Gmenu2x 0.10 Test 1


DarkScale

Still Fresh
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
17
Location
England
Website
Visit site
There is a new version of GMenu2X just released today.

QUOTE
New in 0.10 ----------- New translations: Basque, Catalan, Turkish Added support for the touchscreen Added support for f200 battery Added internal explorer that can launch .gpu .gpe and .sh files Added graphic indicators for switching sections Added on screen help (keep pressed A, only on the main screen at the moment) Cpu clock raised when loading manuals Added support for bmp and jpg/jpeg files for manuals Added preview of images when selecting icons Added option to show the root folder in the selection dialogs Fixed bug that prevented the use of the custom selected wallpaper on restart Lots of fixes


Source: http://sourceforge.net/projects/gmenu2x/

YAY! Touchscreen support! :D
 

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
43
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
Holy crap, this is awesome news. Looks like there are some tasty fixes in there!

[edit] Hang on, is this intended for public consumption yet? DarkScale, you said in the v0.9 beta thread that you couldn’t get the touch screen working?
 

jbrodack

gp2x fan
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,034
Age
37
Location
new jersey, USA
Website
jbrodack.googlepages.com
touchscreen isn't working for me. also the increasing the clock speed when opening a manual seems to mess things up. would be nice to have an option to turn it off.

still looks nice besides that. nice to be able to directly launch an application from gmenu explorer.
 

Coder_TimT

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2006
Messages
288
Firmware 4.0.0 needs clock at ~160Mhz or so for touchscreen to function properly. So Clock Speed for Gmenu2x will need to be set to at least that in the options screen... Not sure if that is the issue, but it's a pretty good possibility...
 

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
43
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
Coder_TimT said:
Firmware 4.0.0 needs clock at ~160Mhz or so for touchscreen to function properly. So Clock Speed for Gmenu2x will need to be set to at least that in the options screen... Not sure if that is the issue, but it's a pretty good possibility...
If you're right about that I'll send you a muffin basket. I just went to adjust it, as soon as I wound the clock up my batteries died. I put my other pair in, and realised I'd forgotten to charge them. They died at the exact same point.

Now I have to wait until tonight to find out. :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:

doc5avage

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Messages
173
Age
37
Location
Australia
Website
Visit site
Gruso said:
Coder_TimT said:
Firmware 4.0.0 needs clock at ~160Mhz or so for touchscreen to function properly. So Clock Speed for Gmenu2x will need to be set to at least that in the options screen... Not sure if that is the issue, but it's a pretty good possibility...
If you're right about that I'll send you a muffin basket. I just went to adjust it, as soon as I wound the clock up my batteries died. I put my other pair in, and realised I'd forgotten to charge them. They died at the exact same point.

Now I have to wait until tonight to find out. :(
I always carry 4 sets of batteries. Let this be a lesson.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Manjuu

100% マンジュウ
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
718
Gruso said:
Coder_TimT said:
Firmware 4.0.0 needs clock at ~160Mhz or so for touchscreen to function properly. So Clock Speed for Gmenu2x will need to be set to at least that in the options screen... Not sure if that is the issue, but it's a pretty good possibility...
If you're right about that I'll send you a muffin basket. I just went to adjust it, as soon as I wound the clock up my batteries died. I put my other pair in, and realised I'd forgotten to charge them. They died at the exact same point.

Now I have to wait until tonight to find out. :(

I doubt your batteries were at fault; they may even have a good amount of charge left. :p

It seems to be a bug in GMenu2X. If you try to change the clock speed of the GMenu2X, it will most likely cause it to crash and make the screen slowly fade to white. This also happens when viewing the manuals as the clock speed is throttled.

