Touch Screen Use

Jel-op

Still Fresh
Hey all, I just did a quick search and I didn't find much information on what exactly the touch screen will be used for. So i was wondering if you guys could tell me how it could be put to use?

Web browsing and other apps, anything other than games which use the gaming controls. Some Linux PC games will probably use it too.

Anything that requires mouse control basically could be used in this way, like the person above said, apps, programs, games that use mouse control, plus IF DS emulation was possible then thats a pretty good usage as well!

How would DS emulation work? Would the screen be split in half horizontally and the bottom half used for the touch screen like the DS? That sounds pretty difficult to do.

Actually yeah, that's a possibility. Imagine it like a PC DS emulator, except replace the mouse with an actual touchscreen.

If we get DS emulation, that is

I've never used a pc ds emulator before. Is that what they're like? How likely is it that someone would even be able to make a ds emulator for the pandora?

Jel-op said:
How would DS emulation work? Would the screen be split in half horizontally and the bottom half used for the touch screen like the DS? That sounds pretty difficult to do.
Actually that's exactly what no$gba, ideas, and every other DS emulator does (to my knowledge). Unfortunately we only have 480 vertical resolution to work with, and the DS screens have a total of 384. So whoever tried to make a Pandora DS emulator would have to get creative.

Last edited by a moderator:
Bottom screen on the left, Top screen on the right - it uses all the screen then.

Wow, there's actually pixel room to have 2 DS (both screens) on the Pandora isn't there... of course this may not be truly feasible emulation-wise (I could be wrong here), but it's an interesting thought... probably a little cramped for controls and only one person could use touchscreen at a time :p

Jel-op said: