Drmd V5 Beta 2 Released

S

sausage dog

Guest
Instead of people posting multiple threads about games that don't work, could there be some kind of list somewhere so that thay are there for the world to see? I don't think there are that many games that don't work, and if all the problems are in one place it might help the developer to identify common problems quicker.
 

trickytree

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
61
Reesy posted on May 25 2006 at 01:50 PM said:
I must continue updating that list sometime soon... :)

Thanks for the release Reesy, looking forward to spending some time with it.

Any idea if the missing graphics layer (Herzog Zwei, Arnold Palmer), status bar scroll error (Raiden, Mercs) and garbled graphics (Afterburner) problems are related? Are they fixed by moving to 16bit rendering, or is more work needed? With those fixed the Genesis emulation would be almost perfect.

(Big fat donation coming if you could fix them of course ;))
 
Last edited by a moderator:

bacteria

Modder & Portablizer
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
1,119
Location
Hampshire, UK.
Website
moddedbybacteria.wordpress.com
DrMD on SMS - appears to have issues. Tried to play one game, Bank Panic, the doors stay shut and no-one comes in the doors (which defeats the object of the game!).

Any chance the SMS version (and GG) could be full screen too please?

DrMD is truly fantastic on Megadrive emulation, hopefully the sound can be raised to 44100 at some point?
 

GeminiDomino

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
374
Another pair of odd SMS bugs.

Transbot - Saving state forces game to reset (in the state as well. Odd..)

Ghost House - Text overlay (like when you beat a level) doesn't appear. In-game looks ok, though.


Don't know if these are particularly useful, but I'm still looking for other games that duplicate these glitches to help narrow it down.
 

Shikaku

ROFL THE WORD PENIS IS HILARIOUS!
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
2,839
Location
USA... I feel lonely, not that many people from US
Website
Visit site
Last edited by a moderator:

OMG

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
95
Well its has a 60hz refresh rate so it doesn't 'barely' display 60fps. It does display 60fps. It could display higher but of course the screen wouldn't refresh fast enough for you to see all the frames.
 

reallynotnick

The smartest newb
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
871
Website
Visit site
Well its has a 60hz refresh rate so it doesn't 'barely' display 60fps. It does display 60fps. It could display higher but of course the screen wouldn't refresh fast enough for you to see all the frames.
When the heck did LCD start getting refresh rates?

As far as your video goes, I doubt it can decode that much and that was your problem. The gp2x was not up to 60fps video.

It for sure can show 60fps, overclock Drmd to the highest you can go and play Sonic 2 with 0 frame skip. Now turn it to frame skip 1, you for sure should see a difference.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

OMG

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
95
LCD's do refresh. However they only refresh updated sections of the screen. Not all of the screen.
 

iignotus

The one and only
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,719
Website
gp2xdev.no-ip.org
When the heck did LCD start getting refresh rates?
Around the same time LCDs got V/H frequencies. You know, since for ever.
It for sure can show 60fps, overclock Drmd to the highest you can go and play Sonic 2 with 0 frame skip. Now turn it to frame skip 1, you for sure should see a difference.
There's a huge discrepancy between 60fps and 30fps. The question is if the gp2x can display 60fps, not if someone can recognise a 30fps difference in video.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

nubie

Recovering Jerk-A-Holic
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
2,749
Location
USA California
Website
Visit site
The GP2X can barely display 60 FPS (I tested this with a 60 FPS movie...)

=/
The only 60 FPS movies I have ever seen are Hi Definition, at which point you are overloading the poor frame processor and the ARM Co-Processor, the Display hardware and the memory bus.

Try one encoded at 320x240 and see what it can really do.

That makes 1/4 the bandwidth and decoding draw, I really think it can show 60fps, also isn't the new video player underclocking the ARM coprocessor to 100mhz or something?

It should be able to handle it, it was designed for this remember.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

zektor

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
359
Age
44
I just would like to add a "thank you" to you as well Reesy. This is one work of art of an emulator.

Quick question/request. Do you think you can add support for the SMS BIOS in your next release? SMS emulation is pretty good in DrMD...I really hope you continue to improve on it. The SMS BIOS would make it feel so much more true to the real deal :)
 

reallynotnick

The smartest newb
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
871
Website
Visit site
When the heck did LCD start getting refresh rates?
Around the same time LCDs got V/H frequencies. You know, since for ever.
It for sure can show 60fps, overclock Drmd to the highest you can go and play Sonic 2 with 0 frame skip. Now turn it to frame skip 1, you for sure should see a difference.
There's a huge discrepancy between 60fps and 30fps. The question is if the gp2x can display 60fps, not if someone can recognise a 30fps difference in video.
I am not sure if you are kiding or not about in the first quote. They have response times I know that, there is no true refreshing of the whole image like a CRT. I am no tech wiz though.

As for the second one I understand he thinks it can not show 60fps, thats why I gave him a test to prove to him it can show 60fps, by compairing a 30fps game to a 60fps game.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

OMG

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
95
When the heck did LCD start getting refresh rates?
Around the same time LCDs got V/H frequencies. You know, since for ever.
It for sure can show 60fps, overclock Drmd to the highest you can go and play Sonic 2 with 0 frame skip. Now turn it to frame skip 1, you for sure should see a difference.
There's a huge discrepancy between 60fps and 30fps. The question is if the gp2x can display 60fps, not if someone can recognise a 30fps difference in video.
I am not sure if you are kiding or not about in the first quote. They have response times I know that, there is no true refreshing of the whole image like a CRT. I am no tech wiz though.

As for the second one I understand he thinks it can not show 60fps, thats why I gave him a test to prove to him it can show 60fps, by compairing a 30fps game to a 60fps game.
many humans could not distiunguish the difference between the two though.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top