971
    Basically the same as any laptop, with the exception of the touch screen, due to rotation (they used a portrait screen in the Win 1 and Win 2). I had to have a script run the touch/display rotation on startup. The Win 2's chipset is actually supported by Intel unlike the Win 1, so power management is quite good and the drivers are all top tier.

    ED- quite a few good points but again, these are largely problems people recognize in part because there are units out already. I imagine you'll discover issues post-production for the Pyra. And Win 2 batteries are possible to get, (perhaps on obscure, chinese online retailers), but its not like you're going to have Pyra batteries on Amazon Prime either.

    I guess my biggest vote of confidence in GPD would come from the fact that they've addressed quite a few issues from the Win 1 in the Win 2. Much like the Pyra's design addresses issues on the Pandora and the eventual Win 3 will likely address issues from the Win 2. Yeah, it'd be nice to have a removable battery. Its kind of nice to have a working handheld, is my point.

    And it would be nice to have an open source handheld, I'm a again a huge fan of the idea of OSS hardware- I'm glad you're still at it.
     
  7. bluedeer

    bluedeer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    I'll contact you at some point and see if we can work something out as far as just a motherboard and keyboard PCB is concerned, I wouldn't need any of the other parts as my Win 1 is working perfectly fine otherwise.
     
  8. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,963
    So, bringing it back to the Win 2 Max per the thread title...

    It sounds like the Win 2 Max will be a completely different set of internal hardware. I.e. AMD instead of Intel, full length M.2 slot, dual fans... do we know anything else around the specs for this yet? Anything official?
     
  9. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,575
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    The problem is not getting Win2 batteries right now, as it's their current system.

    But try getting GPD Win 1 batteries. It's even impossible through obscure chinese online retailers.
    And the GPD Win 1 isn't that old. THAT is the problem.
    Now they're working on the Win 3. Which is fine, evolution is nice - but the Win 3 will most probably have different batteries as well, and then the Win 2 batteries won't be available soon as well.

    I still support the Pandora and offer repairs and batteries and plan to do so for the Pyra as long and as good as possible as well.
     
    Grench, rSl and ClockworkCoder like this.
  10. bluedeer

    bluedeer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    The only other thing I have heard and have no reason to doubt is that it will be smaller than the SmachZ (Naturally) but based on the few photos I've seen it will probably be bigger than the GPD Win 2. What I wonder is if it will be EEE-PC sized, or if it will still be handheld. Considering how GPD seems to have targeted a handheld range of around the 3DS XL, give or take, I would imagine that it will still be a handheld. Thing is, the one picture I've seen is something that appears as a full travel keyboard, not a thumb board from the back side. So I wonder if it will have handheld game controls, but will require setting down on a desk for typing.

    The Youtube Video shows what clearly look like the backside of keys and from appearances, they appear likely based on the GPD Pocket/Pocket 2. Maybe it's a new Netbook form factor somewhere between the Win 2 and the Pocket 2?
     
  11. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,460
    GPD have posted a couple of teaser pics on their twitter and facebook pages.
    As for specs and what it looks like etc, I have seen them but I cannot say anything as I have been asked to keep them secret.
     
  12. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,964
    Location:
    germany
    To be fair, the Pandora batteries also don't fit into the Pyra afaik. ;) Of course we HAVE replacable batteries at least. I don't know why GPD does not simply go this way too.

    Are AMD CPUs nowadays actualy as power efficient as Intel CPU's? I know in the past AMD took more power at same speeds and its still that way with the AMD GPU's.
     
  13. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,575
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    With one small plastic part inlay, they fit and could theoretically be used :)
    Pretty easy, actually. I made sure the Pandora battery fits perfectly from one side, so you only need the plastic inlay (or some other padding) on the other side and on the backside (as it's thinner).
    But it doesn't really make much sense, as Pyra batteries are newer and have more capacity.

    Replacing is not the issue. Opening the case, and unplugging the battery, replugging a new one is not that bad (except for the glue... I hate that stuff).
    The problem is the availability.
     
  14. Xcl4m4t10n

    Xcl4m4t10n Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,033
    Nowadays electronics are made to be as hardest to repair as they can be. So that way, you have to buy a whole new system each time you have even the minimum failure (or pay almost like a new system for a repair, you know...).

    For me, that's only means to treat your systems with more care (I have a two year old Sony Compact Z5 that has the same battery capacity as the first week) but for the casual humans beigns, this is not the case (and the medioambiental consequences of this abuse are catastrophic...).
     
  15. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,460
    Did you see MJPIA's reply to you which I quoted above?
     
  16. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,518
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Damn, there's seems to be a lot of GPD-WINsexuals on these boards <_<
     
  17. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,563
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Specs? Not the same as the plain old Win 2 then I assume. I'd been presuming that this was just a scaled up version with some aesthetic changes and looks like beefier cooling.
     
  18. docbroke

    docbroke Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    India
    How did you replace android with win 2 ? Does it work as phone ? or you use dumb phone to accompany your win 2?
     
  19. NetBLOKS

    NetBLOKS Finally on-board

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Cologne
    Maybe a mod should create a new thread for discussing the pros and cons of both systems and move all the off-topic there, so that people actually interested in news and specs of the Win2 Max may actually find them?
    Please @Wally @TrashyMG
     
    Nintendo likes this.
  20. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,460
    The name of device has changed to GPD WIN Max. They dropped the 2
     

Share This Page

Loading...