Gpadvance Compatibility List

Discussion in 'GP Advance' started by KoRnfReak, Jul 8, 2004.

  1. The Mole

    The Mole Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    437
    WOW this is sounding great.

    I did not want to try it out till at least a few commercial games were working, so it seams like now is the time :)

    Is it easy to install?
     
  2. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,624
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    I read on IRC today that they try to implement dynamic loading until Monday... so we may be lucky :)
     
  3. DReffects

    DReffects Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    uhm hi there - could someone shed some light on this 'rom patching' thingy?! what is meant by that, how can i do that, what are the benefits?

    thanks :)
     
  4. 0-bake

    0-bake Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    537
    hm, i can't find the option to set the rom path....where is it? it's not in the options :unsure:

    or, whats the default path?
     
  5. pip

    pip Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Since you are to lazy to read the manual I will have to do it for you; it is gpmm\gpadv\
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  6. 0-bake

    0-bake Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    537
    i was talking about the offline list program, not the gp32 gba emulator, sorry...
     
  7. diablo2

    diablo2 Virtual Boy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    The A
    on the origenal release you had to patch roms to run them
    but now it is incorpated with the emulator so you don't have to worry about it anymore
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  8. thingley

    thingley Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Cardiff
    In offline list you need to go to the tools menu and click options.

    Click on the renamer icon - its over to the left of the box that pops up - you can the tell it where you are currently keeping your roms (unknown files folder) and where you would like offline list to keep them when its sorted them out (verified roms).

    Make sure you put the modules that patch and trim the roms into the modules directory (it'll be in the offline list directory somewhere)

    evil_king: no - I only have a 128Mbit cart so I can still only use these size roms. But I can carry loads of roms around with me on smartmedia and flash them to the cart whenever I want! But since the wallet has no save game support I have to keep my save games on an XG-flash memory stick.
     
  9. Dante

    Dante Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    united kingdom
    has anyone tried ff tactics yet?
     
  10. TandeM

    TandeM Mega Pandora Mania?

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    No way it would work with the current version (as it's 16MB), but maybe in the future with the "dynamic loading" added.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  11. DReffects

    DReffects Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    ah whicked - thanks :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  12. craigix

    craigix Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11,010
    Location:
    England
    It means some roms seem to run if the way they handle saves is patched, a little like you do on flash carts for the GBA.

    You can get patchers from gbaemu.com

    -Craig

    www.gbax.com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  13. pip

    pip Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Craig, did you notice that jumping jack works fine now in terms of walking? No need to tap the key any longer, same with the Chrono Trigger demo.
     
  14. craigix

    craigix Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    11,010
    Location:
    England
    Does it? Rahhh! That will probably fix quite a few games, it is an alternative way of reading the keys. Very nice.

    -Craig

    www.gbax.com
     
  15. Swiss_Cheesespam

    Swiss_Cheesespam Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    It wont let me put in Sonic Advance 2, or at least I just cant figure it out. It sorta booted, had a scrambled screen.
     
  16. TandeM

    TandeM Mega Pandora Mania?

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Appears the compatibility list site is on indefinite hiatus...
     
  17. generalnmx

    generalnmx Playful/Fascist Mod

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    That's why we have these threads ;)
     
  18. scarface

    scarface Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    So what all games work?
    Some one said mario golf works,is this true?
     
  19. Wolfsclaw

    Wolfsclaw can't be longer than 2 months right?

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Location:
    Germany/France
    you shouldnt use the current version for actual playing, its way to slow.
    you can try out the much faster 1.40 for games like mr driller 2 or soccer kid.
     
  20. Totoro

    Totoro Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Finland
    The URL doesn't work for me uff...
    Well can someone make a quote of the compatibility list?

    Thanks.

    - Totoro
     

Share This Page

Loading...