The touchscreen works. I manually edited the configuration file to increase the clock speed. It is a nice addition, but unfortunately, it kind of feels tacked on... You won't be able to fully navigate just by using the touchscreen, as some functions and menus are not accessible in touchscreen. GMenu2X was designed with F-100 in mind, touchscreen cannot be implemented in some areas as it would mean overhauling them to accommodate touchscreen.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

noldor73

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
49
Location
Italy
Website
Visit site
Manjuu said:
I doubt your batteries were at fault; they may even have a good amount of charge left. :p

It seems to be a bug in GMenu2X. If you try to change the clock speed of the GMenu2X, it will most likely cause it to crash and make the screen slowly fade to white. This also happens when viewing the manuals as the clock speed is throttled.

The touchscreen works. I manually edited the configuration file to increase the clock speed. It is a nice addition, but unfortunately, it kind of feels tacked on... You won't be able to fully navigate just by using the touchscreen, as some functions and menus are not accessible in touchscreen. GMenu2X was designed with F-100 in mind, touchscreen cannot be implemented in some areas as it would mean overhauling them to accommodate touchscreen.
The news is "wrong" because this version of gmenu is a test version. (here the italian thread: http://www.gp2xita.com/community/index.php?topic=2501.0 )
It is "normal" that you won't able to fully navigate.
The clock issue seems to be a problem with the sdl library and we can use a text edit to workaround this.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Manjuu

100% マンジュウ
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
718
Gruso said:
Ah, cheeky little bug. Can you point me to what you edited? Can I do it in a text editor?
Open the "gmenu2x.conf" with a text editor, and edit the "menuClock" setting.

EDIT: You might need to generate the "gmenu2x.conf" first by saving a setting change.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
43
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
noldor73 said:
The news is "wrong" because this version of gmenu is a test version. (here the italian thread: http://www.gp2xita.com/community/index.php?topic=2501.0 )

I thought as much. No worries, I'm happy doing some unofficial testing (having Explorer is worth it!). DarkScale, you jumped the gun, you jumper of guns. Thx for the heads up though. ;)

Manjuu - cheers. That's the file I went looking for, but of course it didn't exist yet. Sorted now.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ryosaeba

Certified Guru
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
421
Age
37
Location
Como (Italy)
Website
mtorromeo.github.com
As you all already discovered this is a test version and it contains *KNOWN* bugs, and touchscreen support is still missing in a few areas.

The "screen fading" bug is caused by the sdl libs that I used for the binary. They seem to make impossible to adjust the clock when the video is initialized (or something like that). Using an old version I don't have this problem. (I would like to solve this if anyone can point me out to some solution)

To make the touchscreen work you have to set the clock to at least (in my case) 136Mhz, but you have to do it editing gmenu2x.conf manually.

Also it may not be totally clear that you need to "double-click" the links icons to launch them.
 

Manjuu

100% マンジュウ
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
718
Thanks for the heads up, Ryo. B)

The new additions, like the explorer, are great!

Hope to see the problem sorted out. Thanks for this great app, and keep it up. :)
 

sbock

Chaos is our mode and modus
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
3,776
Location
Germany
Very good to see a new Version of Gmenu2x. Good work so far, Ryo!

Regards,
Stephan
 

narmak

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
173
So, I have this problem where when i press select, the menu pops-up, but closes again quickly, so i can't create links to my apps. Is anyone else having this problem?
 

jbrodack

gp2x fan
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,034
Age
37
Location
new jersey, USA
Website
jbrodack.googlepages.com
one thing that I've wanted to see changed for a while is that when the bottom row is filled and i press down on the last link it just stays there instead of going back to the top. not a big deal but kind of annoying. hope you know what i mean if not i'll try to explain it better.
 

jaesond

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
78
Been a while since I've used my GP2X, so I decided to update it to the 4.0.0 firmware. (It's an F-100, not a Mk2)

It's still a very nice app, however I'm noticing that on the GP2X (on 4.0.0 at least), when the application is set to automatically start up, it's extremely bright, like the gamma has been ramped up extremely high, whereas if I start it manually, I don't seem to have that issue. Both times I'm using the included autorun.gpu.

I recall having this issue one time before with gmenu2x in the past, but that was only after I ran and exited some applications, not when I first started it. Anybody else having this issue?
 
Top