Drmd - Genesis Emulator

diablo2

Virtual Boy
Joined
Jan 23, 2004
Messages
1,956
Age
30
Location
The A
Website
Visit site
Reesy, can you write your program so that the light doesn't turn off when you hit select. I heard someone talking like that a while ago.
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
Reesy posted on Oct 25 2004 at 11:12 AM said:
Bummer,  is that how the GP32 blu's light is switched on and off i.e. holding down the select button.  I'll probably just add a menu option to allow a few set combinations, rather than having totally customized controls.

Have you checked the menu options actually in the games.  A lot of genesis games allow you to choose different control settings.

Anyway I currently working on the menu, its going to be vary basic ( cause I hate doing menu's ).  But it will allow you to switch sound on and off, switch between 8bit rendering mode and 16bit rendering mode ( yep 16bit mode has been added now ).  Hopefully later it will also allow you to save/load savestates.

Later

Reesy

Reesy,

I have noticed on this version that the gamma is set too high. The areas that should be black are instead gray. Compare "black" areas on the game screen which are really grey with the true black bars on the top and bottom. This makes the games look a bit washed out (especially space games) and have less contrast. Is it possible that this could be fixed in another version? This is very noticeable on the BLU.

Thanks.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
R

Reesy

Guest
to be honest FPS is the most important thing to me. ( lucky for you people with slow ass 133 gp32's :) ). I've just this second finished optimising the f%$k out of my layer rendering code, so now DrMD runs very nicely at 133 with the sound on. I'm gonna pick on the sprite rendering code next, I'm sure I can pick up a few more FPS there.

The menu's now in. You can now switch the sound on or off, change clock speed and change rendering mode ( 8bit or 16bit ).

Still to do
-----------
Zip support
Save States
Gamma control.

Later

Reesy
 

look

N/A
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
489
Age
43
Location
The North
Website
www.deardenboys.co.uk
Reesy posted on Oct 26 2004 at 07:37 PM said:
to be honest FPS is the most important thing to me. ( lucky for you people with slow ass 133 gp32's :) ).
I really like the way you work dude.

Thinking of the little guy with his 133Mhz GP32.

I'm not a fan of overclocking myself......being the owner of a slow ass 3 toed GP32
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
look posted on Oct 26 2004 at 07:55 PM said:
Reesy posted on Oct 26 2004 at 07:37 PM said:
to be honest FPS is the most important thing to me. ( lucky for you people with slow ass 133 gp32's :) ).
I really like the way you work dude.

Thinking of the little guy with his 133Mhz GP32.

I'm not a fan of overclocking myself......being the owner of a slow ass 3 toed GP32
This is great even for those that have 166 capable GP32s as it saves alot of battery life.

Lean and mean is always better. Thanks for this Reesy :)


Reesy, I thought you had, or were getting a BLU version GP32? No?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 8, 2004
Messages
131
WOW THANKS REESY !! unbeliveble

you are really a great guy to do something like this for us !!

cant wait to play it with my 166mhzgpblu


Do you know if SHINING FORCE 1 or 2 are working with the emulator ???
 

Tobriand

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
4,071
Age
34
Location
Croydon (UK)
Website
Visit site
I can't wait to play it on my 256MHz GP32. But preferably at 133 :)

This emu is looking to turn into an agile catlike creature.

If fGen is the Giant Panda of emulators (darn cool, tons of features, and generally a monster of a machine), this will become the leopard (sleek and agile - not as many features, but fast as feck).

Looking forward to any developments, as always :)
 

kotd

Very Active Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
1,173
Website
Visit site
Reesy posted on Oct 26 2004 at 07:37 PM said:
to be honest FPS is the most important thing to me. ( lucky for you people with slow ass 133 gp32's :) ). I've just this second finished optimising the f%$k out of my layer rendering code, so now DrMD runs very nicely at 133 with the sound on. I'm gonna pick on the sprite rendering code next, I'm sure I can pick up a few more FPS there.

The menu's now in. You can now switch the sound on or off, change clock speed and change rendering mode ( 8bit or 16bit ).

Still to do
-----------
Zip support
Save States
Gamma control.

Later

Reesy
Yes of course FPS is most important just didn't think you could squeeze more frames out of it! :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

gaterooze

Coltrane Sundia
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
2,723
Website
Visit site
Damn you're awesome, Reesy!

I didn't think MD emulation would get much better on the GP32 (because it was pretty darn great to begin with thanks to rlyeh!), but you're really raising the bar... amazing.
 

Talyz

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2004
Messages
453
Age
30
Location
Sweden
Website
Visit site
kotd posted on Oct 21 2004 at 07:26 AM said:
Need to get a 166mhz gp32 than :p too bad it does such a performance hit :(
By some reason the 166Mhz version runs more skippy than the 156Mhz version :(. I haven't got any clue of why, though (maybe I'm doing something wrong.. :huh: ).
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 8, 2004
Messages
131
im surprised that reesy didnt participate to 16days competition. with his emu i think that he would have a chance to win a Ds

are you surprised too guys ??
 

onionfrog

Sir Cheapass Gamer
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
584
Location
Battle Creek, MI, USA
Website
Visit site
im not surprised. seeing as technically it would have to entered as a group project, because some of the things used in the emu are not originally made by reesy. the fm sound core he is planning to use is rob browns, he didnt write cyclone, etc. So even if he'd entered it and won hed have to break the ds in half and split it... :lol:
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,389
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
onionfrog posted on Oct 30 2004 at 05:28 AM said:
So even if he'd entered it and won hed have to break the ds in half and split it... :lol:
That's the reason the DS has two screens, right?
 
Last edited:

kotd

Very Active Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
1,173
Website
Visit site
Reesy will the source code be available for Drmd? Would like to try it on my Beasty pocket PC :D
 
R

Reesy

Guest
I'll have to speak to rob first and see if he minds having his sound core publicly released. If he's alright with it I'll release the source, otherwise I'll have to mod the source and remove the rob's fm emulator code. But I will definately be releasing the source.

I don't know how much luck you'll have compiling it for the PocketPC as the rendering code is very specific to the way the GP32 frame buffer is organised.
 
Top