Will Linux Ubuntu be preloaded?

kennyk

Still Fresh
If not, will it be hard to install for a newb? :oops: I have never used the Linux OS before, but think it's cool the Pandora will be able to run a full blown operating system.
Thanks for any responses, and thanks for making a great open source console. My preorder is already in :mrgreen: .

Yes it is possible that it will.

We will also have another option which is a very simple gMenu based interface for advanced users.

Even better would be a community made "pubuntu" distribution :) However if created at all - this would require more time...

Personally I'd see it with rox file manager and sawfish window manager (because they are light & efficient) but that's just me :)

Once we all get our pandora in hand we'll spend way less time posting and more time developing. Let's face it, at the moment we all have *way* too much time on our hands.

One question to the person who did get Ubuntu working on Pandora. I know the boot time is a while, that's to be expected. What was the Sleep/Wake time? Will we be able to "hibernate"? (I know Ubuntu has some issues with sleeping on some laptops, hopefully wont be an issue here)

Time for me to open up a connection to my ancient, dust-covered Ubuntu print server and research packages. :p

16:24:55 up 118 days, 36 min, 2 users, load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00

:D

craigix said:
How light and efficient? Let's make that list :)
Serious question here.

Puppy linux (one of the smallest distros out there) is using rox file manager already. Rox is very good for day-to-day use - I use it daily on my power-user workstation.

Sawfish is light and powerful - currently is using 20MB of RAM on my workstation. There are other a bit lighter window managers, but they are less configurable'n'powerful. As a bonus - I am the sawfish maintainer so you can expect here a good support for sawfish.

Of course without a unit I can't tell how it works.