Is Pandora the right product for me?

TwistedTomZ

Still Fresh
Hello guys! 

I'm new here and I'm really interested on this product! I'm on the edge of buying but being a student I can't risk buying something and then realizing it's not the best for me, so before buying it I thought of making a post here to ask you about it and help me out!

I'm a programmer, I program on my laptop using Arch Linux, I had this random thought that it would be a good idea to be able to make small programming changes of my projects while I'm out, for this reason I want a small handheld device. Sure I could use an android phone, I actually own one, but personally I find it really annoying that the battery lasts a couple of hours and its really disappointing, not to mention that it's not as flexible as Arch linux. I made a similar post to Reddit asking for help to find a device, and I actually found out about Pandora from there!

On the home page of Pandora it says I can install any lightweight linux OS i like, so that means I can install Arch linux without an issue right?

Based on my needs that I described, do you think Pandora is the best choice for me ? I was between Pandora and RaspPi, I'd love if someone could give pros and cons of these two based on what I'm looking for!

Thanks a lot in advance!

You wont even need to actually install a new OS as there's a compiler (and editors) for pandora's base OS (based on angstrom linux).

Many of us use it to code on the go. I dont personnaly so I cant say how it's confortable though

Well, a bit more effort is needed to install any lightweight linux OS, just like that, it must play "well" with the Pandoras ARM Architecture. There are already some Linux flavours readily available (like Pandebian) maybe they are flexible enough already for your needs.