1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Release DosBox EX v4 - Release

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by StreaK, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    Release: DosBox EX v4


    Whats new:


    - Added EX launcher


    - Completely different way of scanning / loading games


    - Zenity support completely dropped


    - CD images supported


    - Automount CD images if detected


    - Small diff improvements


    - Tweet to twitter about played game if wifi is enabled.. [ http://twitter.com/openpandoraplay ]



    Code:
    
    
    Adding new games to DosBox EX:
    
    
    create "roms" directory in [sdcard]/pandora/appdata/dosbox-ex-ura/
    
    put games in there
    
    
    example:
    
    
    /dosbox-ex-ura/roms
    
                    |--Larry.1.vga [dir]
    
                    |   	|-- rename executable files in dir [exe / com / bat] to 01.exe / 01.bat / 01.com
    
                    |
    
                    |--Civilisation [dir]
    
                    |   	|-- rename executable files in dir [exe / com / bat] to 01.exe / 01.bat / 01.com
    
                    |
    
                    |--Lotus.3 [dir]
    
                    |   	|-- rename executable files in dir [exe / com / bat] to 01.exe / 01.bat / 01.com
    
    
    to automount CD to drive to D: put iso file:
    
    
    /dosbox-ex-ura/roms
    
                    |--Larry.1.vga
    
                    |   	|-- 01.iso
    
                    |
    
                    |-- Gabriel.Knight.CD
    
                    |   	|-- 01.iso
    
    
    to go onto d drive you'll need to create d.bat with content "d:" [its a workaround for lack of ":" on pandora's keyboard..]
    
    then just type in doxbox "d" to jump to drive d:
    
    
    /dosbox-ex-ura/roms
    
                    |--Larry.1.vga
    
                    |   	|-- 01.iso
    
                    |   	|-- d.bat
    
                    |
    
                    |
    
                    |-- Gabriel.Knight.CD
    
                    |   	|-- 01.iso                
    
                    |   	|-- d.bat
    
                    |
    
    
    


    Downloads: [as usual on FB Wall. Dont hate it.. love it :) ]


    http://pnd.to/4floor
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  2. lobski

    lobski Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    I literally have thousands of DOS game folders, I have to manually rename them? I also do not want to lose the original filenames of my collection. Do I need to duplicate my entire collection just to rename them?


    Is there a workaround for the rename condumdrum?
     
  3. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    If you want to preserve original filenames you can create 01.bat instead of renaming to 01.exe or 01.com with contents like


    01.bat content:



    Code:
    
    lotus.com
    
    


    or



    01.bat content:



    Code:
    
    cd bin
    
    larry6.exe
    
    
    and so..


    believe me, you will benefit from using dosbox v4 more than any other version of dxbx [imho]. No typing mayhem anymore everytime running a game..
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  4. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    Rename only games that you want to play :) . btw. You'll only need to rename *.exec's and/or *.bat's, not directory names [it will be done by DosBox EX]
     
  5. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    + Twitter Posting added to DosBox EX v4 PND [if wifi is enabled].


    Just Re-Download PND from my FB Page / re-run DosBox and Enable WIFI to enable twitter posting.
     
  6. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,717
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    @streak


    I know you think you are making it quicker this way but IMO having to rename files or create bat files is not exactly quicker, instead of putting the emphasis on the user to do all these things why not just allow the user to browse DIRs in your EX front-end which will show them the .exe or .bat files and then the user would just select it and then your EX front end would pass on the dos command to run it :) (just like how you automount and run ISO files already).


    this and only this would make it quick and simple and allow file name preservation without creating additional files.


    please consider this in your next upgrade to your EX frontend thanks :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2012
  7. gunrock

    gunrock Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    464
    Amazing release Streaks, my man! What version of DOSBox is this built on?
     
  8. lobski

    lobski Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Yes, I totally agree, V4 is quite laborious...


    I think a good idea is to let up explore into the game folder and choose the exe/bat/whatever.


    I love your work with the Pandora, but I think I'll be sticking with v3 (which lets me choose exe's and no typing required) for now, v4 is much of a deal breaker ^_^
     
  9. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    No problemo. I expect that some of you, might be liking v3 more. Thats why dosbox ex has only one digit version to easily trace older versions, and with every version there was radical changes in the way in games handling..
     
  10. Manic Miner

    Manic Miner Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Stuck in a Crazy Mine.
    I have always been rubbish at DosBox, mainly I think because I have never really used DOS on a PC.


    I really would like to have a go at running this on my Pandora.


    I have found a Wiki DosBox Pandora site ( http://pandorawiki.org/DOSBox ), will give it try from there, is there


    a real idiots guide for DosBox Pandora anywhere ? One last thing for now, where can I get version 3 ? According


    to people in this thread it is the better version.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2012
  11. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    If never used dosbox i still think v4 will be better and easier, because apparently you dont have a huge games database, to edit [exe => 01.exe], just take a look on first post with easy how to...


    example


    1 Download Creative Commons version of Electro Man: http://www.classicdo...aosworks/em.zip


    2 Extract it to [sdcard]/pandora/appdata/dosbox-ex-ura/roms/electro.man directory


    3 Rename *.bat file to 01.bat [inside electroman directory]


    4 Start DosBox EX v4


    5 You're ready to go and play..


    is it hard or easy.. you choose..
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  12. Manic Miner

    Manic Miner Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Stuck in a Crazy Mine.
    Thanks, I do actually have quite a big database of DOS games becuase I run Boxer which is a very user friendly frontend to DosBox.


    Also incase anybody else wants to use that link above it does not work.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2012
  13. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    3/4 stuff on http://pandorawiki.org/DOSBox will not work on any DosBox EX versions just because EX dont use DosBoxFE and mappers are already included in EX version.
     
  14. Manic Miner

    Manic Miner Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Stuck in a Crazy Mine.
    So your saying seeing as I have not used Dosbox on Pandora before go with v4 ?
     
  15. tuki_cat

    tuki_cat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Great work Streak!


    Is it possible to use the d-pad or nubs for mouse movement and face buttons for left and right click? I`ve tried running Police Quest 4 and they don`t work. The touchscreen is also out of sync on this game although i know this is the case on some games anyway


    Thanks
     
  16. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    as far im concern.. no. It seems that Notaz SDL libs turning of nub-mouse while initiation of libs. {anyway.. i need to ask Notaz}
     
  17. F_Slim

    F_Slim IDDQD

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Germany
    Is it possible to just start DOS in a directory that holds all you game dirs and type your way along with your version? At least on my PC I find this very easy and fast, especially since you can use <TAB> to complete file or directory names (just type "a" and press <TAB>, press <TAB> again for the second entry starting with "a" and so on).
     
  18. birdswithskirts

    birdswithskirts Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    all roms renamed .bat files?
     
  19. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,717
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    @streak what do you think to my suggestion?
     
  20. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    Yeah. [Answer goes on IRC..]
     

Share This Page