Want Something Ported? Look Here First!


Status
Not open for further replies.

GurtyGurt

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2003
Messages
324
The best thing to do is before you request a port of something, look to see if the source code is public first. Google for it or something. Find some hits and post them too. And check to see you're not just looking at like, a level editor's source or something...
 

generalnmx

Playful/Fascist Mod
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
2,128
Age
40
Location
Maryland, USA
Website
www.matts-hosting.com
can we ask for remakes

If the graphics, sound, music, and game design are all available, and game could potentionally run on a GP32, then yes, you can ask. But make sure you say REMAKE and not port, and link to whatever resources are available.

Actually, I am in the middle of making a remake from a PS1 game myself.
 

AArtist

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 29, 2003
Messages
6

Ernest

DeFiAnT
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,235
Age
32
Location
Near Southampton (UK)
Website
Visit site
Im new to these forums and haven't got a gp32 yet but can twit to get one just as soon as i get my crimbo money, ive noticed that there are some great ports of pc games such as doom and heretic oh and all the lucasarts games (im especially looking forward to playing sam & max on the go) but ive noticed no one has ported duke nukem 3d, is this possible or is somone already working because it would make a great addition to the shooters on gp32.
 

Twimfy

OMG 3 years here!
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
1,716
Age
36
Location
Bournemouth, UK
Website
www.stctg.co.uk
Ernest posted on Dec 23 2003 at 11:41 AM said:
Im new to these forums and haven't got a gp32 yet but can twit to get one just as soon as i get my crimbo money, ive noticed that there are some great ports of pc games such as doom and heretic oh and all the lucasarts games (im especially looking forward to playing sam & max on the go) but ive noticed no one has ported duke nukem 3d, is this possible or is somone already working because it would make a great addition to the shooters on gp32.
Hmm this port has been discussed before, but as yet I don't think anyone has took up the task yet. Apparently there is something missing or difficult to overcome in the GP32's hardware to make it easy to port.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Twimfy

OMG 3 years here!
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
1,716
Age
36
Location
Bournemouth, UK
Website
www.stctg.co.uk
Ernest posted on Dec 24 2003 at 04:28 PM said:
would half-life be possible to port it's based on the quake 1 engine?????
No, Half life is a highly modified version of the Quake 1 engine, the fact that Quake is barely playable makes it even more unlikely.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Seijuro

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
36
Halflife even uses an enhanced version of the Q2 engine, which itself is an enhanced version of the Q1 engine, so....oh and there are no sources for it either, and if you look at its size... :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
588
Age
36
Location
South wales, UK.
Website
Visit site
it would be nice to think of games like half life being on gp32, but i really dont think the system is hardly powerful enough but then when you wonder how this guy is going to port a great looking 3D gta clone game... hmm :unsure: maybe its not a question of if it is possible, but if they have the sources to do it.
 

fartyboyslim

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
7
Twimfy posted on Dec 23 2003 at 01:12 PM said:
Ernest posted on Dec 23 2003 at 11:41 AM said:
Im new to these forums and haven't got a gp32 yet but can twit to get one just as soon as i get my crimbo money, ive noticed that there are some great ports of pc games such as doom and heretic oh and all the lucasarts games (im especially looking forward to playing sam & max on the go) but ive noticed no one has ported duke nukem 3d, is this possible or is somone already working because it would make a great addition to the shooters on gp32.
Hmm this port has been discussed before, but as yet I don't think anyone has took up the task yet. Apparently there is something missing or difficult to overcome in the GP32's hardware to make it easy to port.
Hey, you could look on google for the coding of duke nukem. It would be hard to find the coding for it but it must be out there somewhere. you can get anything on the internet. :)
I'm not a game writer but I do know that you can get anything if you look.
I dont know if it would work but I got a ps emulator for my computer once and it didnt work so i went into my computer and explored the disk and it had all the files in there. They were all file extensions I've never seen before but you could veiw them in note pad so give that a try.
It might just work.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

trooper

Trooper`s watching you !!!
Joined
Apr 20, 2003
Messages
5,503
Location
The DarkSide (London)
Website
Visit site
It has to be done legally. <_<

With permission from the relevant people or if the source code is available, Not by ripping the guts out of someone elses work. ;)

Trooper
 

beef

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
35
Age
35
Location
USA &gt; Washington &gt; Woodinville
Website
Visit site

kknd_cf

La vieille dame et les pigeons
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
3,284
Age
32
Location
North Wales, UK
Website
Visit site
it would be nice to think of games like half life being on gp32, but i really dont think the system is hardly powerful enough but then when you wonder how this guy is going to port a great looking 3D gta clone game... hmm maybe its not a question of if it is possible, but if they have the sources to do it.

wow first I've heard of this game, have yiu got any links or details?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top