Quake Display

iCeD00D

Still Fresh
Welp maybe its me being so spoiled in the days of the GLQuake....... but I was wondering if the GP2x Quake grafx where supose to be 'blocky' and 'choppy' on my unit? Don't get me wrong, I luv the idea that now I can play one of my all time favorites, but I was just wondering about the 'looks' of it..... I know that on my Dell AXIM X51v, it looks smooth as hell, but on this unit, there seems to be something missing.. unless thats the way it was ported? Sorry for being such a noob at this, but I just got my GP2X for Christmas and I'm still learning about it. No better way to learn then by asking questions... Also if anyone has any links to any sites that would be helpfull in my understanding of the GP2X scene, that would be great (yes I know there's a sticky on top, but sometimes ppl have other sites they use for research)... tks and looking forward to being a part of this community now that I got my unit...

GPQuake uses software rendering (like the original Quake) so yes, it will look *blocky* compared to something that can use OpenGL. A Dell AXIM X51v is a much faster unit than a GP2X also, so things like Quake will run smoother. I do have to say that when I first played Quake back in the day, my experience was much like it is now on the GP2X. GLQuake has spoiled you if you think Quake's graphics are anything better :)

I have to clock my GP2X to 280Mhz to get an acceptable frame rate, and even then it is still slower than I would like, it is playable though. There was talk some time ago about a port of GLQuake using GPU940 to try get either better speed, or a better look, but I don't know how feasible this project was, or even if it started.