The Pyra Video Suggestions Thread


matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,752
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Ok this will be a 4 seconds video, and i dont have the knowledge to cutt in a clip from Starfox, ... allthough i have an Idea..
Tomorrow is my Video Make Day..
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,752
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I think i have an Idea: How about showing how good the Emulator stuff is running if you underclock the CPU? This might be usefull if you want to use it during a longer journey, , i just have to write a disclaimer to Youtube that it isnt at fullspeed..

Some other ideas out there?
 

asimov-solensan

Very Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
630
Is it possible to leave a file in the DBP folder to fix the speed automatically per application?

I used this in Pandora and was very useful.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,752
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I dont know, allthough i made a quick test: Gameboy whit 500 mhz (dual core) is quite playable (Super Mario Land DX), but GBA not really, (Super Mario Bros 3), so i would assume the GBC.Emu from the Emu EX Alpha dosnt take that much power from the CPU anyway..
So my Test will be interessting, but not that usefull.. lets see what happens..
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
14,971
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
SMB3 might not be the best test for GBA emu anyway, because as I remember that game series were basically emulated NES games. So you're running an emulator inside another emulator, which is a peculiar stress test that I can't really predict what will happen. But I'd have thought an early native game (like Kuro-kuro-kurorin or Warioware) would be simpler for the system to cope with.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,752
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
So this might also be the reason why i ditnt had luck on the EverDrive GBA whit the Classic NES Series Games? But GBA.EMU runs them quite well (whit the standart CPU Speed Setting)..
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,752
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Minecraft will have a look, but i need first to search for my minecraft.jar could be on my other computer ^^ , therefore it might not be a good idea to buy the Phytian PC, as i have then 5 Computers (My old Futjitju Siemens Tower, Lenovo Thinkpad, Pandora, Pyra, and maybe Phythian PC..)..
 

rohezal

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,705
Minecraft will have a look, but i need first to search for my minecraft.jar could be on my other computer ^^ , therefore it might not be a good idea to buy the Phytian PC, as i have then 5 Computers (My old Futjitju Siemens Tower, Lenovo Thinkpad, Pandora, Pyra, and maybe Phythian PC..)..
You can download the jar here.


I think 1.12.2 was "kind of" playable on a Pandora. @ingoreis @ptitSeb said that 1.13 made minecraft a lot slower. Can you display the FPS too? https://www.alphr.com/check-fps-minecraft/

Edit: 1.22.2 is the first official "java edition". Maybe it is the first one which is slow. Here is 1.12.1 https://mcversions.net/download/1.12.1

Edit2: Can you use https://optifine.net/downloads for faster gameplay / better FPS.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,752
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
So i download the client jar , searched on synaptic for a Java runtime, and clicked on the jar in hope I could open it whit the Java runtime, but in the list there wasn’t any runtime, just Libre Office, and the other Software I have on the Pyra

When I fail on this easy task, how would it be whit the Phytian PC?

Or do I forget how to run a jar file?
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,053
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
So i download the client jar , searched on synaptic for a Java runtime, and clicked on the jar in hope I could open it whit the Java runtime, but in the list there wasn’t any runtime, just Libre Office, and the other Software I have on the Pyra

When I fail on this easy task, how would it be whit the Phytian PC?

Or do I forget how to run a jar file?
What are you trying to do?
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,053
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
It will not work.
First, launching a jar is "java -jar MYJAR.jar"
But minecraft (like many other java games), use native (so x86/x86_64) libraries in the jar, and will just not work. Running java minecraft on arm needs some trickery. Plus all this changed now with the Microsoft/Mojang account migration... You can try to grab one of the Pi minecraft launcher, it migh work, but not sure (and I have a very very low interrest in running minecraft tbh).
 
Last edited:

gpsqueeek

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
155
Age
40
Maybe you could give a try to MineTest as an alternative...? It should be in the Debian repo and available for ARM from what I could see (not sure all the dependancies will be available though...)
You will run into the same issues with the Phytian as it is also ARM based
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,752
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I could give it a try, although the challenge was to run Minecraft ^^
I would never play it if it wasn’t a suggestion, i would prefer the Switch Version ..

But Minetest as from the Debian Repo should be possible to get merged whit Open GL ES as I allready made whit the snooker game, the command should be still on Terminal so I can change the name

The Pythian was meant to have Box86 support, so this could work

Edit: Minetest : 2 FPS ^^
No I want make a video about this
 
Last edited:

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,053
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
I could give it a try, although the challenge was to run Minecraft ^^
I would never play it if it wasn’t a suggestion, i would prefer the Switch Version ..

But Minetest as from the Debian Repo should be possible to get merged whit Open GL ES as I allready made whit the snooker game, the command should be still on Terminal so I can change the name

The Pythian was meant to have Box86 support, so this could work

Edit: Minetest : 2 FPS ^^
No I want make a video about this
Use gl4es to launch the game with hardware acceleration...
 
Top