Arch Linux On The Pandora


wejp

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
1,475
Website
wejp.k.vu
I have tracked down the kernel bug causing the keyboard problems, which you have probably all noticed.

You'll find some more information and a package with the new kernel on my blog: Kernel update
 

wejp

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
1,475
Website
wejp.k.vu
Custom Processing Unlimite said:
so does that mean we officially (inadvertantly) have a kernel package now? :p
Yes, indeed. :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
Custom Processing Unlimite said:
NOTE: this project should be added to the wiki... not sure who to contact about that...

http://pandorawiki.org/Software_projects

was it gruso?

Just add it yourself!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CPUnltd

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
792
Age
40
Location
Milwaukee, WI, USA
was just about to do so and realized that someone else already did... there are two sections for OSs... released and unreleased... I don't think they are organized well though, because I didn't notice the "released" one until after I'd already edited the "unreleased" one and had to revert my changes after the fact... :p

JMHO...
 

CPUnltd

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
792
Age
40
Location
Milwaukee, WI, USA
any good updates??? been kinda quiet around here... I hear the german forums have a bit of activity about Arch, but I don't speak german... :p
 

alerino

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
3,200
should try again soon, maybe switching from xz to bzip2 will solve my kernel panic booting issue, thanks wejp
 

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
nice one wejp!

is there a list of packages available? trying to find a webbrowser to install, the Avahi one installed does not open?
also is it possible to change nub control?

cheers
edit/

doh avahi is not a browser!
 

wejp

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
1,475
Website
wejp.k.vu
You can use pacman to search for packages with "pacman -Ss searchstring". I would suggest installing midori. It works very well. There are other browsers available too.

It is possible to change nub settings. The nubs are configured through the kernel interface under /proc/pandora/nub0/ and /proc/pandora/nub1/ (don't ask me why it is located under /proc, I know it is wrong and shouldn't be this way). There are several files which you can use to configure the nubs, e.g. "mode", which can be "mouse" or "mbuttons" for example. You can echo the desired values in those files. If you want to do that permanently, you can add that to your /etc/rc.local script.
 

wejp

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
1,475
Website
wejp.k.vu
Yes, right in the menu at the bottom -> Exit
That brings you back to the login manager. Type "reboot" as the username and as password the root password to reboot the Pandora.
 

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
wejp said:
Yes, right in the menu at the bottom -> Exit
That brings you back to the login manager. Type "reboot" as the username and as password the root password to reboot the Pandora.

thanks

any recommendation for desktop environment? apart from LXDE or XFCE

edit

when echoing in rc.local the echo for nub0 does not want to stick to mbuttons mode? keeps reverting back to mouse mode?

edit 2

seems you need to comment out an echo line in .xinitrc
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CPUnltd

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
792
Age
40
Location
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Code:
loading file "boot.txt" from mmc1 device 0:1 (xxa1)
0 bytes read
## Executing plain script at 82000000
script failed.
 

wejp

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
1,475
Website
wejp.k.vu
peelie said:
any recommendation for desktop environment? apart from LXDE or XFCE
I mostly do not use those desktop environments at all, especially on devices like the Pandora, so I might not be the best person to recommend one. Both KDE and GNOME are way to big and ressource hungry, to run nicely on the Pandora. E17 could possibly run, but is still work in progress. You would probably have to compile it yourself.

Custom Processing Unlimite said:
curious, has a gpu driver been packaged for 3d accel in Arch4Pan?
There is no publicly available 3d driver for the OMAP, so no. But you are welcome to register with PowerVR or TI or whoever supplies that driver, check the license and create a package, if that's allowed.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CPUnltd

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
792
Age
40
Location
Milwaukee, WI, USA
wejp said:
There is no publicly available 3d driver for the OMAP, so no. But you are welcome to register with PowerVR or TI or whoever supplies that driver, check the license and create a package, if that's allowed.

I just might do that... as much as I wish to contribute, that would be something to look into...
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top