Sega Saturn


trooper

Trooper`s watching you !!!
Joined
Apr 20, 2003
Messages
5,503
Location
The DarkSide (London)
Website
Visit site
XFX Nvidia Geforce 8800GT 512MB
Core2Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 8MB cache
2GB OCZ XTC 800Mhz ram (Dual channel)
1TB Samsung spinpoint 32MB cache

Yeah, I know, But it is two years old, I don`t play
many PC games, Mainly used for video encoding, Plus
i got fed up with the constant upgrade after upgrade
which started to workout very expensive.

Now i`m more sensible, If it ain`t broke etc,
And as long as it does what i need, That`s all that matters.

Trooper
 

renegadechic

Active Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
789
Pentium 4 3GHz
2GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
70Gb HDD

running XP...

it sound like a vacuum, but it works! it was better than my last machine, cost me £15 for the computer and £15 for the graphics card. the motherboard doesnt even have PCI express!
 

Gerix

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
767
Age
32
My Desktop:
Pentium 4 2.0GHz
1 GB RAM
NVIDIA 6200
Two hard disks of unknown but sufficient size.
Dual booting Gentoo and WinXP.

Some may consider it obsolete, but it gets the job done, and it doesn't hurt my wallet.

My Laptop:
Pentium II 233 MHz
64 MB RAM
Don't remember the hard disk size.
Broken keyboard.
Running Puppy

Go ahead. It deserves to be laughed at.
 

Qwertyuiop

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
316
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
4GB 667MHz DDR2 RAM
XFX NVidia GTS 250 1GB GDDR3
500GB HDD
 

Ollonk

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
199
Location
Just outside your peripheral vision
Yabause claims to run on the Wii. It's likely not close to full speed though highly optimized, I've never tried it because I've never had a reason to take interest in the Saturn. Still thought this was interesting, since the Wii is a relatively weak platform. The total Wii clock speed (CPU + GPU) isn't much over what Pandora's is, so if any games are even playable on Wii, some dedicated development could possibly give similar results on Pandora.
 

fischju2000

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
763
Ollonk said:
Yabause claims to run on the Wii. It's likely not close to full speed though highly optimized, I've never tried it because I've never had a reason to take interest in the Saturn. Still thought this was interesting, since the Wii is a relatively weak platform. The total Wii clock speed (CPU + GPU) isn't much over what Pandora's is, so if any games are even playable on Wii, some dedicated development could possibly give similar results on Pandora.
http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_apps/Yabause_Wii

Still being updated, 'some games run at playable speeds'
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Gerix

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
767
Age
32
Ollonk said:
So essentially that means if we can get it to support OpenGL, we'll be able to play Tetris...
I like Tetris...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ollonk

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
199
Location
Just outside your peripheral vision
There's something thrilling about emulating to play Tetris. I don't know why, but I never play Wii-Tetris, I always load up the NES emulator and play. I don't know if it's the Russian music or the nostalgia though...
 

SirisC

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 25, 2010
Messages
79
Laptop:
Core2Duo@ 2GHz
GeForce 7700 Go
Ram: 4GB DDR2 533
OS: vista/ubuntu

Media Center:
Core2Duo@ 2.4 GHz
GeForce: 250GT 1024
Ram: 4GB DDR2 800
OS: Windows 7
Storage: 7.07 TB on 7 drives

PC 1:
2.4 GHz P4
GeForce 6600GT
1 GB ram
Windows XP

PC 2:
3GHz Pentium D
GeForce: 8800GTS 320
Ram: 2 GB
 

Rathum

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
198
Pentium 2 333MHz
32MB RAM
8.6GB HD
Onboard video
Windows 95 (YEA!!!)

>.> <.<

While that computer is real and still works, here's my current one:

Athlon II X4 965 Black3.4 GHz
4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 RAM
Radeon HD 5770 1GB
 

Exophase

Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
10,308
Age
36
Location
Cleveland OH
Ollonk said:
So essentially that means if we can get it to support OpenGL, we'll be able to play Tetris...
Is Pandora being considered comparable to a Wii now?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tom`

Very Active Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
1,168
Exophase said:
Ollonk said:
So essentially that means if we can get it to support OpenGL, we'll be able to play Tetris...
Is Pandora being considered comparable to a Wii now?
I think people are doing that clockspeed thing again.
<_<
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Exophase

Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
10,308
Age
36
Location
Cleveland OH
Tom` said:
I think people are doing that clockspeed thing again.
<_<
That sounds like a problem by itself, since Pandora is 600MHz and Wii is a little under 750MHz (of course, we're talking about CPU speed here, right?)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tom`

Very Active Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2008
Messages
1,168
Exophase said:
Tom` said:
I think people are doing that clockspeed thing again.
<_<
That sounds like a problem by itself, since Pandora is 600MHz and Wii is a little under 750MHz (of course, we're talking about CPU speed here, right?)
Yeah, but hey, we can overclock the Pandora to 750 MHz no problem, amirite?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Exophase

Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.
Joined
Sep 21, 2006
Messages
10,308
Age
36
Location
Cleveland OH
Tom` said:
Yeah, but hey, we can overclock the Pandora to 750 MHz no problem, amirite?
Yeah, sure. What's your order number?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

xFOADx

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
8
AMD Phenom 2 955 running at 3.6GHZ
8g 1066 DDR2 ram
3 x 4870 Video
2.5 tb HDD's

It's my gaming rig and will play crysis pretty well at max settings, but I really don't play enough games on it and
is also hooked to my TV with WMC.
One day I'll probly split it into 2 decent computers
and start on a new one when 5870 cards come down in price a bit
 
Top