A Linux Umpc That Plays Games? Count Me In...

jdh2550

Hi,

Is the Pandora for real? How much confidence do folks have about an April 2008 delivery date?

I will buy one in a heartbeat - I am a professional software engineer and I want it because it's the best designed UMPC I've seen. I have a Nokia N770 and an N800 - but I'd much rather this device. The fact that it plays games is actually a cool secondary feature for me. I'm most interested in the UMPC aspects - it looks like I can place this on a table and type (albeit slowly). Awesome. Or I can thumbtype while holding it. Also awesome. Hunting and pecking on a virtual keyboard gets old when you want to use vi to edit your server config files...

On the off chance that this is more than a pipe dream and that the developers are listening. The one thing I'd change - make the display "flippable" so you can make it into a tablet. Also put another set of two 4 way pads next to the display (underneath the speakers). That way I can use it as a good e-book reader - oh yeah, and your prime market can play games this way too.

Whatever you do - don't loose the keyboard and the USB host. Those are the two key attractions for us old farts who just want a linux based UMPC.

GOOD LUCK! I signed up for the mailing list over at: http://openpandora.org/ I'm hoping this is for real - but I'm not holding my breath...

i thing it is for real as for delivery date i thing at lest that the dev run will be out at that time
as for you Design changes i thing it to late for any change but a minor 1 as CraigIX did say the plastic molds will be made at end of jan