Thoughts On Less Than Perfect Emulation

Ringo

Website
Visit site
I bought my GP32 a few years ago - and like many others I bought for one purpose... handheld emulation. I don't remember - but I don't think I expected perfect SNES emulation, but I did expect pretty much perfect GB/GBC-emulation.
Until this day niether of above has reached "perfect" state... and thank god for that :)

I've realised that if SNES and GB-emulation had been perfect, I would probably never have bothered with anything else. I've been emulating SNES on PC for many years - I played emulated SNES a lot more on my PC than I played "real" PC games.
However NOT having proper SNES-emulation on the GP32 have actually forced me to venture into (for me) unknown territory...

I came to appreciate PC-Engine, SMS and to some extend Atari ST. SMS impressed the hell out of me - I seriously can't believe this is 8-bit graphics. I used to own an Amiga and thus I could appreciate Atari ST... The PC-Engine, which has become my favorite now, has seriously opened my eyes to a genre I previously hated... shooters.
This has also made the newly perfected Mega Drive emulation a lot more interesting. There are quite a few cool shooters for that machine... though (my opinion) not as many as for the PC Engine.

At the moment I'm using my GP for Mega Drive emulation. I don't even bother with SNES anymore, Not that much because of speed, but I just find the lacking 2 buttons problematic... but I don't miss it.

With the new handheld like the DS and PSP - when homebrew-development will surface, SNES-emulation and below will be expected to be perfect... But people will probably hope for N64-emulation and PSX-emulation and not give it much notice.

Anyway.... This was just my random thoughts.... or rant if you will

Staying on topic...

Ringo, that's an excellent point and I'm glad you brought it up. I fully agree. There is a lot of other amazing stuff around that sometimes goes unnoticed.